We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I always stay at Fairmont's and I am so glad we chose to spend the extra money for our wedding anniversary and stay at the Banff Springs Hotel. The room and view are gorgeous. The outdoor heated pool was our favourite part of the whole trip. All of the restaurants on site were fantastic but our favourite meal was the Chilli at the Waldhaus Pub. The hotel is huge and I love that they have all the shops on site for anything you could need (especially the wine store). Most importantly, the staff were all so friendly and helpful. We honestly felt like royalty every time we dealt with the staff. The only disappointment of the whole trip was the cheese plate from the Wine Bar. Overpriced and underwhelming.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGough1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your special occasion with us. We are delighted that you had a memorable time and will share your comments about dining with our culinary team for their consideration. We appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,139
    1,282
    512
    292
    165
See reviews for
1,476
2,907
145
894
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I recently completed a three night stay in the Fairmont Banff Springs. From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated like we were the most important people in the world at that time. Everyone, from valet to front desk or from housekeeping to bellman, always greeted us with a smile and tried to do everything in their power to make our stay more enjoyable. Not only do they have a magnificent staff, but the hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous. Everywhere we went, including our room, was spotless and the view from almost anywhere in the hotel is breathtaking. If you've never stayed here before you are certainly missing out on a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Gold Floor, which a little pricier but well worth the extra amenities received with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicanPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you so much for sharing your memorable honeymoon experience with us. We are so pleased to hear of the wonderful time you had and will be certain to share this feedback with our team. Best wishes for many happy years ahead!



The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Outstanding service and impeccable service are Fairmont standard, but we were not prepared for how lovely this hotel experience would be.

The hotel looks like a European castle with outrageously beautiful views. The rooms are a bit small, which is to be expected with older hotels, but was comfortably appointed and very clean. The grounds are massive and beautiful - we loved snowshoeing around the golf course in the winter and can't wait to return to play golf in the summer.

We spent one day at the spa, where I received a good massage, my husband a great one and loved the outdoor hot tub - well worth the cost for a day pass to avoid the crowd at the heated pool.

We ate at the hotel for a few dinners: a memorable multi-course prix fixe at Grapes (definitely recommend), a honeymoon mandatory fondue dinner at Wauldhaus (great service, good German food), lunch at the Bow Valley Grill (decent Canadian classics). We also walked to town for a bit more variety, which was a nice walk on which we saw elk, deer and moose.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Banff. Truly a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libscostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Congratulations on your recent marriage and that you so much for taking the time to share your honeymoon experience on Trip advisor. Our team will be delighted to see your review, and we have shared it with them. All the best and many happy anniversaries to come.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had our 2nd annual new years stay at this beautiful "castle in the rockies".
We can't say enough about this magical place.
From the time you arrive and are greeted by the most friendly valet people, who really set the standard on quality of service and friendliness, to the most wonderful scent when you walk in the door, to the most helpful and cordial staff you will find anywhere.
Even though it is extremely busy here at new years, the staff make you feel like your their best customer.
It truly is a magical place for us and makes memories that will last a life time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive New Year's experience with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time. We will share your accolades with our team so they know how much you appreciated their efforts!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The President Club membership floor(5th) excels in every way. From the private and personable check-in to the staff that maintain this floor. This was the first time we had experienced this Membership option and we were not let down. The private lounge which served our breakfast and appys' in the afternoon to just being able to relax in a quiet area was so much appreciated.
Well done everyone!!! We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASpencer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We appreciate the accolades for our Fairmont Gold team. Thank you so much for taking the time to share, and we hope that your travels from Prince George bring you back again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The best part about this resort is just seeing this resort. I can think of no other resort where the outside of it is so captivating. We specifically drove to an overlook so we could get another view of the hotel. Then the best thing about the hotel is the view. Amazing views. We stayed in the Stanley Thompson Wing. Our room did not have a view. I was disappointed in that, but I have to say that the room itself made up for the lack of view. Plenty of space, gorgeous and spacious bathroom. The seating area was comfortable. We had a fireplace...only for looks...it was not a working fireplace. The large screen television was an unexpected plus for viewing the Super Bowl. The third best thing about the resort would have to be the service. Perhaps Canadians are known for their service (I have been overly impressed everywhere I have gone), but this resort must pride themselves on their outstanding service. Everyone seemed determined to be helpful. So many smiles! I will remember this the most. Great service.
Finally, the interior is worth a visit all on its own. It is a castle. There is a rich history at this resort. Fun, fun place. I would imagine the summer months are even better!

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor of the Stanley Thompson Wing. The room was lovely. It does not have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for visiting from Indiana and for taking the time to share your positive experience, especially the warm and engaging service you enjoyed. We are delighted that you had a nice time and we certainly hope you can come back if your travels bring you to The Canadian Rockies again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Ate in the grape dining room. Beautiful and historic dining room. Food was good but service was poor. Waiter and manager argued that 2011 cab was same quality and price as 2008 from same vineyard. Water glasses mostly empty. Cold coffee. Hope fairmont has higher service expectations than we experienced.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gsmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We appreciate your sharing your disappointment and care about your experience. A hotel representative has reached out to you to discuss it further. Please be assured that we use all feedback constructively and we will apply our necessary resources to improve.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing