We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic but watch the costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A classic but watch the costs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is a classic. Old and gorgeous. We stayed one night for the experience. It was nice. But--we paid a lot and then had to pay more--first there was the added charge for a room with a view-which was actually just a corner that looked out --not that great. Then we were charged a lot for parking. We had just come from the Rimrock where we were not charged for either of these things--so it didn't feel good. The one spectacular thing about this hotel is the pool. It is huge and beautiful and you can walk right out into a fabulous outdoor hot tub--so --overall, this was fine, the pool was worth it--would I stay again, though? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. While we are pleased to see that you enjoyed our pool we do regret that you did not find value in your stay. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate leaders for their review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,968
    1,218
    498
    284
    161
See reviews for
1,422
2,773
141
862
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at several Fairmont properties (Banff, Lake Louise, Jasper, so far) and they have all been different during our APT tour but have all been excellent with extremely helpful and friendly staff.. All venues have been very comfortable and a great experience for us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review about your experience at our three properties in the Alberta Mountain Region. We value our relationship with APT and are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your tour through the Rocky Mountains.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
284 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was on my Bucket List of hotels to stay at and I was not disappointed. We had a wonderful weekend there. Rooms are small, but it is so worth it. We were fortunate to catch it in a freak Spring snowstorm that transformed it into a Winter Wonderland...without the bitter cold. It was very unusual to be sitting in the bar with a Mint Julep watching the Kentucky Derby and looking out the window at a foot of snow. Hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedb548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so honoured that we were on your Bucket List and that you had such a memorable stay with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the fairmont and thought it was excellent. The service was top notch. Everything from giving us a firmer mattress when we asked to giving us two neighbouring rooms. We were lucky and had large rooms with views over the valley. The first room we were allocated was small and immediately swapped when we asked. Room/ suite 918 was superb, but we needed ear plugs as next to the lift shafts. However, didn't care as the view and room were so good.

Food in the bow valley was ok, breakfast good but dinner average. We felt better atmosphere, prices and food in town.

Loved the hot springs pool at the back of the hotel, perfect after a hike.

Nothing was to much trouble we had an amazing stay. Robert the concierge provide great advice, thanks Rob!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma&Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I will be sure to share your compliments with Rob as I know he will appreciate reading them. I am however so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with dinner experience in the Bow Valley Grill. I have also shared your feedback with our Food & Beverage team for their review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetaskiwin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a genuine Banff experience.
The staff are very friendly and eager to be of service. The rooms are exceptional and the restaurants are wonderful. It is a real "Castle in the Rockies".



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It's not a true Banff Experience without staying at the Banff Springs. The Staff is great, the views are spectacular, the food is awesome and the Hotel is full of history. We brought our dog and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review about your stay with us. We are so pleased to see that your family, including your dog enjoyed your stay!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had a great time staying here. It really is the Castle in the Rockies. For skiing, hiking, and spa, this is an ideal place to stay and a walk away from the village restaurants. Great people and I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to see that you found your stay to be excellent and that you will be back. We certainly look forward to the opportunity.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing