We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience...”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great experience...”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge for 1 night prior to attending a conference in Calgary. The Lodge itself is very well located and a a few blocks away from the main shopping district in Banff. This is also where all of the restauraunts are located. The staff was extremely friendly. I mentioned that I was a solo traveller on business and they went out of their way to inform me of where I should go for sight seeing as well as restauraunts and provided me with a map.
The lodge itself has a very homey feel and for the value you really can't go wrong. They've got great specials as well on their website were you can book your hotel as well as tours and attractions at special rates. The rooms are very spacious and include a balcony as well. I had a wonderful stay at the Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallworldSmallgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
So glad you enjoyed the Banff Aspen Lodge; look forward to having you stay with us again!
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    625
    160
    57
    31
See reviews for
297
748
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I stayed here last winter when I went to Canada and this hotel was amazing! The hotel was adorable, well maintained and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I both ended up getting sick and we were able to extend our stay without any hassle and without having to move rooms. The staff offered us as much assistance as they could and phoned taxis for us when they were needed. Plus, it has a cute little shop that sells souvenirs and snack food (which was great when we weren't well enough to get about) and a laundry room! The hotel is a great location for catching a bus to the ski hills and walking distance from everything! Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne,England
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I booked direct with the hotel in June for a stay from Sept 9 to 12th 2010.
Unfortunately when we arrived at 5.10 pm to check in,our room had been "re-allocated" and we had been moved to the Caribou Lodge up the street!!
As we had booked so far in advance and directly with the hotel this came as a major shock. (I think we had been moved out for a tour bus group.)
We were extremely shocked and disappointed and I asked to speak to the Manager who had gone home! I did receive a letter with a (very) brief and unenlightening explanation.
However,the worst was yet to come - I was offered a packet of candy for my inconvenience! Oh dear!! So obviously,no fond memories of the Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCATAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Thank you for your review . The hotel did have an overbooking during the time you made your reservation and unfortunately we could not accommodate all guests.
You should have been notified of the relocation before your arrival in Banff and I apologize that you were not informed of the change.
The General Manager did attempt to contact you via telephone the night you arrived at the Caribou Lodge and there was no answer. She left a message asking you to contact her as we wanted to rectify the situation.
Again, we apologize for our error and hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park~
Sincerely,
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Fab hotel and staff were so friendly. The room was very comfortable and it was ideally situated for the centre of Banff. Laurie (lady behind reception) was super friendly and pretty much planned the whole itinerary for our stay suggesting good walks and restaurants! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Thank you for your lovely review and I’m so glad to hear you had a fabulous stay! Our staff love to suggest activities and restaurants in the area to ensure your time in Banff is enjoyed~
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We, my wife and 14 year old son stayed for 3 nights. Away from the centre hustle but easily walkable, clean, nice breakfasts, nice springs pool to relax in. Banff itself is beautiful and the hotel service was excellent. The room fridge was useful but noisy so needed switching off each night - no problemo. Definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsuperstar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and your time in Banff. Our two outdoor hot tubs and outdoor fireplace are an incredible way to relax after a day exploring Banff National Park. Hope to see you again soon.
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Nice hotel in a good location and the breakfast was very good for a north american hotel. The downside is the room was way too hot for sleeping (there is heating but no air-conditioning so you can't cool it down that way) and if we opened the window to cool it down the noise from Banff Avenue was terrible and made it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2010
Thank you for your review. The hotel does not have air conditioning due to Banff’s short summer season. The average high temperature in July and August is 22 degrees Celsius (71 degrees Fahrenheit) and the average low temperature is seven degrees Celsius (45 degrees Fahrenheit). Due to Banff’s high elevation, the temperature generally cools down in the evenings.

I’m glad that you enjoyed our complimentary Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast. We now include the continental breakfast, parking and wireless internet in all room rates!
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed two nights with a teenager and toddler. The room had a double bed in one area and two singles in another. Both separated by the bathroom. The room was not as big as other hotels we'd stayed in this holiday.
Good Points: good location and easy to walk to shops, etc. Parking behind the hotel, internet access, accepted pizza delivery, clean.
Bad Points: No restaurant or bar, so any food had to be eaten in town or brought back or delivered, the free breakfast was of very poor standard compared to Calgary hotels, very noisy at night on the road side of the hotel with people returning home after a night out, no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2010
*Thank you for the review. The guestroom that you stayed in (Premium) ranges in size from 289 – 325 square feet and are quite spacious for a hotel in Banff. The hotel’s location is just a three minute stroll to downtown Banff, making it an easy walk downtown for food and drinks. If unable to go downtown, there are restaurants in the neighboring buildings on both sides of the hotel. The hotel does not have air conditioning due to the short summer season in Banff.

I’m glad you enjoyed the hotel’s central location, as well as our complimentary wireless internet and parking.

SIncerely,
Christy - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing