We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I and 2 adult children stayed here in Sept 2010. It is a great location, with very nice rooms. It has a delicious free breakfast.. We would definately stay here again. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth5345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Banff Aspen Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

We, a Chinese family from Cambridge MA stayed in Banff Aspen Lodge for 6 nights in Aug/Sep 2010. It is a very good hotel. Before we decided to stay in this hotel, we did some research on the internet. We found most of the reviews for this hotel were good, plus the rate per night was reasonable for us compared with other hotels in the town of Banff. The hotel's location is great, 5 minutes walk to the downtown, free parking, bathroom is very new and clean. The drain pipe for the bathtub works good. Toilet is very new. I heard the hotel was completely renovated in 2010. Room is large with 2 beds. We felt very good sleeping on the beds. Breakfast is included in the rate. The hotel front desk is friendly and helpful. They can give you some good suggestions of where to visit in Banff National Park, and in the town of Banff. We found this hotel is worth the value you spend in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed here in May 10 for 3 nights as part of a tour and had a fantastic stay, hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and the beds were the most comfortable I could have wished for. Fantastic Mountain Views. Banff is only a small town and the hotel is located a few minutes walk from the shops. Breakfast was adequate but was provided by the hotel as an extra which was not included in the original tour so was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a second floor room facing the street. The balcony was a nice size and was great for enjoying the cool evenings and watching the world go by. The hot tubs were great, especially the fireplace. Breakfast was included each morning. We did appreciate having the fan in the room to keep the air moving since there was no a/c in the rooms. It was in a great location with an easy walk to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

My room was clean, spacious and cheerful, and Internet was free. Breakfast was humble but fine. I got a package that included a night's stay, a ride up the gondola and a soak in the hot springs, all for less than the normal nightly price. The one drawback was the the views were not what I expected. If I stood on my deck and looked up and to the right, I could see a mountain, but I'd thought I was getting a panoramic view. But that was no big deal. Another downside is that I could occasionally hear water draining from a room above, but it was minor. The biggest plus was that the front desk people were extremely helpful and friendly, from sorting out internet problems to calling the hotel in my next destination to help me work out a booking problem. I would definitely stay here again. It's not five-star luxury, but was more than satisfactory for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Best inclusive breakfast in town. Friendly staff quiet clean comfortable and at a reduced midweek rate who could ask for more.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I must have gotten a newly renovated room as it was a beautiful, modern looking room and I had two sliding glass doors. It was terrific. Those doors came in handy at night because the hotel does not have air conditioning and I needed to cool down the room before I sent to sleep. It just happened that it was a really hot day, my first night here. The mountain air at night helped cool my room but I wasn't comfortable sleeping with my patio doors open so keep that in mind. My room had a small fan that I used at night which was somewhat helpful. The outdoor hot tub is great! Take advantage of it. Although this hotel has about 10-15 parking spots underground and maybe another 20 spots in the back, I still had to look for street parking as I checked in after 8:30pm. After a long day that's not what I wanted to do but I was blessed with a parking spot across the street from the hotel. Just keep that in mind. The front desk is very helpful about identifying parking options. A great location as well - only a few blocks to all the shopping and dining in downtown Banff and safe to walk to/from. Beds were really comfy as well! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuidedbyGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

Thank you for your note and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated guestroom; all rooms will be renovated by the end of this year! The hotel features two outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace; they are an incredible way to relax after spending a day exploring the Canadian Rockies. Parking is included in our room rates and is subject on availability. It’s great to hear how helpful our Front Desk Staff were to assist you in finding alternative parking.
Hope to see you on your next visit to Banff~
Sincerely,
Christy
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £88 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing