We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Best Service ever”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Best Service ever”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I came to the Banff Aspen Lodge with a group of high school students for a ski trip. The most important thing I have to say is that this is absolutely the friendliest and most helpful staff of any hotel I have ever stayed in. Laura especially was one of the most cheerful and helpful people I've met. The staff could not have been more accomodating, especially given that we were a group of teenage boys. The rooms are a little unusual in their design, and nothing luxurious, but teenage skiers don't really care about that. The rooms were, however very clean and comfortable. The hotel offers a free breakfast each morning, which was very good. The hot tubs are nice, as well. The hotel was very reasonably priced and in a decent location. It's a bit of a walk to the main part of town, but not far to the ski shuttle at all. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steeler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    607
    158
    54
    26
See reviews for
285
726
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We arrived in Banff on a Monday and noticed that all the hotels on Banff Avenue had vacancies so we decided to shop around for good value and a nice atmosphere. It was really Laura on reception who hooked us by being friendly, negotiating a fair charge for the room and having a sense of humour as we tried to push her to the limit to give us the best deal possible.
The lobby area was very nicely decorated but this was not reflected in the room we stayed in as it was a bit dark and dated and the bed sagged a little in the middle. ( I believe that the rooms will get a makeover in the fall). Our accommodation had a separate bedroom and living room and if you book this type of room you should be aware that there is no TV in the bedroom. I love to watch TV in bed while on holiday so I missed that luxury! I was disappointed that the swimming pool was having some work done so it was unavailable during our stay.
The breakfast made up for everything - it was great. There was a good selection of food to choose from and the staff were very nice.
The hotel is in a great location - we were able to walk the full length of the main street and enjoy the lovely shops and the supermarket is also very close to by.
I would be very happy to stay here again especially if the rooms have a facelift but I expect Laura will push a harder deal then!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Excellent welcome, allstaff very helpful. Rooms spotlessly clean. Breakfast rom delightful, food all homemade. A very enjoyable two days in Banff

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senior9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Very accomodating staff, always ready to help. The place is really clean. Breakfast with plenty of goodies. Room was very spacious. The hot tubs with the fire place are really cool. Will stay there next year. The only drawback was that the internet, inefficient and slow connection.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telegumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My wife and I spent an extended 12 day stay at Aspen Lodge in late April/early May 2009. Our arrival, in a blizzard, summed up the rest of the stay. Warmly greeted by friendly staff who had a relaxed, friendly approach to all guests.
The hotel is ideally situated on the road from Trans Canada 1 Highway into Banff town centre. There is a generous pull-in parking outside the hotel for loading and unloading and a large underground car park (around 20 places) plus undercover parking at the rear of the hotel.
Our room was large with sliding doors and a long balcony with views to the mountains. The location was very quiet. We had a large, comfortable queens size bed, TV and tea/coffee making facilities plus a small fridge. A TV was also located with these facilities.
Heating was blown air and quite comfortable.
The room was maintained extremely well by attentive staff.
Breakfast is provided in the basement Breakfast Room which looks quite new. The choice of food was very good, always fresh and kept topped up. The staff in the Breakfast Room were very friendly constantly checking with us to see if we needed anything further.
Safe boxes are available free of charge (although a lost key charge of $150 applies).
The hotel has two outside hot tubs and a steam room.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aspen Lodge.
Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arroyoarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Three days in Banff after plenty of hiking needed to justify a little more money spent. However, the Banff Aspen Lodge is in a serious need of a facelift - especially for the price they are charging. The staff at the front desk were not particularly helpful. The location is a little way off from the downtown core, but nothing really to complain about. Parking can be an issue here as we did have to park on the street one night instead of the parking lot. Look elsewhere - there is better in Banff.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Sales Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Thank you for your review of the Banff Aspen Lodge. Over the last year the hotel has completed renovations to our Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Lobby and Fireplace Lounge. Starting in the fall 2009, the hotel will begin our guestroom renovation project. All guestrooms have received new mattresses, televisions, armoires, and dressers in the last two years. We have an excellent location, just three blocks (a three minute walk) to downtown Banff.

The hotel’s Front Desk is open 24 hours a day. We pride ourselves on offering amazing customer service and are always open to rectifying a situation when made aware of an unsatisfied experience. We hope you enjoyed Banff National Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We booked this hotel because we saw that it wasn't fancy, and it was a good price. We were in town to ski and required a decent place with a hot tub, breakfast included and within walking distance of everything.

The hotel was pretty plain - rooms was standard in terms of amneties. Very large though. Bathroom had radiant heating which was nice. Good sized ski locker for equipment. Breakfast ( pastries, fruit etc - was great - very nice employees there). Ski bus with the skibig3 lift ticket was right outside the door. Hot tub was clean but sometimes very busy (I see that they've redone the hot tub courtyard recently) and rowdy with young folks there to party. We were there to ski. Room facing the houses at the back so it was nice and quiet. Can't beat the location on Banff Ave and the price. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumyqtpi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing