We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pictures on the website are deceiving.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pictures on the website are deceiving.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

We had 3 of their loft style chalets booked for the weekend. Our family meets up once a year and decided this looked like a nice place after doing some online surfing. When we got their I was so diappointed. The floor in the kitchen area had dried on ketchup all over it. The stive top had left over splatter from cooking...the place smelled bad...I had to go and get cleaner from the front desk b/c I didn't feel comfortable letting my toddler crawl around in there...worse yet when I got the cleaner it was a diluted form of something that hardly cleaned...after that we found out the T.V didn;t work, the oven didn;t work, only one burner on the stove worked and there was a large hole in the patiodoor screen...yes, we were visited by a squirl...
I would say I'm a very relaxed person and this stuff usually does not bother me...but when you pay that kind of money you would hope the place would at least be clean...oh and there is a pool but it is deep in all areas so not very good if you have little kids...
what is good is the waterpark in the hotel across the street...if we go back we will be staying there:)

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikitravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    389
    193
    95
    50
See reviews for
337
459
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

We stayed in an Executive Room and it was great! The room was VERY new, clean and modern. They obviously put a lot of thought into the renos and it shows. There was a jetted tub (loved!), a steam shower, a double vanity, gas fireplace and a very comfy king bed. If it hadn't been -20 celsius outside, we would of taken advantage of the private balcony as well!

We went swimming and though the pool is small, it was fine since we were the only ones. The location could either be a plus or a minus depending on whether you like to be in the centre of it all or not. If you'd rather be away from the main street and be really close to nature, this place is great. It's only a 2 minute drive back to the main street but secluded so you really feel like you're in the mountains. Compared to other hotels on main street, I feel the value for money is fantastic. We are really looking forward to returning for some skiing next month!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uofagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Found this place through tripadvisor and would recommend this to anyone planning to go to Banff. As some other reviewer already noted, this place is really close to Banff city center, yet tucked away in wilderness with awesome view of the rockies. Not just the location is great, the service offered here was good too - we had booked the Bed & Breakfast package, and they gave us enough breakfast to last couple of weeks for our 3-day stay :) The rooms were clean and well-maintained. Of course, my geeky husband loved the free internet service & the Toshiba flat-screen TV ;)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-kay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

we stayed in the tunnel mountain resort and it was our favorite hotel. the hotel is a few mins drive from the town and it doesn't look very special from the outside but the rooms are lovely. we stayed in a executive suite and had and jacuzzi bath, steam room in the shower, heater floor tiles, fire place, huge bed and balcony. would def recommend staying here and i would not stay anywhere else if i went back to banff

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank specialshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We travelled as a group of five and absolutely loved the resort for it's chalets and quality of service! The chalets are very well-located so easy to access from Banff's centre and yet, hidden away, where you can get really nice views of the Rockies. The best part was sightings of wildlife on site, where we spotted a deer, and perhaps one of the only sightings of wildlife during our trip, but we really enjoyed the fireplace and cozy chalets!

Kudos to also providing useful gadgets such as a wine and bottle opener! Things that are not so easy to come across in rooms! I'd really recommend Tunnel Mountain to a group of friends or family who are traveling to the Rockies and choosing Banff as a stop over.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Techyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Wasn't expecting much based on the exterior of the buildings, but was more than happy with the hotel. Rooms were clean and appear to have been recently renovated. They also had many features that are not found at a much more expensive hotel. I Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Me and my family of 4 arrived after a long drive at the resort based on an earlier reservation by AMA. However the front desk employees treated us like con artist because they were asking for credit card information for payment rather than accepting debit or cash which was more than enough to cover the rental expenses. When I asked to talk to the manager to see why they were after my credit card information, the guy even didn't get out of his back room to answer my valid questions. He sent one of bell-girls to tell me that if I don't give my credit card to them for secure some unspecified fees, I should "leave". I found their attitude rude, unprofessional and not welcoming. Save yourself the hassle and mistreatment! We will never go there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller200965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Property: Tunnel Mountain Resort
Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Tunnel Mountain Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing