We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location / roomspace / public amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location / roomspace / public amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights during an early season skitrip. I was surprised by the space in the rooms (sleeping area with queen + separate living area with sofa which converts to double). Bathroom was small but efficient. Wireless was fast and at reasonable price (CAD25,-/72hrs). Very nice was the jacuzzi (one 6 seater and one 14 seater) in the courtyard. There's also a steamroom and a sauna. Not noticed duringour stay (hotel was empty), but I guess noise can be a nuisance since most the bedrooms are on the courtyard side of the room. They have a parking garage which was complimentary. Walk to main shopping/dining was less than 5 minutes. The hotel is in the process of restyling/refurbishing the rooms, public areas are done already. Apart from one male waiter in breakfast (who was unfriendly) the staff was helpfull and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XploreBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    591
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
704
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

Hotel right on Banff Avenue.... superb hotel with jacuzzi and saua etc....

Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We stayed in a third floor room with a fantastic view of Sulphur Mtn. The room was very spacious, clean and well furnished. Our room which faced southwest got warm but not too uncomfortable in the evening. We used the fan in the room and didn't have any problems sleeping. But IMO staying in one of the west facing rooms in mid summer could be problematic if you like to sleep with a/c. The internet service which cost extra was acceptable with data rates in the 1-2Mb/s range.
Elk & Oarsman restaurant is just a few blocks down Banff ave. It is great for dinner with different specials each night. Barbeque ribs are great. Free breakfast at the hotel is ok but nothing special. Melissa's is a short walk and has good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fknight636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for one night while doing a quick weekend trip to Banff. Great location, within walking distance to restaurants and shops in town, or just a short drive to the falls, the gondola, golf course, etc. A Safe Way is located just down the street. Underground or covered parking out back. We were in room 116 which was a ground floor room, fine view looking out at the main street with mountains across the way. Enjoyed the lovely outdoor hot tub for a few hours in the snow/rain. (And no issues with people being too loud late at night in the hot tub since it closes at 10PM). The continental breakfast was delicious. Great selection of cereals and breads for toast. Also included croissants, muffins, yogurt, granola, fruit salad, coffee, and juice. Servers and front desk staff were very nice. Would definitely stay here again, although really, there isn't a bad location in town, most hotels are within walking distance to everything and there are mountains every where you look, so most probably have good mountain views as well. This hotel is next door to Ticino (Italian/Swiss restaurant). I think they have one of the more affordable cheese fondues in town. Hubby and I shared the appetizer fondue($17 appetizer portion, or $34 for dinner portion for 2 people) and the goat cheese stuffed chicken breast, both were fabulous. The wait staff couldn't be nicer. Had lunch at The Eddie Burger and Bar (I had the classic, the hubby had the bison, with sweet potato fries... FAB-U-LOUS) definitely check them out if in town, they have like 15 different burgers or you can build your own. In general, LOVED Banff, everyone was so nice, the scenery beautiful, we'll definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank webby2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Lobby and breakfast area were newly renovated. The rooms were clean and quiet. Good value for the money. We booked a package for the room and tickets to the Hot Spring. Continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmolintas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

I stayed 3 days with my husband for Thanksgiving weekend, booking online thru Expedia/AMA and driving 1.5hr over from Calgary. Overall, I was impressed by the hotel staff, amenities (pool, steam, sauna, underground parking, and breakfast) and location, considering the low price.

It was unexpectedly colder for the weekend, so we were thankful it was only 2 blocks away from downtown main thoroughfare. 15-20 underground parking spots, though above ground parking was very close to entrance. Great Breakfast: drink orders (coffee, tea, juice) were taken by warm and friendly wait staff and brought to the table; serve-yourself fresh assortment of breads, pastries and cereal/muesli mix/ fruit salad mix with yogurt and milk. We stayed in a corner room which had ample space, side table, balcony and had the hairdryer, ironing supplies, fridge, coffee maker and what I especially liked, a separate water kettle (useful to make non-coffee flavored tea!). Beds were ok, and the furnace could be a bit loud, but it was no problem keeping the room nice and toasty. Contrary to other reviews, I didn’t find anything bad about the room cleanliness, but we opted to keep the ‘Do not Disturb’ sign out all the time so it felt like home (not that hard to make the bed). Their bath amenities are all eco-friendly/all-natural, but I liked my own brand-shampoo instead.

I loved the hot tubs, steam and sauna room, which were so convenient to get to, and rarely that busy (Open 9am – 10pm). I had planned on going to the Banff Upper Hot Springs, but going between the hotel pool and hotel room was so much easier. You might want to bring your own robe and sandals for convenience, though they offer poolside towels.

In Banff we visited the shops and ate at 3 great places: 1) Barpa Bill’s Souvlaki (earned lots of top local and Calgary reviews) for their donair, souvlaki, lamb and barpa burger (with tatziki sauce instead!). Fries were plenty tasty too and price is definitely affordable ($7-8) for most dishes. 2) The Bison– highly rated gourmet restaurant, with a tasty brunch selection for under $20 (lots of local / fresh ingredients, especially liked the salmon/double cream brie benedict!). The Aspen Lodge blog had recommended it and I look forward to visiting again. Both are located on Bear Street, one street west of Banff Ave (beside the free 3 hr parking lot). 3) Old Spaghetti Factory – can’t go wrong with their all-inclusive soup/salad, pasta, ice cream, and coffee/tea meals.

We stayed in Banff to relax and enjoy the ambiance, and visited the touristy sights (bow falls, cave/basin, upper hot springs, Fairmont hotel) which were all within a 10-15 min away from the hotel. We would definitely consider coming back here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elm Grove WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Clean, decent size rooms with outside porches. Great continental breakfast. Short walk to downtown. A bargain compared to other Banff hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisconsin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing