We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked 3 months in advance,but got "moved on!"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Newcastle upon Tyne,England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Booked 3 months in advance,but got "moved on!"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

I booked direct with the hotel in June for a stay from Sept 9 to 12th 2010.
Unfortunately when we arrived at 5.10 pm to check in,our room had been "re-allocated" and we had been moved to the Caribou Lodge up the street!!
As we had booked so far in advance and directly with the hotel this came as a major shock. (I think we had been moved out for a tour bus group.)
We were extremely shocked and disappointed and I asked to speak to the Manager who had gone home! I did receive a letter with a (very) brief and unenlightening explanation.
However,the worst was yet to come - I was offered a packet of candy for my inconvenience! Oh dear!! So obviously,no fond memories of the Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCATAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your review . The hotel did have an overbooking during the time you made your reservation and unfortunately we could not accommodate all guests.
You should have been notified of the relocation before your arrival in Banff and I apologize that you were not informed of the change.
The General Manager did attempt to contact you via telephone the night you arrived at the Caribou Lodge and there was no answer. She left a message asking you to contact her as we wanted to rectify the situation.
Again, we apologize for our error and hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park~
Sincerely,
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    591
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
706
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Fab hotel and staff were so friendly. The room was very comfortable and it was ideally situated for the centre of Banff. Laurie (lady behind reception) was super friendly and pretty much planned the whole itinerary for our stay suggesting good walks and restaurants! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Thank you for your lovely review and I’m so glad to hear you had a fabulous stay! Our staff love to suggest activities and restaurants in the area to ensure your time in Banff is enjoyed~
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We, my wife and 14 year old son stayed for 3 nights. Away from the centre hustle but easily walkable, clean, nice breakfasts, nice springs pool to relax in. Banff itself is beautiful and the hotel service was excellent. The room fridge was useful but noisy so needed switching off each night - no problemo. Definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsuperstar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and your time in Banff. Our two outdoor hot tubs and outdoor fireplace are an incredible way to relax after a day exploring Banff National Park. Hope to see you again soon.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Nice hotel in a good location and the breakfast was very good for a north american hotel. The downside is the room was way too hot for sleeping (there is heating but no air-conditioning so you can't cool it down that way) and if we opened the window to cool it down the noise from Banff Avenue was terrible and made it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Thank you for your review. The hotel does not have air conditioning due to Banff’s short summer season. The average high temperature in July and August is 22 degrees Celsius (71 degrees Fahrenheit) and the average low temperature is seven degrees Celsius (45 degrees Fahrenheit). Due to Banff’s high elevation, the temperature generally cools down in the evenings.

I’m glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast. We now include the continental breakfast, parking and wireless internet in all room rates!
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed two nights with a teenager and toddler. The room had a double bed in one area and two singles in another. Both separated by the bathroom. The room was not as big as other hotels we'd stayed in this holiday.
Good Points: good location and easy to walk to shops, etc. Parking behind the hotel, internet access, accepted pizza delivery, clean.
Bad Points: No restaurant or bar, so any food had to be eaten in town or brought back or delivered, the free breakfast was of very poor standard compared to Calgary hotels, very noisy at night on the road side of the hotel with people returning home after a night out, no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
*Thank you for the review. The guestroom that you stayed in (Premium) ranges in size from 289 – 325 square feet and are quite spacious for a hotel in Banff. The hotel’s location is just a three minute stroll to downtown Banff, making it an easy walk downtown for food and drinks. If unable to go downtown, there are restaurants in the neighboring buildings on both sides of the hotel. The hotel does not have air conditioning due to the short summer season in Banff.

I’m glad you enjoyed the hotel’s central location, as well as our complimentary wireless internet and parking.

SIncerely,
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Disappointing, thought we had a good deal, but unless you book a room with 2 double beds it seems you don't get a view or balcony unless you pay to upgrade. Do they expect all couples to sleep in individual double beds? When booking though the internet (an Expedia deal) it isn't easy to clarify such details in advance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerodotusWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thank you for your review. As per your Expedia Itinerary, you reserved a Superior Room with one queen bed. The Room Description Expedia.com says “1 queen bed”. It is unfortunate that the room description was not read before you completed your reservation. To ensure that an error had not occurred during the booking process, the hotel called Expedia and their system confirmed that you had in fact chosen the Superior Room with one queen bed. Any confusion over the room type that you reserved should be addressed with the booking agency directly. The room that you stayed in did have a balcony, so I am not sure why you wrote that only rooms with two queen beds have balconies.
I hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Banff Aspen Lodge was the last hotel of 6 in a recent 12 night journey across the West Coast of Canada. It's located on the main street of town (Banff Ave) but perhaps 400m from where the first of the tourist retail shops begin. From that point on it's busy Banff. As such we felt it was ideally located, far enough away to be quiet but close enough for a short stroll.

The room was comfortable without being great. Beds were comfortable enough. TV a bit dated but most of them were on this trip. We overlooked the rear laneway (parking area) and beyond the fence was more accommodation. Could hear the conversations but then they were a bunch of rowdy women! Didn't last long.

The inner courtyard overlooks a clean and cost hot tub area, one bigger than the other but not quite big enough for me to consider a 'pool'. Laundry facility available but from memory just the one so time your washes well. There is secure underground parking but not as many bays as the rear unsecure parking has. Perhaps 12-14 bays tops below. Laneway parking didn't feel unsafe mind you. We had the car out there one of the two nights. Complimentary breakfast was ok. One gripe though, they don't have the juice out front, they ask you at the start what you'd like to drink. Then they bring out a pretty small glass. Granted they provide another upon request but really guys, let us get our own cold drinks please.

Front desk service was fine. To be honest we didn't challenge them so can't tell you they were great. Oh one gripe at check in, only one elevator. We waited at the ground floor for three elevator passes as each time people from the basement carpark got in first and it was full (lift is small). When it came back from floor 2 it bypasses 1 and goes to the basement again to repeat. Probably bad timing on our part but an annoying start to the trip.

Would consider staying here again should I be blessed to return to Banff some day. Got a good deal through Hotwire.

Dining tip - try the grand filet at Saltlik restaurant. We also had their carrot dish and some form of potato dish. The steak and carrots were without a doubt the best I have had in my life. Somewhat pricey but well worth it. Staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelv976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing