We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

we stayed in the tunnel mountain resort and it was our favorite hotel. the hotel is a few mins drive from the town and it doesn't look very special from the outside but the rooms are lovely. we stayed in a executive suite and had and jacuzzi bath, steam room in the shower, heater floor tiles, fire place, huge bed and balcony. would def recommend staying here and i would not stay anywhere else if i went back to banff

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    392
    197
    97
    50
See reviews for
345
463
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We travelled as a group of five and absolutely loved the resort for it's chalets and quality of service! The chalets are very well-located so easy to access from Banff's centre and yet, hidden away, where you can get really nice views of the Rockies. The best part was sightings of wildlife on site, where we spotted a deer, and perhaps one of the only sightings of wildlife during our trip, but we really enjoyed the fireplace and cozy chalets!

Kudos to also providing useful gadgets such as a wine and bottle opener! Things that are not so easy to come across in rooms! I'd really recommend Tunnel Mountain to a group of friends or family who are traveling to the Rockies and choosing Banff as a stop over.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Techyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Wasn't expecting much based on the exterior of the buildings, but was more than happy with the hotel. Rooms were clean and appear to have been recently renovated. They also had many features that are not found at a much more expensive hotel. I Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Me and my family of 4 arrived after a long drive at the resort based on an earlier reservation by AMA. However the front desk employees treated us like con artist because they were asking for credit card information for payment rather than accepting debit or cash which was more than enough to cover the rental expenses. When I asked to talk to the manager to see why they were after my credit card information, the guy even didn't get out of his back room to answer my valid questions. He sent one of bell-girls to tell me that if I don't give my credit card to them for secure some unspecified fees, I should "leave". I found their attitude rude, unprofessional and not welcoming. Save yourself the hassle and mistreatment! We will never go there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller200965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

My husband and I reserved a room about six weeks before our motorcycling trip through Alberta and BC Canada. I researched many, many rooms in Banff, finding that MOST had a price range of $150-$450 per night and some much higher. An important feature for all of my reservations was to have a liberal cancellation policy and a decent price, which this one did. I could hardly believe my luck when I found this room at $99 (CAD). Our room was an "Executive Suite". It wasn't downtown like many of the other hotels, but a very short, very scenic drive up the hill from town. We were able to park our motorcycles right outside the door (another important feature) too. The room was large with a high ceiling, had a very comfortable king bed, leather sofa, coffee table, and balcony. There were double vanities, a whirpool tub, and a separate steam shower! All of the towels were pure white and extra thick. Even the toiletries were extra nice! Also included was free WI/FI, A/C, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, wardrobe, big TV and DVD player, as well as a fireplace. The tile floors in the foyer and bathroom even had built in heating, controlled by a wall switch. The fixtures and towel bars were like those that you'd expect to find in a "high buck" hotel. I also liked the coffee mugs and glassware instead of your usual plastic or foam cups. This resort had very friendly staff, and had lots of pretty flowers in planters and hanging baskets outside. There was even a small grocery and liquor store right across the street. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here! Check out their website and see for yourselves!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJ_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations of this hotel. We had a sitting room with fire place, balcony, double sinks, microware, fridge, coffee pot, Jacuzzi tub and steam room shower, all in our room! A great value for a $115 a night. We stayed at 4 different hotels during this vacation and this was by far, the nicest place for the money. We wish now that we had stayed several extra nights as doing Banff in a day is impossible. This resort was only minutes from the hub. We highly recommend it! We will definately stay here again when we revisit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrippingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

They seemed to have lots of young staff and they were so friendly and helpful, you can tell they like their jobs. We needed a serving bowl - they brought one. We needed BBQ tools, they brought it. So quick and with a smile. The service was outstanding.

The long hot tub in the spa is really nice and relaxing. The pool and smaller hot tub have a nice view. Great for families, parents sit in the hot tub and kids swim in the pool - they are attached together.

Location was good, in with all the other resorts at the top of the hill.

The only downside was that the entire building and the rooms are a little dated and don't feel very mountain-like, they just seem like regular inner city townhomes.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvs2travel0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing