We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! without a doubt one of the best family resorts in Banff. period”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in early July, just before the large crowds start flooding the Rockies and Banff in particular. We booked our Family suite a couple of months in advance. Nice size room, good bathroom and modern, fully equipped kitchen. The folding sofa in the living room was adequate. Parking and Wi-Fi are standard, but the facilities are well above average: an indoor pool, jacuzzi with mountain views and a spa including large hot tub, wet and dry saunas and nice gym. Laundry facilities and outdoor barbecue too. Across the street a mini-market and liquor store open long hours. Friendly, polite and helpful staff. if you don't have a car, the bus stopping outside the hotel will take you downtown in minutes. What more can you ask for? Oh yes, price- well below average, So an excellent value for money! highly recommended for families and young people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent a night here after a long hike up a the mountain at Lake Louise. It was a clean place with lots of room for big families. Not overly new but well equipped. Handy kitchen to help keep food costs down if travelling with family. The place has a very small pool, whirlpool and sauna. It is just on the outskirts of Banff which is not really walking distance. Just down the street is very nice views of the mountain. You can also seem some of the mountain just outside the front windows. Our place slept 8 people. There was two good size beds in the open loft, sofa bed and then a separate bedroom. It had two good size bathrooms and two T.V.s and a real wood burning fireplace. Everything is on the ground floor so no stairs to deal with. Not overly luxurious but still okay to stay at for winter or summer vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a wonderful resort. Scenery from the hotel is amazing! We had booked the executive suites -- rooms faced the road. Nice sized rooms with a sitting area, and fireplace. Bathrooms had a shower (with steamer) and a tab -- sinks are outside of the bathroom. Mini fridge available.
A short walk up the road by the campgrounds provides amazing views of the mountains. Take a short drive past the resort and you will get to see some hoodoos, although with great lookout points! A bus stop right outside of the hotel will take you into town of Banff if you didn't want to drive!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori_D_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tunnel Mountain Resort met most of the basic requirements for a hotel, it was clean, comfortable and well equipped. But it just lacked something to make it special, it was a bit shabby around the edges and probably is due for re-furbishment. Also pack your earplugs, there is a freight railway line in the vicinity and throughout the night we could hear the warning siren on the train,it it was loud and very clear! For us, the hotel was just a bit too far out of town a good 25-30 minutes walk, but there is a bus stop just outside.

We found the reception staff to be very helpful but perhaps they need some updating on their knowledge of the local area. We asked about places to eat and shop and were told the only option was a 'fine dining' hotel across the road. In fact there was also a small well stocked supermarket, alcohol store and a cafe at the nearly hostel.

So we felt a bit underwhelmed by the whole experience, which was a pity as the hotel is in such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny71Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in room 207. Suite with king bed, fireplace, jacuzzi tub, steam shower and a sofa. Service was amazing and helped us plan a few excursions. Friendly and welcoming to guests. Only one person seemed to be working at busy times when we arrived and always had a few people waiting. But they always were pleasant. Room was nice but no view as we looked out to the main road and for the price I expected a little more. On our second day expected to come back to a clean room. We had used the jacuzzi the night before and the sink of course. The only thing the cleaning staff did was take our towels. So I washed the tub out myself. When we left we paid with debit but had put the deposit on credit card, they had no record of this they explained so we had to call our credit card company and prove it was taken. Be careful about this deposit as another review here had a problem as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRebeccalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. It was great to have cooking facilities as we ate breakfast in and had dinner in a few nights. Loved the location as it is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff. The bus stop was right there so it was easy to take the bus or you could also walk to town. The people at the front desk were accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joan925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was the second stop over during our five day Rocky MountainTrip..

We got a decent rate for two nights, and the apartment we got was great, although not great if you have a very young child, as the room had very steep stairs up to the mezzanine floor. It had a big bedroom downstairs, a decent sized bathroom, kitchen/living room, which looked out over the forest.

The resort itself had a nice little pool, family BBQ area, and kids play park. Staff were friendly and helpful.

A good place to stay with the family, and very close to the centre of Banff.

The only down side of the trip was a couple of accidents, which caused an injury to my wife and young daughter. The injury to my daughters leg was because of sharp metal edges at the side of the bed, and the injury to my wife was caused because of loose metal edging the stones outside the front of our apartment. Apart from this, we enjoyed the stay and the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RileyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £62 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing