We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed two nights. Room was comfy/cozy. Fireplace was a nice touch as it was cool and rainy one evening. The breakfast buffet was very good. The staff was super polite and helpful. The hotel was quiet. Other guests were pleasant to chat with. The pool, hot tub and steam room were very nice. This hotel had everything and felt plush, and it was still affordable. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anare97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    448
    137
    39
    23
See reviews for
293
569
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The rooms were pretty typical for a Delta with nice comfortable beds and a very nice bathroom. We didn't have a good view but maybe the rooms with a view were more expensive. It is a bit of a walk to downtown where all the restraunts and shops are. I have stayed in other hotels in Banff and I thought the price at the Delta was high considering we had no view at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy45h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

we had a quiet stay and good night sleep in our room facing the side street and we also had a mountain view! no balcony, but we didn't care! neat bathroom....it had TWO sinks and a sliding door between the toilet/shower/second sink, and the main sink area so that 2 people could use the bathroom at the same time!

the air conditioner was a bit noisy, but we turned it off at bed time so it wasn't an issue as the nights were generally cool anyway. firm, comfortable beds were a nice change of pace from the lump-fest or sag-fest you get in a lot of other hotels. the pool was small, but our daughter had a ton of fun in it, and i really enjoyed the hot tub, which was more than big enough. the room was larger than i thought it would be too!

we had breakfast each morning we were there....a bit pricey (every non fast food restaurant in Banff is pricey) but a good choice at the buffet. underground parking was nice, they even washed all the bugs off your windshield, though it was $12 per night. having friendly staff is always nice too. hope to stay there soon, this time longer!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OilTastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This lodge was adequate but there has to be better for the money. The wifi in our suite did not work at all. We stayed for one week and found it necessary to go to lobby or Starbucks one mile away. The exercise room was the size of a closet the "pool" was about 8 meters or less. The pool was really for parents to play with kids in the water. When we checked in reception tried to hit us up for $12 + tax per night for parking. I complained and since we were "staying for a week" and I asked about street parking the charge was waived. When we went to room, a M&M peanut was on the side of the TV stand. The location was out of village. The lodge's bikes are free but weigh about 75 lbs, first stop to the service station for air, no pump at lodge. I must admit that our room was quiet, no other room sounds for the week long visit to Banff national park.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We arrived at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge. The hotel staff at the front desk were friendly and accommodating upon check-in and when we put the bags in the room, everything appeared OK. Appearances can be deceiving. We ran out for dinner. When we returned from dinner, it was late . We went right to bed. An hour or so later, there was a loud banging noise coming from the A/C-Heating unit (the hotel has the old-style individual units). The loud banging noise would occur when the unit kicked on and off. The three of us staying in the room were woken up numerous times during the night.

We were not only inconvenienced by the A/C problem, the staff ran us around in circles (including telling us there was no “Manager on Duty”. The first and the second “Managers” who eventually appeared (and who both had no knowledge of our problem) ran us around in circles and were downright rude and condescending. This was the real “Problem”.

Ironically, I chose the Delta hotel for it's name and reviews I had read and I went out of my way to stay at the delta hotel rather than having stayed elsewhere. I understand problems occur and am not unreasonable. The upsetting part was not the broken AC/Heating unit, it was the mishandling of the matter and the sarcasm and the intentional waste of my time.

I was eventually given the choice of staying in the original room with the banging A/C unit, staying in a room with 2 double beds facing the driveway of the hotel or being "upgraded" to a room with a king size bed (There were 3 of us, My Wife, me and my 8 year old son). I either had a choice to be in a loud room overlooking the driveway and street or having to sleep in a room 3 in a bed.

For the time, effort and aggravation we experienced, I received a voucher for breakfast and an "upgrade" to a room with three of us having to sleep in one bed.

The "upgraded" room was the same size room with a queen sized bed. It had the same old-style type of heating/ac unit. The unit was not quiet by anyone's imagination, but it wasnt as loud or banging like the one in the other room. The system is one you would expect to find in an old Howard Johnson's or quality inn, not a Delta hotel.

I posted a review on the site where I had booked the room . I am still simmering over having a day of my hard earned vacation ruined. I also cant imagine how a hotel chain can afford to be run this way at this particular point in time with the world economy suffering. Furthermore, I wrote to customer service with a complete explanation of what had occurred. Customer service of the hotel chain apparently didn’t even bother reading the email and forwarded the email to the “Manager” from the Banff location who “responded”.

The review I posted on the Hotel booking site where I booked probably will not be posted for another couple of days, but it is not the only negative post. There were two other consecutive recent negative posts by other guests . I wish the reviews had been posted before I had booked the room because I seriously would have considered staying elsewhere. If you decide to stay at this hotel, I hope you don’t have a problem because I have experienced Delta’s customer service first hand.

I would never stay at this specfic location or any Delta hotel in the future after this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellllbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLaren Vale
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed two nights recently. Whilst not the cheapest option in Banff (despite a great deal through Expedia) it provides a very good level of service and excellent rooms that are extremely comfortable, roomy, quiet and very clean!.
Pool is small but more than adequate. Well located - a reasonably short walk to town.
Staff great - helpful and friendly. Liked the little touches - free WiFi, free parking, windscreen cleaned daily by the parking guys, free newspaper.
Did not eat there but it seemed busy and restaurant menu looked very appealing.
First class, comfortable hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Two nights in a suite to celebrate our anniversary. Were surprised with a card and champagne on ice when we arrive. Fantastic room! Corner room with two sets of windows overlooking Banff Avenue, 10 foot ceilings, well appointed, a substantial feel that was so much more than a hotel room. We had a terrific dinner in the dining room and received outstanding service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottindy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge

Property: Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Address: 459 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#3 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#5 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Banff resort welcomes you to experience a restful stay amid the grand surroundings of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This intimate boutique Banff hotel offers 99 guestrooms and suites that are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. Guests of the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge can enjoy fine dining in the Evergreen Restaurant one of Banffs best kept secrets, or a visit to the Grotto Spa. Relax, unwind, and rejuvenate with the soothing sounds of water flowing peacefully over the rundle rock waterfall in the hot mineral pool and luxurious whirlpool. Also a great place for a meeting in Banff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Hotel Banff
Banff Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing