We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Banff Aspen Lodge met our expectations and so much more! This was our first visit to Banff and we felt we chose perfectly upon arriving, especially when we saw the view from our private balcony. The rooms were quiet, comfortable, and the location was excellent- we were able to walk to dinner and shops, but weren't right in the noisy hustle and bustle of downtown. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, too, with something for everyone and gracious staff. Service was equally impressive; I had left my antique ring in the room, and not only did housekeeping place it in the safe, but the manager on duty called me after our stay to get instructions on where to send my ring. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delores K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Delores,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    625
    160
    57
    31
See reviews for
297
748
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location, clean and neat place to stayed 2 nights...interesting promotion if u skip the cleaning of the room u r told u get a coupon for coffee- sounds great - however they only give u one free coffee- we were 3 senior adults - so we felt this is an unfair promotion - therefore we skipped the free coffee for the management- would like to see this either advertised fairly or don't offer-thx. for ur consideration.

staff extremely knowledgeable and helpful for traveling around in nature

Room Tip: ask to be located in the back and on a floor not the front - since its very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Amber

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The promotion offers one complimentary coffee per room. We have updated our policy on this to ensure that it is clearly stated.

We hope you have the opportunity to try Banff's greatest coffee next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently spent eight nights at the Banff Aspen Lodge for four of those nights, we were joined by our son and his wife.

We planned our trip on short notice, and it was during the busy summer season. When we arrived at the hotel, we requested that our two rooms be on the same floor and not too far away from each other. Sue at the front desk spent a considerable amount of time checking what was available, and she was able to accommodate our request. Sue also provided us with assistance in other activities that we were interested in pursuing; she was really fantastic.

The room was comfortable and very clean. Although the weather was warmer than usual, we had a very nice breeze coming through the room that kept it cool throughout the day and evening.

Breakfast every morning was one of our best meals. We were able to get ready for a day of hiking, feasting eggs, bacon, sausages, pastries, fruits, and many other items as well.

We plan on returning to Banff, and will certainly stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge. We strongly recommend this hotel for you.

Joe

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Joseph J

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly, our room was very clean, the included breakfast was wonderful (both mornings there were scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal, and wonderful breads such as orange date, and cranberry nut.) As you see, breakfast means a lot to me. Ha! The only downside is if you are there on a warm evening, the rooms are not air-conditioned but small fans are in the room and they help a lot. Rooms facing Banff Avenue can be noisy.

Room Tip: If you don't like any noise, get a room away from Banff Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingDreams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks you for staying with us.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at various different hotels and cabins throughout Banff and Jasper and this was by far our favorite!! Traveling internationally with a toddler is tough, but they accommodated us with a playpen and a quiet corner room on the top floor. (My only complaint is that the playpen was really unstable, so our son ended up sleeping in the bed with us.)

We slept with the windows open and were comfortable. I like that the living room and bedroom were separate.

The breakfast was one of the better continental ones I have had at a hotel, though nothing special.

Aside from the gorgeous room, my favorite "amenities" were the "free" libraries (where you can take a book, leave a book) and the best coffee shop in town- The Whitebark Café!! ( We ate dinner in town- Banff Tavern- so I can't comment on our hotel's restaurant aside from breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravels1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us

I will double check our playpens as safety is a number one concern with us.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a nice boutique style hotel in Banff, close to town, has a ski stop very close by, they make their own granola, and the outdoor hot tubs have fire places by them which is a very nice quirky touch - perfect for relaxing after a hard day on the slopes

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Muimu

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our hot tubs. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed three nights and would have tried to stay more, but no A/C. We were told only 10 hotels downtown had A/C because there is only a week or so of hot weather and A/C wasn't needed. We were given a couple of small fans and found the temperatures ok for sleeping. We had a third floor, Moose Avenue, room. The view was awesome. There was a little street noise early evening, but quieted down for sleeping. Breakfast gets five stars. There is plenty of seating but the lines can back up when tour buses are getting ready to leave.

We walked to Bow Falls and the mosquitos brought us back. We were told deet wipes work best for mosquito control, AFTER we returned to the hotel. Grocery store is a short walk away.

We found the rooms very clean. We caught hotel staff cleaning the tile floors in the lobby on their hands and knees!

Room Tip: Pick street side rooms on the third floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for your review.


It is true that most hotels in Banff do not have AC. It is only truly hot a few weeks each summer and thus keeping with our environmental initiatives do not have AC

Glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing