We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service was extraordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The service was extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel like we were the only guests at the hotel. We had noted that this was an anniversary trip, and were surprised and delighted to be upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel decor is warm and tasteful; the room was very comfortable. The concierge (Sean) was especially attentive and helpful; the entire staff, including restaurant servers, were professional yet personable. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the city center but is in a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    442
    133
    37
    23
See reviews for
288
559
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Nothing that I can complain about. However nothing too spectacular and hence can't justify the price or the 4 star ratings. Locations wise it is a little bit of walk to Banff main shopping area. I would suggest staying at a location closer to the main shopping area and restaurants. Hotel staff was very courteous, they upgraded us to a "bigger" room which still was kind of normal sized.

We enjoyed dining on the roof top bars and the Chinese restaurant Silver Dragon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redlabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Was expecting a real 5-star experience and it fell a little flat. The gas fireplace is on a 30-minute timer that sounds just like a wind-up egg-timer, and the noise was distracting. It seemed like a 3-star hotel with granite countertops and nicer tiler added.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CindyD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Just got back from the Delta in Banff today! The room was beautiful with a huge bathroom and a fireplace. Told them it was our anniversary and they sent wine and chocolates to our room. The Evergreen restaurant was excellent!! Staff was so friendly. Great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

The staff was very helpful
The rooms were tidy
The pool/hot tub/steam room were great
The location is good
Our room was quiet, even though it faced main street

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Room and bathroom nice. we paid about $250 CAD a night for king and fireplace room then slugged $12 parking. A bit of a hike into town. The buffet breakfast was average to poor butthey brought you, your beverages so expected 15% service when it might as well be self serve beverages when the coffee is just dirt in a cup. The selection for the buffet was low quality and poor. Fridge in room noisy

For the price I can't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPhiljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

We always enjoy staying at the Delta, the Staff are always polite and friendly. The restrauant is a bit pricey but great food. Short walk to downtown Banff so location is great. A Joy always!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kahula7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing