We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth it!”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth it!”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here on the 20th - 22nd of May and we really think it was worth it! We were able to avail their promo price and stayed in one of their Superior rooms. The room was nice and clean - and bathroom is spacious enough for both of us. They have satellite TV and balcony as well. Their breakfast is great - not heavy like what other hotels offer, but is enough to fill you in and get you going in the morning. The reception ladies were helpful if you need information. And they have 2 hot tubs! The big one wasn't working when we're there but we did enjoy the small one - esp. when we were the only ones there. So relaxing after a long day of walking and sightseeing.

We will definitely stay here again and spread the word to our friends as well!

Keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    625
    160
    57
    31
See reviews for
297
748
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

My 20 year old son and I stayed in a really nicely renovated 2 queen room with balcony for our four night ski vacation. We were on the third floor and it was very quiet. The room is large and bright with great lighting choices. We slept so well thanks to the best room darkening curtains EVER!! The exceptional, healthy continental breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful room much nicer than most breakfast places. One of the two outdoor hotubs was under renovation so we used the other (with fireplace!). They are in a centre courtyard open to the sky... lovely. The entire area is wood and slate rock. The staff at Banff Aspen Lodge is friendly and really cares about your stay and yet, is respectful of your privacy. This lodge is in a great location for walking to everything 'downtown' and has excellent parking choices, including underground. Thanks Amy for helping me set up our reservations we had a wonderful holiday!!

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank skibumbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Very easy to find, located near all the shops and a grocery store, the hotel was a great value on a budget. The bed was a bit old and uncomfortable, but we made it work. Banff is a beautiful place and we can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank want2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you feel that the Banff Aspen Lodge has great value! The hotel purchased new beds for all guestrooms two years ago. However, could you please send us an email with your room number to sales@banffaspenlodge.com? The beds are on warranty and we need to test the bed and address this right away. The hotel does receive many other comments from guests saying how great they slept during their stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Living in Calgary, we spend weekends in Banff many times a year, usually electing to stay just Saturday night. Our favorite spot by far is the Banff Aspen Lodge.

The location is great, and it is a short walk to downtown even if the weather is cold out. The rooms are large and comfortable, and although the decor is a little outdated, its perfect if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. Cleanliness is always excellent, and the staff are friendly and courteous. The outdoor hot tubs are very nice for ski season, and the free underground parking is wonderful.

We really like the free breakfast, and it is a nice way to start the day without forking out 20 bucks in downtown Banff, Watch for their packages, as the stay and soak deal with passes to the upper hot springs is a good value.

If you are looking for a Banff Springs experience don't stay here, but if you are looking for solid, quiet clean accommodation, this place is tops!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reemer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Sales Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2010
I loved reading your review and hearing that the Banff Aspen Lodge is your favourite spot in Banff; thanks so much for staying with us!

I do want to let you know that the hotel is currently renovating all guestrooms; they will be complete by December 31, 2010. All rooms are receiving new curtains, carpet, lighting, bedding, wallpaper and look absolutely gorgeous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I admit the hotel has very friendly staff, clean & relative to the price paid, it was not a bad deal. but for the amount you pay per room, guests deserve more that cornflex & jams for breakfast. wouldn't hurt to have some scrambled eggs or cheese around.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hodaraffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Sales Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2010
Thank you for your feedback. All rates at the Banff Aspen Lodge include our Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast. As stated on our website, this includes fresh baked goods from our kitchen, your choice of wheat, white and multigrain breads, fresh fruits, selected yogurt and different types of cereal including our delicious homemade granola. Adding eggs and cheese to our breakfast would result in an increase to the hotel’s room rate, as the breakfast costs would go up. The hotel’s price point is very competitive, especially because we include a continental breakfast in our room rates. Thanks again and I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My husband and I just stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 4 nights. We were spring skiing in Banff and I cannot say enough about the lodge. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly as could be, easy to get to Sunshine Mountain and Lake Louise, ski storage easily available, breakfast was healthy and delicious, hot tubs/steam room/sauna were clean and such a great way to end the day. EASY and quick walk to the town. DEFINITELY recommend it - just ask them to turn the fridge off before you get into the room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJB1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I stayed here over the winter ski period with my friend.

The staff are absolutley amazing. I can not thank them enough for the amazing hospitality they showed. My friend fell ill while we were staying in the hotel. We had to extend our trip as she was put in the hospital - The hotel staff let me extend the trip- honoured the discounted rate i was given and left us in our upgraded room the entire stay- so we didnt have to pack and unpack into another room.

One night was not available as the hotel was booked out and the staff even offered to put myself up in the staff accom to try and accomodate as my friend was in the hospital and I was alone.

I have stayed in both the newer rooms and the older rooms. the older style rooms are basic, but have everything you need and pay for. The renovated rooms are very stylish and very comfortable. They have recently upgraded the facilities and have two amazing outdoor hot tubs, a hot steam sauna and a dry sauna. They were all kept very clean and the staff provide fresh towels daily located at the hot tubs.

I never got up in time for the breakfast so i cannot comment, but all the bookings come with free breakfast.

brilliant location, 5 min walk from local shops and a few doors down for the ski field buses.

this hotel is ideal for younger people- alot of young travellers staying in the hotel and very social, comfortable and quiet.

The staff will go above and beyond for you- and i will most def stay there on my next snowboarding trip!

recommended for everyone! The banff aspen felt very much like home for me and we miss the staff dearly!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitt3np0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing