We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Terrible Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Terrible Food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We had an unfortunate incident involving the Banff TV Media Convention but I am going to ignore that for purposes of my overall review because the hotel did try to make up for it. But be warned: check for any large conventions before you book your stay.

The good: unbelievable location and scenery. Tons of places to hike, bike, and explore. Fabulous spa. Courteous staff. The room was small but nice. Incredible view of the Bow River Valley and the Banff Golf Course.

The bad: food was terrible. Bow Valley Grill was the worst food and service on our entire trip (see separate review). Go into Banff for dinner.

We would highly recommend a stay here but not during a convention week.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dwillens3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Due to the nature of your review and the concerns you had, a hotel representative will be contacting you as soon as possible.


The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,209
    1,307
    526
    298
    170
See reviews for
1,522
2,955
146
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was on my wife's 'bucket list'. Very nice hotel in a scenic area. I'm sure keeping this old of a hotel in this nice of condition is expensive. But it's not worth the Price. Stay somewhere else and just visit the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry that you did not feel you would return again if in the area. We would love to have you back as our guest.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a truly magical place, it's stunning and it commands a great view over Banff, even if you are not staying here you should go up for a look and maybe a meal or to use the spa.

It's expensive, but that's what you get for luxury in a Ski Town. I went for a Conference so I was lucky enough to not have to pay the bill!

The rooms are not big, some are odd shaped and can feel a little cramped, unless you are used to NYC style hotel rooms....it's an historic building so you aren't going to get a lot of space here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for visiting to attend a conference. We appreciate your feedback.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights with Fairmont Gold. The good - Breakfast was better than other Fairmonts. The bad - Location was not central, the room was poorly laid out, it was noisy due to linen closets sprinkle through the floor, no one is spared. The ugly - the bathroom was the size of a closet, barely enough for the sink, toilet and shower (no tub). The shower was so enclose, you felt like you would run out of air. Not what you expect from a luxury hotel. The uglier, the mattress had holes in it, meaning, when you lay on the bed, you would sink. Would not recommend a stay. If you want to tour the hotel, come for a day visit (1PM tours) and tour the hotel. Better to stay else where. Even the golf course is not easily accessible. They even charged us for something we did not consume (to be fair, they removed the charges). Just very disappointed with the entire experience.

Room Tip: Don't how to get a good, since we did not get a good room, stay away from rooms in the turrets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benfreelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize that you were not pleased with your guestroom and we will contact you personally in a timely manner.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our Rocky Mountaineer rail journey. Put simply, this place is awesome but expensive. You are paying for the experience as well as the actual hotel. It's like staying in a luxurious castle. Everything was clean and modern (or in great condition in case of old furniture and furnishings) although the room itself was pretty small with a small window. Service was excellent. Our tip is to join the Fairmont Presidents club as you get free wi-fi which is like $14 a day otherwise. The location is pretty good, probably a 10-15 min walk for most people into the heart of Banff where all the shopping and eating is. But since sunset is so late in summer the walk felt safe and easy. Gym was what you'd expect for this sort of hotel. Another too, take the time to check out the old photos of the hotel. We ate breakfast in the room and it was fine, but expensive by the time you pay the room service charge and 18% compulsory gratuity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for travelling with Rocky Mountaineer vacations and staying with us at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We appreciate your candid feedback and thank you for joining our loyalty program, The Fairmont President's Club.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

You will feel as though you have landed in Scotland! Castle-like, this hotel surpasses most. Fairmonts are lovely hotels in general, but this is my favorite so far. Stone exterior, bagpiper welcome! Rivers, mountains, heaven for sure. I will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you. Our Scottish baronial castle was fashioned to be just that and we appreciate your kind words.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Fairmont Banff Springs CASTLE is AMAZING! From the friendly smiles that greet you to the moment you walk into your room and take in the view, you will be swept in by the magic of your surroundings. I truly recommend you treat yourself to this experience. The Spa is experience in it's self. ONE OF A KIND! The entire team of staff is only there for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We do appreciate your sharing the positive experience you had, especially the engaging service from our colleagues. Thank you so much.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing