We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Banff Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Banff Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We toured the Rockies for 2 weeks and decided to use Banff as a travel centre for 4 nights. We booked Banff Aspen Lodge and we're not disappointed. It has a great location with a very short distance walk into town, along with off street parking, either underground or the back of the hotel. The hotel is relatively small so it didn't appear to be on the tour bus circuit. The room was very comfortable, nice big bed, good bathroom and balcony. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we weren't really disturbed apart from a reversing delivery can one morning. Breakfast was included and was very good with their own mix of granola, nice breads and fruits etc. We enjoyed the hot tub located between the front and back wings of the hotel. For the area the hotel was good value and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Highlandrover

We are pleased to hear that you were not disappointed in your stay with us. We offer fantastic amenities and a great breakfast as you stated.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    592
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
706
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night with 3 of my friends, the room was more than spacious enough for all 3 of us and beds very comfortable. Loved the use of the 2 hot tubs, especially the larger one. Location was excellent, outside the real hustle so you could sleep well but close enough to town it was only just a very short walk everywhere. Staff very helpful and the free breakfast was lovely.

Only couple downsides, few facilities could do with upgrades like tvs, the rooms have no air conditioning which was a major downside!

I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Banff

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank willowaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi willowaz,

Glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Our hot tubs sure are a good way to relax after a long day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A comfortable bed in a good sized room, good facilities available, free wi fi, short walk from downtown or railway station. Friendly and helpful staff. Pity it did not have a pool. Would recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi TomPortugal,

You are right we don't have a pool but the 2 outdoor Hot tubs in our courtyard is a fantastic way to relax.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great location - walking distance from all the shops and restaurants, but not in the middle of all the noise. Nice breakfast - dont miss the bacon maple scones if they have them while you are there. Awesome hot tub - very relaxing at the end of the day. And we lved the self serve laundry - traveling with 2 children for 2 weeks, we can never carry enough clothes and appreciate laundry in the hotel (without paying $4 per item).

I gave it 5 stars for the value for money (not because it's a luxury accommodation)

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back for minimum noise. Rooms on Banff avenue can get loud on weekends at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_visitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Chicago_visitor

You are absolutely right our location is fantastic. We are glad the hotel had everything to offer expecially with 2 children for 2 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We loved this hotel. Very good location, very clean and well run. The washbasin outside the bathroom is a bonus I would think, not a fault as some people have suggested. In the warm weather aircon might have been nice but as night are cool, not really a problem. The included breakfast was excellent - it had something for everyone including sausage, bacon egg etc. Try the own-make granola and muffins! The TV was not flat-screen but adequate for news & weather - and that's about all you should be watching, on holiday in Banff! They don;t serve dinner but there are plenty of good places very close.

Room Tip: I think rooms facing the inner courtyard may be a little quieter than ours which faced the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noretiredyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Banff.

Breakfast is fantastic and glad to hear you enjoyed our world famous granola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Front desk staff were nice and my room was clean and had all the typical comforts. The property featured a Jacuzzi, sauna, and gym; which looked nice enough, I just didn't use them. The Banff Aspen Lodge is about a 10-minute walk from the main action along Banff Avenue and you shouldn't have to deal with much noise. Although my 2 double-bed room came to just over $240USD a night, that's kind of par for the course in a touristy type of town like Banff. Overall, I would probably choose to stay there again if in the Banff area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi Don,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed one night, was perfectly fine, not remarkable. There were two of us but the room we had (119) would have been perfect for a family with two young kids. Two queen beds separated by a bathroom in the middle - enclosed shower/tub and toilet, open area with two sinks. Some of the rooms are along an outdoor corridor - glad we didn't have one of those.

Note: this hotel does not have air conditioning - found out after we were in the room. It worked out but I'm glad it wasn't any warmer than it was.

Breakfast was included, was ok, not great but that was expected. There is a nice mom & pop coffee shop concession ("White Bark") in the lobby, lattes were excellent - worth the money for sure.

Another note: we were here because we checked out of the Lake Louise Fairmont early, was not worth the money whatsoever.

Room Tip: Try for the far end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMalibu90265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Ms.Malibu,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing