We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel looking for someone else to run it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel looking for someone else to run it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Good quality rooms, great location, plenty of parking underneath.
The staff working the restaurant and bar would rather be somewhere else, and it shows. Ages to get seated for breakfast even though staring at a table ready to be occupied. Many tables uncleared, and the staff moving at snails pace. Need a coffee? Ask one of the staff standing in their drinks dispensing area ... Drinking coffee. Food run out at the buffet? .... Go to drinks cubby and tell one of the staff drinking coffee....

The "Business Center" is a coin operated PC in the basement. Slowest PC in the world. Took 7 minutes to get to email login screen... Had only 8 minutes left before I'd need another $2.... And I'd already made two trips because reception omitted to mention I'd need coins....

One of the two draft beers the bar offers ran out the first night. Was still out when we left two days later...

Housekeeping staff were very friendly, and the Concierge was a star... But otherwise it's just a nice property in a good location looking for new management.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SPH32561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear SPH32561

Thank you for your review and bringing this to our attention. We are paying very close attention to our breakfast service and our new Restaurant Manager is paying particular attention to the issues that you have raised in your review. I apologise for our Business Center PC and we are addressing the speed of the computer. Thank you for complementing our Housekeeping and Concierge colleagues and I will definitely pass on your praise to them.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    445
    136
    39
    23
See reviews for
289
565
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and were very happy with our stay. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable! The room had A/C which was needed as temperatures reached 30 degrees outside. The hotel is conveniently located a short 10 minute walk from the downtown core. Staff were friendly and very helpful in planning our activities and stay in Banff! Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tars70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear tars70

Thank you for taking the time to review the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our air-conditioned rooms helped with the great warm temperatures we are having in Banff at the moment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banff and the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here whilst visiting our son who was working in Banff. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. We were skiing whilst we were there and there is a boot room to keep your skis and nearby bus stop to get you to the slopes. Great location, quiet.
I did feel it was a little outdated and dark colours on the walls.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfun05cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Familyfun05cheshire

Thank you for taking the time and the kind review. I glad you found our staff friendly and helpful. Our location is great for skiing vacations and I am happy you used our complimentary ski and boot storage.

Kind Regards


Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrige England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and found it most comfortable after long journey from UK. Room (102) was large with every amenity. Only drawback was that it was at the front on the ground floor so was overshadowed by trees which made it a bit dark and dingy, also not possible to have windows open because of traffic noise. Free wi fi a bonus. Reception staff very helpful. Hotel decor could do with some updating. Restaurant service good with well cooked large portions, no breakfast problems. Banff lovely town, would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back, quieter and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I booked this hotel for the last night of our Canadian holiday, we were not disappointed. Our room was spacious and offered every amenity. We had dinner in the hotel, Evergreen restaurant, we thoroughly enjoyed. Service could have been better but overall enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I planned to take my wife to this hotel for our 5th year anniversary. This was a special occasion and our first get away without our newborn. Unfortunately the day of the event, our child came down wit hthe flu and we couldnt leave him with a babysitter just to get other children sick so we had to cancel the trip within the alotted 24 period. The Delta gave no leniency even after I indicated I would be willing to reschedule and even asked for a gift certificate for another time. The answer was simply "no". I understand they are unning a business but this decision will only cost them in the long run. I was quite sad by their decision as I have usually had great experiences at delta hotels i nthe past.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, General Manager at Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dan M

Thank you for your review. I have reached out to you and discussed this review directly with you. My sincere apologies for our delay in responding and our lack of compassion on this occasion. I can assure you that although we did not take into account all the factors on this occasion; our normal approach is to apply our strict cancellation and no-show policy consistently, fairly and with compassion for unseen emergencies. We trust your young child is feeling much better and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Stephen Crossland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a lovely room complete with fireplace. Excellent hotel a short walk into the beautiful town (complete with elk on the main street), only disappointment was we should have stayed longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing