We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Booked via tour operator after good reviews in Trip Advisor. Very well located with a very short walk to town. Staff were very friendly and helpful - a credit to the management. Rooms were nice - we were a family of 4 and had plenty of space. Very family orientated hotel - the heated outdoor pool / hot tubs were great and perfect after a day of exploring. Breakfast is just continental but very nice. Recommend the muesli! Free WiFi (on which I am typing this review). Only one downside is no air conditioning and we were on the ground floor by the road which can be a little noisy. Would definitely stay here again though.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grewalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    592
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
706
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Loved this hotel! This was the perfect place for our family. The rooms were spacious, newly renovated, and clean. Location is fantastic -- short walk to fun shops and eateries. This is not a fancy hotel but the amenities they do offer are done very well. The complimentary breakfast was quite nice with their homemade granola, various morning breads, yogurt, etc. It was a bit heavy on carbs (you can request peanut butter) but I figured I was on vacation and that I'd work it off hiking! The staff working the breakfast was wonderful;our server was a Japanese-Canadian young lady and she was so amazingly sweet and attentive. The front desk staff were always friendly and efficient and the mgr. Lori Smith was especially warm and helpful, giving us several recommendations that enhanced our trip. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tubs, steam room, and sauna -- great after our long hikes at Lake Louise. This hotel is great value for any hotel but even more so in Banff!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Meli2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We couldn't have asked for a better stay in Banff. The greeting was warm and efficient. The room was very contemporary in feel and rather luxurious in a Scandinavian way -- blond wood, cool lighting, great bath and amenities. There was a "take-a-book-leave-book" bookshelf and a fridge in the room. First stop after unpacking was the hot tub in a closed courtyard in the middle of the property...really refreshing haven after a long day of travel. There's even a fireplace which would be great for winter skiiers. You're just a stroll from the everything -- restaurants and shops -- and the front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting a great dinner choice for us. The morning breakfast buffet (included) was substantial, though no hot food, and there are real servers to bring drinks and such.
One caveat...there's no air conditioning. It was in the 80s, which is very, very unusual, so it's probably not much of an issue. Our room was a little stuffy, but they have a fan, and it was quiet enough to keep our balcony door open all night. You can stay in much more expensive places in Banff...but I doubt they're any nicer...or as good a value. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationPlanner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the hotel and your newly renovated guestroom. All rooms are receiving new carpet, lighting, bedding, wall paper and curtains and will be fully renovated by December 31, 2010.

Our two outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace are an amazing way to relax after exploring the Canadian Rockies; it's good to hear you were able to take advantage of them. The hotel does not have air conditioning, as the temperature in Banff is usually hot only two – three weeks out of the year. We provide fans to all guestrooms; as well our Superior and Premium Guestrooms have patio doors that can be opened!

Hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

I have to say that I was expecting a much better room than what I paid for. My husband and I booked a room after scouring the internet for any summer specials. Justhotels showed a price of $219 for a "premium" room which we booked for $169. What we got was just 1 queen sized bed with a small sitting area on the ground floor... Wow. Really? This is premium. Please. People were walking back and forth across the grass in front of our room constantly, there was no "balcony" as advertised and it was pretty basic accommodations.

When we settled into our room I was pretty ticked, thinking we had booked a nice room when it was pretty standard. Best Western motel standard. No one should be charged $219 for this room ever.

If you want internet you have to pay for that as well. $5 for an hour or $10 per day. Nice. I used my husband's 3g to check the hotel website, and what do you know I find this special being advertised.

Frugal Days - Celebrate 125 Years of Banff National Park
Frugal Days are back at the Banff Aspen Lodge to celebrate 125 years of Banff National Park. Premium room rates starting at $125 on select dates throughout the summer months~
**Book now to receive Incredible Savings...
Single$139
Triple$162
Double$139
Quad $184
All taxes included in the above rates
**Room rates include our Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast and parking**
I wanted to inquire as to why we were paying far more than the current special, after already receiving a special which was to be the "best deal". Yet it was $30 more than the advertised hotel special on their website.

I was getting ready to check out when the cleaning people barged in and were shocked to see me there. Did they not realize I was checking out? It's only 10 am and they are trying to clean before I left? Rude.

At the reception we asked why we were paying more than the current rates and the staff had nothing to say. We had booked 3rd party and they wouldn't change our rate now. So they basically PRETENDED the prices were more, had a 3rd party show a partial discount, but then if you booked with the hotel directly you would have gotten an even lower price. This is shameful and a poor way to do business.

Needless to say after feeling pretty deceived and ripped off we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park! Our Premium Rooms are advertised as having a balcony or patio, depending on the level that you stay on. The regular rate for this room is $219, but the hotel had a Summer Special in-place when you booked. The travel industry does do last minute discounts when inventory needs to released, which is only applicable on specific dates and must meet certain restrictions. The Frugal Day Sale needed to be pre-booked on our website and was only valid on a few select dates in June and July.

Due to the fact your reservation was made through a third party company, payment was taken by that provider and all cancellations and changes must be made in the same manner (adhering to that provider’s cancellation and change policies).

The Banff Aspen Lodge has recently changed our guest wireless provider and we welcome all guests to return to Banff Aspen Lodge to enjoy FREE wireless included in all room stays. We now include wireless internet, parking and our Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast in all room rates!

Finally, 2/3’s of our guestrooms have been newly renovated. A request for a newly renovated room can always be made at time of booking and we will do our best to meet special requests. All rooms will be fully renovated by December 31, 2011
Sincerely,
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Recently been renovated. Liked the outdoor hot tub and the breakfast. Would recommend and would stay again. Great location also

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel; looking forward to having you stay with us again sometime soon. On your next visit you will be able to enjoy free wireless internet!

Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Our stay at the Banff Aspen Lodge was great. The hotel offered a package on their websight called, "Banff Culture And Sights," which included a ride on the Banff Gondola and a soak in the Banff Upper Springs. This was a good deal and very enjoyable. The room was clean and well decorated with all the amenities you would need for comfort. We enjoyed the hot tub with the fireplace, which added a special touch. The balcony was large with a fantastic view of the mountains and town. Breakfast was very good with fresh baked breads, pastries and granola. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned for another two nights after going to Jasper.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richintennessee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
Thank you for your review. The Banff Gondola and Banff Upper Hot Springs are key things to do while in town and I’m glad you were able to enjoy them through our “Banff Culture and Sights” package! I love hearing that you returned to the hotel after spending some time in Jasper; I will pass this along to the entire Banff Aspen Lodge team and thank them for their hard work ~
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

What a lovely little hotel. Loved the decor -warm lodgey and modern combined- I kept
saying to my husband "who ever designed the interiors of this hotel knew what they were
doing". Very clean, and the staff are friendly. Loved the modern relaxing outdoor hot tubs. Excellent location, close to everything, yet far enough from the crowds. The beds were comfortable, the only down fault was the noise from the passing train which kept waking me up throughout the night. Over all great experience, we'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Thank you for the review. The hotel has undergone a lot of renvoations over the past few years and I too love "warm lodgey / modern" feel that the Banff Aspen Lodge has! The train does use its horn whenever it passes through town to alert any animals on the train tracks that it is passing through. Looking forward to having you stay with us again~
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing