We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Banff Aspen Lodge was the last hotel of 6 in a recent 12 night journey across the West Coast of Canada. It's located on the main street of town (Banff Ave) but perhaps 400m from where the first of the tourist retail shops begin. From that point on it's busy Banff. As such we felt it was ideally located, far enough away to be quiet but close enough for a short stroll.

The room was comfortable without being great. Beds were comfortable enough. TV a bit dated but most of them were on this trip. We overlooked the rear laneway (parking area) and beyond the fence was more accommodation. Could hear the conversations but then they were a bunch of rowdy women! Didn't last long.

The inner courtyard overlooks a clean and cost hot tub area, one bigger than the other but not quite big enough for me to consider a 'pool'. Laundry facility available but from memory just the one so time your washes well. There is secure underground parking but not as many bays as the rear unsecure parking has. Perhaps 12-14 bays tops below. Laneway parking didn't feel unsafe mind you. We had the car out there one of the two nights. Complimentary breakfast was ok. One gripe though, they don't have the juice out front, they ask you at the start what you'd like to drink. Then they bring out a pretty small glass. Granted they provide another upon request but really guys, let us get our own cold drinks please.

Front desk service was fine. To be honest we didn't challenge them so can't tell you they were great. Oh one gripe at check in, only one elevator. We waited at the ground floor for three elevator passes as each time people from the basement carpark got in first and it was full (lift is small). When it came back from floor 2 it bypasses 1 and goes to the basement again to repeat. Probably bad timing on our part but an annoying start to the trip.

Would consider staying here again should I be blessed to return to Banff some day. Got a good deal through Hotwire.

Dining tip - try the grand filet at Saltlik restaurant. We also had their carrot dish and some form of potato dish. The steak and carrots were without a doubt the best I have had in my life. Somewhat pricey but well worth it. Staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelv976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    585
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
701
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Really nice little place with clean, comfortable rooms and on-site parking. We really liked the fact that it was easy to walk into town to take in the sites and grab something to eat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_Adventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great stay. The room was updated and nice. Typical size and amenities. There was a balcony, which was nice. Location very convenient to walk to all the Banff shops and restaurants. Free underground parking as well as parking in the back. Loved the included breakfast -- tea, coffee, juice, cereal, granola, yogurt, mixed fresh fruit, muffins, rolls, toast. We booked the "Why Leave Alberta" package which was a great deal. It included tickets for the gondola, hot springs, canoe rental at Moraine Lake, boat trip on Lake Minnewanka. Definitely a savings over buying each individually. The outdoor hot tubs were great. Computer in the lobby. I would stay again. The only potential downside was that they do not have air conditioning. Not a problem while we were there but if it was hot I don't know how comfortable the room would be. There was a small fan in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I and 2 adult children stayed here in Sept 2010. It is a great location, with very nice rooms. It has a delicious free breakfast.. We would definately stay here again. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth5345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We, a Chinese family from Cambridge MA stayed in Banff Aspen Lodge for 6 nights in Aug/Sep 2010. It is a very good hotel. Before we decided to stay in this hotel, we did some research on the internet. We found most of the reviews for this hotel were good, plus the rate per night was reasonable for us compared with other hotels in the town of Banff. The hotel's location is great, 5 minutes walk to the downtown, free parking, bathroom is very new and clean. The drain pipe for the bathtub works good. Toilet is very new. I heard the hotel was completely renovated in 2010. Room is large with 2 beds. We felt very good sleeping on the beds. Breakfast is included in the rate. The hotel front desk is friendly and helpful. They can give you some good suggestions of where to visit in Banff National Park, and in the town of Banff. We found this hotel is worth the value you spend in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Stayed here in May 10 for 3 nights as part of a tour and had a fantastic stay, hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and the beds were the most comfortable I could have wished for. Fantastic Mountain Views. Banff is only a small town and the hotel is located a few minutes walk from the shops. Breakfast was adequate but was provided by the hotel as an extra which was not included in the original tour so was much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a second floor room facing the street. The balcony was a nice size and was great for enjoying the cool evenings and watching the world go by. The hot tubs were great, especially the fireplace. Breakfast was included each morning. We did appreciate having the fan in the room to keep the air moving since there was no a/c in the rooms. It was in a great location with an easy walk to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank the2Dacys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing