We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facility, good on the budget for Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My teenage son, husband and I spent two nights, three days in Banff. We cooked several meals in the full kitchen so as to save from constantly eating out. The 1-bedroom suite was well-equipped, comfortable and clean although I had to ask for a sharper knife than the one provided. Counter space in both the kitchen area and bathroom as very limited. The facility was quiet and in a nice location on top of the mountain.

We walked down to the downtown area to enjoy the Canada Day parade knowing there were street detours and little parking. Getting back up the moutain on a hot day was terrible! Luckily, there are public buses that traverse the corrider every 15 to 30 mins.

Banff can be quite expensive during high season so we were lucky to get a good price by using Mountain Tunnel Resort. There are also 2-bedroom suites available, but the three of us did fine with a double bed and pull-out couch.

The pool, although small, had a nice view and windows all around. The change facility was great with showers, lockers and hair dryer. I was not used to seeing this in a hotel.

One neat discovery was that driving on the other part of Mountain Tunnel Rd took you around the side of town of Banff down a winding road to a place called "Surprise Corner". Here, you get a great view of Banff Springs Hotel and an aeriel view of part of the town and Bow River.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has view, basement suites can be dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jdglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Tunnel Mountain Resort, over a weekend. The hotel is conveniently located, close to town and also to the myriad trails in Banff. The room was clean and spacious (with a second bedroom and bathroom upstairs in a loft), well accommodated with a full-service kitchen, free wifi, and perfectly suited to our needs. We are Sabbath observers, and the staff was extremely helpful in meeting our special needs for that day. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeaK486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This property has different accommodation styles so the review is based on my visit to the room they label as "executive".

The pool and hot tub are very small and located next to the lobby/registration desk. While in the hot tub, some kids, despite being there with adults, were jumping in the water, causing much splashing, ordinarily not an issue but as we were in the hot tub, it was not an enjoyable experience. This was also just before closing at 10:00 PM.

The property is at the top of a steep hill. The walk up will test your endurance - enough said about this.

The room is overpriced for what you get in return. The "extras" in our room included a steam shower, jetted tub and DVD player (without remote).

The balcony is nice but not much of a view. It overlooks a foot pathway and the main road.

Our accommodation was prepaid by voucher through a third party company but despite this, the property insists on taking a "deposit". The funny thing is that the amount they claimed to be on my credit card did not match the actual amount charged against my card (I am notified by text by my credit card company) - draw your own conclusion.

There is no restaurant on the property.

I was told on more than one occasion that the property was under new management. I'm not sure of the point of this other than this was to redeem them somehow of any shortcomings.

Despite the "executive" accommodation, don't expect your room to be cleaned on a daily basis. This is, of course, explained as an environmental benefit and nothing to do with hotel profits. We did receive a morning knock on our door on the second and last day of our stay asking if we needed anything.

Overall, the price of the room is poor value for return received and room prices are somewhat inflated but perhaps not relative to high season in Banff. However, I would prefer to overpay where I am, at least, walking distance to downtown Banff. The hill is a deal breaker.

Our third party package included a bike rental through a downtown Banff bike shop with vouchers issued by the hotel. The rental procedure was flawless and the redeeming factor to this hotel stay.

The room was spacious but nothing fancy. My expectation was something a little more than I received, considering the price and "executive" tag attached to the room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank starch0ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This resort is really a collection of room types with a few extras like customer laundry facility (coin operated), pool and spa. Was only there for two nights and didn't use any of it. I was there with friends and we had three rooms, two were one bedroom suites and the other was an executive suite. The difference being the executive suite had a steam shower and a whirlpool tub whereas the one bedroom suites had a sitting room area and a kitchen. Unless you are a gadget freak save some money and go for the one bedroom suite. A long walk to the town centre but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you into town, $2 each way per person. If you get a front facing room you get a balcony with a view of the mountains, if the tree lined sidewalk isn't in the way. We liked this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are there more than a couple of days get a multi-day pass for the bus, $5 i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalG1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The officious female from NZ was clearly on auto pilot when she "welcomed" us. Her matter-of-fact statement "We will charge your credit card a CAD200 deposit (CAD50/night) in case of any damage" came as a surprise. She insisted it was standard in Canada, but in three weeks' travel around western Canada, we had not experienced this. We had requested a quiet room, but our "executive" king suite was next to the road. The windows were reasonably sound proofed, but spending any quality time on the balcony was impossible. The only secure way of airing the room at night was by using the loud A/C. An ash tray is provided on the balcony, implying that smoking is allowed. However, the in-house brochure states: "Smoking outside of your unit is permitted, more than 5 meters from any door, window or air intake. A $250 charge will be added to your bill should you smoke in your unit." As the balcony is quite small, you' d better not smoke there, despite the ash tray!

The "executive" suite was spacious enough and had a fridge and microwave oven. No crockery nor cutlery was provided, so obviously any form of cooking is discouraged. The room was clean, but the decor and furnishing had clearly seen better days. The steam shower is a joke in a warm July. We did not use the pool or spa facilities. The 25-minute walk into town is inconvenient, particularly having to walk back up the steep hill. Our stay on the whole was OK, but we would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a touring trip and would happily have stayed for longer. Our accommodation was excellent - very clean and roomy with everything we might need. Unfortunately the main pool and sauna were closed while we were there but the smaller pool was available. Would certainly stay here again as the location is excellent with many attractions nearby. The woodland setting is spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The executive suite was nice and roomy. The place was not as clean as it could have been, but it was ok. The steam shower was a nice feature. The deck offered some mountain views. Parking was a serious issue. If you get there late, be prepared to walk a ways to your car. For the money it is a good deal though. Close to town, but far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tucker1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 34 in Banff
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,012 reviews
0 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £61 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing