We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here on a travel agent rate so I can't comment on the price.

What I loved about this hotel
The heated outdoor pool, we swam while it was snowing, a completely surreal experience.
It is beautiful - Just wow, especially with the snow on the eaves
Room Size is good.
The Pantry - down stairs there is 'the pantry' I found this to be a cheaper option than a full fledged breakfast, and it was easy.

What I didn't like
The Location is a bit out of the city centre so unless you have a car (and pay for parking) you will have trouble getting into the restaurants.
Its confusing, we were staying in the size wing and we had a bit of trouble finding our way around.
The Heating in Winter, you can't put it onto cool, the system just doesn't let you, so the room was very stuffy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building not in the wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiciD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Our travel agents are very important to us and are an extension of our team so thank you for visiting and for your honest feedback.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,929
    1,207
    496
    283
    161
See reviews for
1,411
2,750
139
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently traveled to several national parks and stayed in Banff at the Fairmont Banff Springs. The service beginning when you drive up to the hotel, the facilities and views were spectacular. The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The choice of food in the hotel (castlelike hotel) were many and we didn't even go into Banff to eat with so many choices! The tour of the castle/hotel and the background is recommended. Like the extra touch on the US Independence Day for the movies in the conference center - one being 'Independence Day'. The golf course was not only challenging with many bunkers, but also beautifully done with the water and placement of the tees.

Definitely worth a return visit for us!!!

Room Tip: We had one on the opposite side of the entrance and had a spectacular view, quiet room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We appreciate you travelling from Croatia to Banff! It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Thank you for sharing.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We decided to taste the best while visiting Lake Louise in the Canadian Rockies. We usually don't go for such luxury hotels just for that 8 hours of sleep in the room. This time, we just somehow softened our heart and went for the luxury. Well, the room we had gave us the back of the hotel, where one can see the mountain. That primarily was due to the fact that we only paid for a mid-road room, $300/night, and not the tops. Was it worth it? Well..... in some ways. The staff generally is very nice. They had problems with the room being not available yet when we checked in. Immediately, 2 free coffee coupons, worth $16 each. Some way of expressing apology. In general, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldlizsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your visit and your feedback. We hope you can return again for longer next time.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for a week using Banff as our main base for a Canadian Rockies vacation.

The staff at the hotel were uniformly excellent and provided outstanding service. Overall the hotel is well maintained and the environment is mostly relaxing despite being booked close to capacity most nights.

Sign up for the President's Club (free) to get free internet.

Room 821 was small (think cruise ship size), but had a lovely view and being on the top floor of that wing, was very quiet. The A/C broke one day, but was fixed immediately. Other problems noted included a towel bar falling off the wall and loose shower valve handle.

The public areas of the hotel were spotless and in fine repair considering the crowds that stay there constantly.

Warning: The hotel public areas are very confusing to get around in for the first 2 days. Think of an old castle with lots of levels, rooms and hallways. There are 3 levels of public areas and several buildings/wings and the dining options are all over the place. They give you a map, but it isn't great. For instance, the main elevators are unexpectedly far from the main reception desk, like way behind it, like 100' with 2 turns. Signage is barely adequate.

You need dinner reservations at all venues except the Rundle Lounge bar and the Deli. So if you are getting in at the end of the day and want a regular, restaurant meal, then you need to pre-book a reservation before you arrive.

The Waldhaus was very good, one of the best meals we had. Don't let the German cuisine throw you. It is also quiet and a great experience.

The breakfast buffet at the main restaurant is $30. The choices and quality are adequate, but the presentation and overall decoration in the room are minimal and uninspired. Staff is fine, but it took a long time to get anything not on the buffet from the servers. Get a table by a window so you can look out and try to forget that you just spent $30 per person for breakfast. You can go to town and get a good breakfast for 1/2 the price.

Not sure what was going on with the room linens. We had a double sized duvet that barely covered the top of our queen bed until we asked for it to be changed to a queen size. Then, we noticed that we were always hot of the bottom and cold on the top in bed. Turns out that the mattress pad was about as thick as a flannel sheet, so we were essentially sleeping on a hot, foam mattress. We didn't figure this out until late in our stay. Anyway, I would expect a bit better quality linens from a Fairmont.

Overall, though, we were quite pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Room 821 was small (think cruise ship size), but had a lovely view and being on the top floor of tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsy_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We value our customer's feedback and we do use it constructively. Thank you very much for your review.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This resort is an absolute oasis. There are so many shops, restaurants, and a beautiful indoor and outdoor pool. The rooms are lovely and most have nice views. They are all updated with large flat screen tv's, but manage to keep the vintage feel with crown mouldings and glass door knobs. Also a large and extensive spa that offers everything from mani/pedis, to haircuts, to couples massages....and so much more. We loved our stay here and will be back.

Room Tip: Join the free President's Club to get online offers and free wifi when you are a guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abwmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for visiting. As you reside in Alberta, we hope you can return again very soon!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I spent one night here with my boyfriend on the Fairmont Gold floor, and i wish it was longer. From pulling up the driveway, to the personalized check in, to the champagne and chocolates in the room with music playing, it was a specactular experience. We were greeted in the lobby by someone named Max, who took our bags right to our room while we checked in, he even hung up my jacket! I saw Max the next morning, and he remembered who we were. I know he probably meets alot of people so that was very impressive. The Fairmont Gold staff were very helpful in planning our short time in Banff, and the maps they had were very useful. the breakfast that is included with the Fairmont Gold was sooo good! it was buffet style, with indian food, which was unusual but delicious. The lovely lady bringing around coffee was also very nice and talked to us abou our trip and what we have seen so far. The bed was heavenly, and the view of the mountains and river looked like a postcard. My one and only complaint was that when i checked out, i noticed we were charged $18 for two drinks, although we never bought any drinks. The concierge informed me it was a mistake, and that the drinks for room 516 had got charged to our room 519. However, that $18 never came off my credit card. No big deal though, the service and views made up for it. Thanks again, and hopefulyl next time it will be a longer stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We do care about accurate billing and therefore a hotel representative will be in contact with you to ensure it is correct.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fairmont Banff was our first stop on our Canadian Rockies trip. We really enjoyed this hotel. It is a larger resort than what we typically choose for our trips, but we decided to stay for 2 nights. Service here was excellent, staff were always happy to help, whether it was valet, check-in or the restaurants. Concierge was exceptional and SO helpful with all of our questions. It is definitely a crowded place so expect a lot of people, but we were always able to get reservations and tables at the lounge etc. The location is great, slightly away from town, but close enough, with great hikes and other sites to see in the area. The heated pool was great after a long day of hiking!

The only thing I would say is that the room was VERY small. We did have a great view but it was through a small window and there was no balcony. I know the property is very old though so it might be part of it's history. I can't remember what category room I booked, but if I did it again I would definitely pay the money to upgrade to a suite or a larger room.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Banff and thought the Fairmont Banff was a great spot to stay for a few nights during our trip.

Room Tip: The standard rooms with mountain view are small. Consider upgrading to a suite if you want more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback which we truly appreciate. The Fairmont Banff Springs has a variety of guestrooms in several locations throughout the property to offer our guests. We are certain we can find just the perfect room for you. Do not hesitate to ask a representative for more options and we do hope we can see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing