We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A castle in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you go to Banff Springs or anywhere nearby, you must stay here! This place is magical - just like staying in a castle. The hotel sits at the base of the Canadian Rockies, close enough to town to Banff Springs that you can walk. There is so much to do at just the hotel that you never have to leave if you don't want - it is a city unto itself with multiple restaurants and bars, and fun entertainment like a bowling alley, golf simulator, gym, spa, and indoor and outdoor pools. The outdoor pool was a treat in March - felt like a huge hot-tub, and so nice to be outside even though the air temperature was freezing. I also did a yoga class at their gym. Friends of ours took advantage of the spa, which I hear is lovely. We all stayed on the gold floor (6th?) that had free breakfast, and snacks and beverages all day. I highly recommend doing this, it was well worth the extra money and so nice to have a cozy place to pop into to have a glass of wine and sit by the fire. I'll also add that I don't ski, and I still had a lovely time here in the middle of a Canadian winter!

Room Tip: Get the gold-level floor, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelchickNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Fairmont Gold experience with us, and with others. We are pleased that you enjoyed your winter experience in Banff. It truly is magical and there is certainly something for everyone!

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,033 - 4,039 of 6,921 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is my 4th time to Banff Springs Hotel - unfortunately once you have been there you are condemned to go every time you revisit because, quite frankly, I would be disappointed if I stayed elsewhere.

This time though just to ruin myself forever - we stayed 8 nights on the Gold Floor. Cheap, deal are not words you will get to use when speaking of the Gold Floor, sorry.

The Gold Floor promotes itself as a hotel within a hotel - and it has every right too, because that is exactly how it feels. Service is exemplary and really every whim can and will be catered to. We had the added bonus of being classed as VIPs due to the longevity of our stay and had our personal concierge, who was marvellous.

It was decadent and fabulous... would we do it again... hmmmmm, assuming no Lotto win... I do not think so, only because you can get lost in the hotel within a hotel and not get out about as you would if you were in the main hotel where mere mortals stay.

This, for me, is an experience and if you are fortunate enough to be able to do it, my advice is go for it - we should all have a little decadence.

Room Tip: We had an end room which had two windows - really did make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazzalee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you SO much for your continued loyalty and we are so appreciative of your kind words which have been shared with our team. Please do let us know when you will return and how we can assist you.

The Fairmont Banff SPrings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I had stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs during the July 4th weekend. The surroundings of the hotel is beautiful! Easy drive to nearby attractions and the town. The room that we had stayed is at the Stanley Thompson wing, which is not the main building. The room is dated; probably need a renovation sometime soon...

The staff is super friendly and helpful. We got really good suggestions from them for what to do around the area.

Be sure to have a meal outside in the patio area. The food and the scenery are amazing!

And for golfers, be sure to play at their course. Astonishing course!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ayu312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, and with others. We do endevor to renovate our guestrooms on a regular rotation. Most of our main building has now been recently renovated, and the Stanley Thompson wing will be again in the future. We will share your comments with our colleagues. Thank you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

So many things to do and see while relaxing by the pool or enjoying a cool drink on the deck!!
I would totally recommend this to anyone who likes to stay in a very luxurious and awesome, castle like place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for visiting from Peace River and for your review. We do appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

5 star, and 5 star price !!!
Was there for a wedding and didn't get to use all the amenities. Was excellent food. Services provided for the wedding were very good. We were there for our wedding 31 yrs ago and still love it !







  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We thank you for your review. It is wonderful that you could enjoy much of the same quality today as you enjoyed over 30 years ago while attending weddings. Our team does appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Unbelievable Customer Service at hotel/restaurants etc. Great comfortable rooms. Quiet Rooms. Clean Rooms. Helpful beyond anything I have experienced. Great place to stay. Food was great. Bus stop to get downtown nearby. Top Notch

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are delighted to read your comments! Thank you so much.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The service was excellent. The hotel and the rooms were beautiful! The view from our room was outstanding. The location was great and we were able to go on hikes from the hotel and it was close enough to walk to the downtown area. The concierge gave us excellent advise about day trips to take in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We appreciate your review. Thank you for sharing. Our concierge team are certainly among the best, and they do personally enjoy the many trails themselves personally so they always have wonderful and current advice.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £280 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing