We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome; Upscale Hotel with Hard Beds :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome; Upscale Hotel with Hard Beds :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Came to Banff for a mini-honeymoon getaway after our wedding.

Great hotel in Banff; location is good; short walk to downtown Banff if you like to walk around; see a flick; get some dinner and ice cream.

The Matresses are weirdly hard; and should be replaced we thought.

Noisey hallways as other guests didn't seem to give a crap that 8am is pretty early for shouting and yelling down hallways. Not hotels fault some people are pricks however :(

Breakfast at the Evergreen restaurant is absolutely delicious! The Eggs Benedict is easily in the top 5 I've ever had; amazing with strip bacon instead of back bacon... We both had it 3 days in a row! Morning Banff!!! :-)

Staff was helpful and got anything we needed; very friendly; and made you feel welcome.

Rooms are small but have everything you need; but the size is common everywhere in banff; just the way it is if you want to stay in beauty :)

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a room as far away from the ice maker as possible; some guests decide that fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    442
    133
    39
    23
See reviews for
288
560
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

My daughter and I were in Banff for the annual triathlon they hold. We drove from Regina that morning about an 8 hour trip. This hotel was excellent from check-in. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean. When we walked into the room we could smell fresh laundry which is very reassuring. Beds incredible. I booked this hotel as a Delta Privledge member and was able to book my preferences ahead of time, i.e. feather pillows, away from the elevator and on the top floor. All of these requests were done and there were belgium chocolates on our beds. My daughter was able to sleep in the morning of the triathlon and found it hard to get up and cheer at the finish line because she had the best sleep ever and did not want to get out of the bed. The one problem I have with hotel rooms and not this one in particular but ALL of them, is why can there not be soft close on the doors to the rooms so they don't just slam? We were able to have a late check out time at the hotel which worked out great for after the race. The biggest surprise of all is when I got into my car my windshield had been cleaned of all the bugs from the long highway drive. Very nice little touch. Would absolutely stay there again. Also, excellent location to the town of banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runfast28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased you joined us and were able to relax for a true Delta experience during one of the most beautiful and busy seasons in the Canadian Rockies. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our wonderful beds, we've had people from all over the continent return remembering us for our very comfortable and heavenly beds!
We look forward to your next trip to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Vanessa at the front desk made our stay. Great hotel, great breakfast, awesome location.
We had stayed at possibly the worst hotel ever the night before (different chain) and this gem rescued our vacation. The kids thought the pool was great, in the basement, kind of like being in a grotto, and my wife loved the bed and how the service was so attentive.

Room Tip: Get the room over the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed our mineral pool and sap facilities; we take great pride in our property and our service, and it is wonderful to see it shows. We look forward to having you return to the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here during early September visit to Banff. Hotel room was very nice, clean, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Free bicycles to use. Easy parking. Restaurant was excellent, good menu and food, nice wine list. Only 2 block walk to Banff village and shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and utilized the amenities we offer. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future Banff adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have had our family Christmas here 3 years in a row. Very pleased with everything. Nice rooms, had an issue with noise was immediately resolved. The place looks great, the pool and steam room are awesome. Nice toiletries in room. Comfortable bed!

Would recommend, great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryStacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Wonderful to hear you have returned to us.
I am so pleased to see you brought your concerns to our attention and they were promptly addressed byour staff. It is indeed our pleasure and our goal to ensure you enjoy your stay, as well as feel safe and comfortable at all times.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel has free cruiser bikes (okay, I know they aren't free, but part of the price of the room, but is was really nice). We checked out the bikes for a whole day and rode all over town, to the Bow River and its trails, and downstream to Bow Falls. For such an expensive hotel, I am surprised that it wasn't more insulated from road noises. All night, trucks were driving by. It was really loud. The hotel is close to toen, which means it is close to a lot of restaurants and shops.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sister_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this hotel as part of our anniversary trip to Banff. We were checked into a room that had already been booked. The front desk staff gave me keys to a room that had a half dressed man relaxing on the bed. Apperently, he wasn't expecting us. I could have only imagined how embarrassing that must have been for him. Once the staff booked us into our correct room, which was only one door down from the poor gentlemen I just barged in on, (awkward) they sent us up a warm, child sized, bottle of cheap champgane and two chipped glasses as an apology. Give me a break!!!!!!! For a luxury hotel, this is total bush league. My girlfriend did not sleep all night because she was worried about someone being given the keys to our room by mistake. Needless to say this resulted in no "action" if you catch me drift :-( Once we checked out, I was very surprised to see that they even charged me $12 for parking and .60 for a phone call. They least they could have done is comp us for those charges. The next night we stayed at the FAIRMONT. It was amazing and the staff was incredible. The Fairmont is real luxury.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns among our own employees. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly (1-800-661-1379) and ask to be directed to our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing