We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was absolutely disgusting with no help from management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The room was absolutely disgusting with no help from management.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A huge disappointment. Bedding was slept in and not changed... one of the dirtiest places I have ever stayed. Was a kitchenette...not well equipped. Area rug had not.been moved and.cleaned under.... Will never go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blownaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To whom it may concern,

I wish to reply to your recent review of our Resort.

It is with concern I read about your stay with us.

Currently we are in transition and in the midst of training newly hired employees in our Housekeeping department for the upcoming busy summer season.

I do understand your expressed concerns and apologise for our Resort not meeting your expectations.

I hope that you did make us aware of these issues so we can make the wrongs you experienced right.

If you do wish to discuss any matters with myself then please call 1800 661 1859 and ask to be out through to the General Manager.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,


General Manager
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    409
    212
    105
    54
See reviews for
366
488
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at Tunnel Mountain Resort (Friday and Saturday) and we enjoyed our time here. We had a loft suite which had a Queen size bed in it's own separate bedroom, a kitchen, living room with wood fireplace, bathroom with a jacuzzi tub -nicer than my tub at home! And a loft bedroom with a King size bed and ensuite bathroom. The living room couch was also had a hide-a-bed. We got a deal online and paid the same price as a regular hotel room. It was great to have the extra space of our own 'little vacation condo' instead of just a hotel room. The hotel staff were friendly. The beds were comfy and the bedding was good quality. The suite also had not one but two patios with great mountain views. We also liked that there was a little wine store across the street.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beehivehoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To our valued guest,

'Thank you' for your recent review.

We do appreciate your comments and also your valued time to write a review of our Resort on the Trip Advisor website.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Front desk was very helpful. Asked for extra blankets and got them quickly. Few things falling apart, but all in all a great experience. And its not downtown! Its nice to be away from the crowds. And the paths near the hotel are lovely. Deer in your front yard!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To our valued guest,

Thank you, for your review. We do value your feedback and appreciate the comments you have made after your stay. These have been passed on to our team.

Like you, we love our location too!

We would like to say, you are one of our lucky guests to have encountered one of many of Banff's National Parks wildlife. It is always a nice surprise and a bonus which makes some great memories for you and your guests.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tunnel Mt. Resort for 3 nights with young kids. The place was dirty and house keeping only replaces towels. On the 2 nd day when we complained about room not being cleaned, they offered to send staff to clean. We had come back from skiing and kids were tired and ready for bed , so we declined. We expected everything to be cleaned next day , but again NO housekeeping was done, just towels were replaced and the place was still dirty.
Will Not Stay at this resort again and would NOT recommend this place to anybody
S.M. Calgary

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
To whom it may concern,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay and we do apologize once again for the short comings during your visit with us. We do take any concern very seriously and for that reason is why we sent the housekeeping manager to meet with you personally the afternoon you brought your first concern to our attention. Unfortunately there must have been a misunderstanding on our part as we were following the list that was left on the table. After our House keeping Manager came to see you, to clarify the situation, he was told by one of your guests in your room that they did not require anything further and to leave. We did ensure that your room received full service the following day to ensure all your concerns were addressed.

Thank you for your review of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed there for a couple of nights with my two kids. The 1 bedroom and loft suit was very nice with a big fridge, fully equipped kitchen and a nice fireplace were we got to roast some marshmallows. A little swimming pool but all we needed. A couple of nice hut tubs too. Staff is friendly and check-in/out is fast. We had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To our valued guest,

I was happy to read that not only you, but your family also enjoyed their stay at our Resort. This is great feedback we love to hear! Thank you for your review.

The loft suite you stayed in is one of my favourite rooms in our Resort. Its the added bonus of having a king size bed with the extra half bathroom where the loft is.

From all of us at Tunnel Mountain Resort we look forward to having your stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We decided to head to Banff to catch a concert and never being able to plan on the weather, we booked 1 night at Tunnel Mountain Resort. The room was older, but beautifully laid out, loved the fridge, stove, micro, and dishwasher :) and of course the fireplace in the living room is fantastic. We had a one bedroom suite, but I think next time I would book the chalets. Set a little out of town so it was quiet but a great location to go for a walk. Pool, 2 hot tubs, and best of all a very reasonable price. One small quirk was a very hard mattress! It's ok, you make do.
People were friendly and staff was great at check in and out.
Definitely will do this again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
To our valued guest,

A sincere note of appreciation for your comments from your one night stay.
Our resort Is a well established Resort, and we pride ourselves on being in the scenic Bow Valley for 40 years.
We do have a mix of older and newer units, and maintain the up keep of these rooms with our Maintenance team.
We never get tired of hearing from guests like yourself, about the amenities, with 71 rooms that have kitchens and wood burning fireplaces which create what our valued guests feel creates a lovely and cozy atmosphere.
Our location is out of town (just 3 minutes in your car).
Our uniqueness in location is we have the views of mountains, forest trees and usually the odd bit of wildlife also.
We do know and understand how important a good night sleep is.
In relation to the mattress you had in your room, we are sorry to hear about it being too firm for you. To explain this for you, we have recently replaced the mattresses in the majority of all our rooms.

We will look forward to having you and your guest come to stay with us again at Tunnel Mountain Resort and perhaps in the Chalet!

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My bf and I meet up because we are long distance and went to Banff for three nights. I had read some of the reviews and was hestiant on booking a room. We were pleasantly surprised, the check in was easy and welcoming.Once we got to our room we unloaded our things and started a fire ( we brought our own wood) which made it cozy. We had the 1 bedroom suite. We liked how it was different room, first we walked into the bedroom, kitchen ( bathroom was off to the side) and then into the living room. The kitchen could have had a few more things such as Salt and Pepper, a Pan for cooking in the oven and maybe some oil. We have stayed in many suites and these items are usually included. There is a Safeway in town so we picked up those items. The bed were a little stiff but suitable. Place was decently clean and in a good location as we walked to town and we noticed there was a bus stop right outside the Resort. Across the road there is also a little store with some groceries incase you forget to bring something

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunnelMtn, Guest Relations Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
To whom it may concern,
The management adn team at Tunnel Mountain Resort thank you for your feedback.
Any feedback is good feedback as it enables us to see how we are doing as a hotel and what we can do to improve ourselves.
A lot of good wee hints to pass on to TripAdvisor reviewers, thank you.
In relation to the pan, we agree, yes this have should have been in your room. The salt and pepper are their to order from our house keeping department.
We look forward to having you come back to us and enjoy the majestic Rockies at our little resort just not far from the downtown Banff.
Yours sincerely,

Tunnel Mountain Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing