We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lovely place and staff very helpful. Huge place and takes a little time getting your bearings. Room was very comfortable.

Wonderful views and lovely meals. Worth a wander down to the Waldaus pub for a nice meal. Get a table overlooking the 15th tee and be amused by the ground squirrels antics as an added bonus! Breakfast buffet at the Bow Valley Grill was really good and kept you going until dinner time too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and for visiting. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your dining experiences so much. We are proud to offer many distinctly different dining outlets and that you did enjoy them.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,984 - 3,990 of 6,882 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Banff Springs Hotel has been welcoming guests in world class style since the 1880s and is still the place to stay in Banff, The hotel accommodations vary from fully updated rooms and suites in the old hotel building to the new wings that descend into the valley. We prefer the old hotel building and particularly like the "honeymoon" suite (although, admittedly, we are no longer even close to newly wed.

The various restaurants are, for the most part excellent with our favourite being the Samurai Sushi Bar. Although it is now very small (since they reduced the size to make way for an expanded spa) the food is always excellent and is some of the best Japanese food in Canada. (I know, it is well away from the sea but Kaoru (the head sushi chef) sources absolutely fresh and top quality fish.

Well worth the trip from Calgary whether in ski season or at any other time. If you have the time take the old Highway 1 from Calgary and look up to see the sheep above you looking down).

ATB

LIG

Room Tip: Any room is good but ones looking down on the valley and the river are quiet with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are so happy to read your review, especially the Samurai Japanese restaurant feedback. We could not agree more. This is a best kept secret and not to be missed. Thank you so much for sharing.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a property to stay for the scenery. The views are fantastic and so peaceful. The staff all were genuine and warm, making the stay worthwhile. The suite was not what we expected being the size was somewhat smaller then we are use to but the views make up for it. We spent most our time in the outdoors taking in the beauty of this place and the serenity. The weather was perfect and the sky so blue, it made it seem unreal. We took advantage of the pools and fine dining at the restaurants. Good food and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you so very much for the kind comments. We are delighted that you were able to visit from New York and left with such fond memories. Please do come again. The vast Alberta skies will be waiting for you.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Banff this spring was rather a dull place to visit due to bear gathering on the lower slopes.most walks were closed.the village of Banff is a rather boring place with tourist trap shops predominantly for Asian tourists on a tour "Wednesday it might be Banff" variety. the hotel itself was built by the railways.Its Disneyland architecture is visited by busloads of Asian tourists photographing themselves in front of it after i presume spending money in before mentioned banff village.the one attraction belonging to the hotel is its golf course.considered one of the top in the world. i did not play($245 a round) but i walk it. it is beautiful even thou the 19th hole is rather poor.the spa amenities in the hotel are great.the wi-fi in the hotel is not free.the trick is to become a member of the hotel group,free, and then the wi-fi is free in your room also.rooms are comfortable if not large.

Room Tip: as high as possible as bus tours arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan/ Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are truly sorry to read your review about your time in Banff and we will share it accordingly. The Fairmont Banff Springs, as well as our partners in Banff, care very much about our visitor experience and take your feedback to heart.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was unsure if I should write a 'review' for somewhere we didn't stay...but since we had such an amazing experience at the restaurant AND got to see the hotel, experience the service, see some amenities (gorgeous outdoor pool), I thought that I would let others know that if we had to re-do our stay in Banff, we would (should!) have stayed here - and we're now hopeful that someday we'll go back for a few days, even if only to stay at the Banff Springs Hotel! We were only going to be in Banff for 1 day, so after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and considering the short duration of our time in Banff (and the fact that sometimes Fairmont Hotels are 'overvalued', in my opinion), we decided on Rimrock Resort (which was lovely, no doubt - definitely not in the 'heart' of town, and definitely not with any historical charm). Because of the incredible history of the Banff Springs Hotel, however, we really wanted to at least check it out - have a drink on the patio, which overlooks a beautiful outdoor pool and the mountains surrounding us. Wow. This was an experience!! From the moment we entered the hotel, the ambiance (there was a beautiful harpist) and the overall feel of the place was really grand and we were awestruck...it was truly an experience. It didn't hurt that the weather was absolutely perfect that day - so we had lunch and drinks on the back patio restaurant and it was one of our best memories from our trip out west! The food was amazing and the service was fabulous - the people travelling with us decided that they would share a lunch and the waiter overheard, so he brought out 2 separate dishes (each with half the entree), but each with its own side - which was not only unexpected but totally surpassed our needs - amazing! Those little touches are the most memorable! We then walked through the hotel, we saw how much history lies within - they have historical tours (within the hotel), little exhibits, and we felt that we could easily spend 3 days simply walking in and around these facilities, experiencing all they have to offer, and enjoy every minute of it! I just wanted to let anyone who may not be a 'Fairmont' devotee know that we felt it would definitely be worth the stay at the Banff Springs Hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

On behalf of all the colleagues at The Fairmont Banff Springs, we would absolutely LOVE to have you stay with us. A hotel representative will contact you directly so you have a personal point of contact.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stay quite often at the Banff Spring but our last 2 stays where frankly quite disappointing. In one occasion we had so much noise we could not sleep and last time we could not check in our room before 6:45 pm dur to late check out....... we chose to shorten our stay. We generally choose Fairmont properties when vacationing in Canada, but will reconsider our option next time we stay in Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SGB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We care very much about your experience and your continued loyalty. We will contact you personally as soon as possible.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently spent three nights in a "suite" at the Banff Fairmont. The Fairmont itself is lovely and the golf course and walks around it - in particular - are top notch. All the staff I met were kind. Here's the thing - when you are paying over $750 a night to stay in a suite, it should have ceilings higher than 7feet. The tiny suite that felt about 350 square feet, had 7 foot ceilings in half, and 8 foot in the other. With the addition of a twin bed in the living room, there was no walking space. Fairmont management informed me that I should except this with an older hotel - so caveat emptor to me.

Additionally, I book the room for my 90 year old grandmother. For someone that age, a walk from a room at the end of the Manor House to the main areas of the hotel (Bow Valley grill, etc) is 10 minutes +. And, no matter what required a trip down stairs. Inside the hotel there were many stairs, our other option was to walk outside around a huge crane doing construction. I asked to change rooms and they said "Sorry, we're full!." I had extensive discussions with the booking agent who said the room was very close to everything, and the front desk assured us there were no stairs. Unfortunately they were wrong.

The staff was all very nice, but nothing special was done for us, no one offered a complimentary drink or anything that would make this a resort experience. It's nice for maybe $300 a night but not worth anywhere close to what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank EmmaJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBS1888, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are truly sorry to learn that you were disappointed and did not feel special, as our mission for our guests is quite the opposite. Please be assured that your voice is heard, and we are sharing your comments with our team for their consideration. A hotel representative will contact you by email shortly.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £289 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing