We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Aspen Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$483
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$431
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
625
676
178
65
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
676
178
65
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolahot tubeconomy roompremium roombreakfast staffbreakfast was includedbreakfast roomthe main streettwo sinksshops and restaurantsthird floorsteam roomboiled eggswould definitely stay here againfew minutes walkunderground parkingstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Banff Aspen Lodge this week while sightseeing in the area, and would have given it perfect scores except for the fact that there is no air conditioning in the hotel, and we were there during hot days. There are signs at the front desk and in the rooms suggesting that guests close up their drapes during the day and open windows at night to try and keep the rooms cooler. Plus they give you a small fan in the room. We borrowed a second fan and followed their instructions, but still found the room very warm, making it hard to sleep at night. The only other minor negatives were the very weak/slow toilet flushing mechanism and no microwave in the room.
Everything else was great: quiet comfortable suite type room with bedroom separated from living area, updated decor and quality linens, two sink/counters, comfy bed and pillows, Keurig coffee maker and small fridge, balcony with chairs, everything clean, very friendly/helpful staff, wonderful breakfast buffet provided in a basement dining area, lovely inner courtyard with 2 hot tubs (one was being repaired) and gas fire place, and good location close to all the restaurants and shops. The only reason we would not stay at Banff Aspen again is the lack of AC if we were traveling during the summer months. I'm sure it would be fine the rest of the year.
Additional note: Beware the mosquitoes. They were hungry which prevented us from spending much time on the balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Colt,

Thank you for your review.

It is true we do not have AC in our hotel rooms. It is generally very warm only a few weeks during the summer, and thus staying with our environmental initiatives being in a National Park we have oversized sliding patio doors to cool down the rooms in the evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

BINGO!!!. I reviewed this place on line as we drive into Banff. Was extremely pleased the minute I walked in the lobby. The staff was wonderful. Miss Picky that I am was pleased the minute I walked in our room. Room very very clean!!! Bed and pillows comfy. Breakfast was super and staff was busy with keeping it clean and buffet full. All food was excellent--really excellent.
Liked this place so much for cleanliness , location, breakfast and price we stayed an extra day. Since our room had already been booked they moved us to a new room. It was even sweeter. Gosh...this is really a nice nice place.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Romelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Romelle,

You WIN!!! :)

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Romelle.

We look forward to your next stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was very clean and modern in a quiet yet central location. The reception staff where more than helpful with any questions we had. The hotel also had 2 small hot tubs with a fire overlooking one of them, this would be brilliant after a days skiing. We were there in the Summer for 2 nights and we only had a quick dip. The only negative points i would make was it had no air con and i was very warm. This wouldn't be an issue in Winter. It also didn'.t have a bar area, on the plus side the hotel was very peaceful and quiet and we were able to sleep without any problem.

Room Tip: hotel on the main road, a room to the back would be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your comments.

I am glad our service levels exceeded your expectations. This is of course what we strive for. Its true we don't have a bar but there are many options within town that are close by.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for seven nights. The hotel is clean and the room was nice. It does not have air conditioning, which is a problem at the end of a summer day. However, at night, if you leave the door to balcony open, the room cools down. The staff was very nice and helpful.
I had two issues with the hotel. The first is that the Internet is very very slow. It is practically useless during the morning and in the evening when everyone is in their room accessing the Internet. The hotel leaves a card in your room stating that the Internet should be used only for email and not for streaming. When I complained at the desk they sad that too many people are watching movies. This excuse may have been valid about 15 years ago, but it is pretty silly in 2014.
The second issue is that the breakfast room is too small. You have to get there before 8:45, or else you may wait in line for 30 minutes to get a table.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor. The ground floor rooms are accessible to passers by on the street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi David,

Thank you so much for your comments.

You are right we do not offer air conditioning in our hotel rooms. Being in a national park we try to preserve the environment every way we can. With our large balcony doors and windows it does definitely cool down in the evening and you can enjoy the mountain air.

Thank you for your comments regarding the wireless internet. It is tough when everyone is on the network at the same time. I will check with our IT department if there is a way we can adjust our bandwidth.

Appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while attending a conference at the fairmount Banff springs. The customer service and friendliness of the staff was really good. The hotel is perfect in its location and the back rooms are so quiet I could sleep with the balcony door open. It's not swanky but it's really very good. I would stay again. The fairmount Banff springs by the way is like a Disney resort - no personal touch and you won't escape hoards of tourists everywhere.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Francescini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Francescini,

We are glad you appreciated our personal touches. As a smaller independent hotel these are the things we are able to focus on.

Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews