We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. It deserves it's 5 stars. The receptionist and concierge staff did everything possible to make our stay at the hotel extremely memorable. The room which we were originally allocated was excellent but a tad small. This was upgraded the following day to a much bigger room at no extra charge. There are quite a number of individual restaurants within the hotel and I would particularly recommend Castellos and the Waldhaus Restaurant, both of which we visited twice. The service, the romantic setting and overall ambience combined to make this the best hotel that we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We moved twice during our stay and both rooms were quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for the positive review. We appreciate it very much.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,670)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Banff Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,818 - 3,824 of 6,670 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I came to this property for a convention that occurred here. Upon arrival, I was welcomed by name, and all the staff were kind. The property is beautiful and reminded me of a scene from Beauty and the Beast. It was a quick walk to "downtown" to the local shops. I ate here a few times, and the food was delicious. I would def recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy-Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for visiting and for sharing your Castle experience with us and other readers on Trip Advisor. We hope we can see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Driving up to the hotel gave us a view to what was to come! The door staff were all wonderful, happy and very helpful with directions and ideas! The checkin staff were equally helpful and happy and very courteous and respectful to all of us. The rooms were large and had a lovely view. There are plenty of walks around the hotel and plenty to see and do as well as a tour of the hotel! It is large and looks like a castle! Very impressed with the concierge for our million and one questions! Nothing too much trouble!

Room Tip: Talk to the concierge to get the most out of the surrounds so you miss nothing!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank flower_rose38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are delighted to have had you visit from Australia and to learn that you enjoyed your visit so much and the help you received from our concierge team. Thank you very much!

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fifty years ago we stayed one night at this remarkable facility. We have returned four or five times since then. Since this year was special we spent more time at the hotel enjoying many of their activities. It is a charming hotel with awe-inspiring views. We intend to return again, perhaps on our 55th!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
5  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you so much for your continued loyalty. We hope to see you soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an outstanding facility and location. The atmosphere was very festive and the scenery absolutely beautiful. The facilities themselves were excellent within the resort and only a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. We were skiing and snow boarding for 12 days over New Year with a party of 8. The hotel staff were exceptional. The suite was a fair size for a family of 4 although slightly dated. Our room was on the 9th floor facing onto the golf course so the view was absolutely stunning. So although we were a bit disappointed in the room the rest of the facilities and service made up for it. The cafe style eatery at the front of the hotel was great for grabbing a quick snack for taking on the bus before skiing and snowboarding or for a light bite in the evening if you didn't want anything heavy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sd1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for spending New Years with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Loved this place. It's natural beauty and old style castle, makes the whole experience amazing.
After getting off the plan in Calgary, rented a car and here we go few hours drive in main highway to Banff. We went there in March and our next destination was Montreal. Got into the snow blizzard. Scary experience. No doubt, Banff is full of natural beauty and Fairmont Banff Spring is the place to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with glacier view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParameshAdhikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Owner at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for visiting The Fairmont Banff Springs.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This historic hotel retains the classic feel of the old railroad hotels while providing present-day luxury. It would be hard to find anything to criticize about it: the rooms are comfortable, the staff is experienced and always helpful, and the view between the mountains to the east from the lounges and balconies on the Mezzanine level--and many of the hotel rooms--is almost unbelievable. Take the free tour of the hotel (led by a Jamaican in a kilt!) offered at 1:00 p.m. daily to learn about the history and features of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river--in advance of your visit.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Biotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. We enjoy the feedback we receive from our guests and are pleased you enjoyed the warm welcome from our lobby ambassador.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £267 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing