We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
331 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“What a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

One of the most beautiful hotels i have been to, with so much history, in a great setting. If you saw Grand Hotel Budapest, the movie, you would love this property. Great service, great park, great golf, lots of restaurants, and slow valet parking ( it is ok, the rest is worth the wait).
I would spend next time a week there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to share your review on Trip advisor and we do hope you will stay longer next time. Thank you!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,918
    1,206
    496
    282
    161
See reviews for
1,407
2,748
138
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montepulciano, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My stay in the Banff Springs hotel was perfect .The hotel is huge and as I arrived I wondered if service etc would suffer as a result - I was to be proven wrong .This is a hotel that prides itself on the highest standards of service and it delivers .Breakfast every morning was a delight - they catered extremely well for my desire for a vegan breakfast .Dinner was no different - on one occasion I asked the kitchen to surprise me as I'd exhausted the vegan menu - I received the most delicious vegan pizza ever followed by a scrumptious slice of vegan chocolate cake .
There are plenty of dining options - many restaurants in the hotel and the pantry serves a mean vegan hot chocolate .My husband who is a thoroughbred carnivore loved every breakfast and dinner option he chose .
We stayed in a suite with a view of the river and mountains - it was opposite a lift but was pretty quiet .
A favourite thing for me was the fitness classes that are offered as part of the stay - these were top notch and I particularly loved Jess and her bosses ( sorry cannot remember this ladies name) classes a mixture of challenge with modifications for every level of fitness .I was also able to use the studio when no classes were being taught to keep up my own power yoga practice ( something I'm particularly grateful for ) I attended two great yoga classes too - which was a welcome change from my own practice too .
Tips from the concierge about local attractions were brilliant and if you like to do a bit of shopping there are some lovely shops within the hotel selling some gorgeous luxury and everyday goodies - from postcards and cold drinks to handbags and uggs to Stunning Canadian glass and sculpture .............
I'm a herbal tea gal and highly recommend the fairmont berry berry tea - it's delicious - I'm now trying to track it down in the uk -

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room with the view of the river and mountains - perhaps away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for your accolades regarding the fitness offerings and dining experiences at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We appreciate it very much!

You may wish to visit The Fairmont Savoy to inquire about future tea experiences or purchases.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our first time there. We got the ultimate must see package and it was very much worth the time and money. We also very much enjoyed the hiking especially around lake Louise and the tea house. Wish we could have had more time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the beauty of the Canadian Rockies and we hope you can return again for a longer visit.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We checked in online and arrived to have the valet hand us a key (similar to the Gold Floor service, but for regular rates). Hotel was clean, service was amazing and the location was stunning. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midnight_sun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so very much! We are pleased you will return.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

More than I usually pay for lodging, but a truly memorable stay with exceptional facilities and staff.
THE PLACE TO STAY in Banff if you want an exceptional lodging experience.
I liked the location (fantastic view) but it's not convenient to downtown if you prefer that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate it.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have been lucky enough to stay at some amazing hotels around the world, but I have never stayed, nor ever will in a room with a more amazing view - mountains, perfect blue sky, river, rapids, golf course, mountain colours changing every hour.
This made the $500 room fee worth it.
The mountain view room actually had just a small window, which had a big dollop of bird poo on it! However hotel staff pretty quickly dealt with this. The room itself was tiny, not well appointed and in need of renovation. On its own, the room was a €100/night standard. But we hardly spent any time in the room!
On arrival you can sign up to be a Presidents Club member. This is free but gives you several goodies - the usual hotel points scheme, free internet and free use of BMW mountain bikes, which we used to explore Banff and to climb the hill over the river for stunning views of the hotel.
We later stayed at a Fairmont in Vancouver and the Presidents Club membership got us an amazing upgrade.
The hotel pools (inside and outside) were fabulous. A 32 metre indoor pool and lovely hot outdoor pool with more amazing views.
Service was what you would expect for the room price.
An unmissable stay, worth it for the views, but don't expect to be swinging any cats in the rooms.

Room Tip: Worth splashing out for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frostietheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for visiting from Italy! We are very pleased to see your review and will share it accordingly.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Although this property is a fifteen minute walk from downtown, it's well worth the slight inconvenience and the extra money to experience this beautiful Fairmont hotel.
Whilst the rooms are of a moderate size, and as is typical of these older hotels, the bathrooms are very small. The bed, however, was Super King Size and very comfortable. The room had all of the standard features you would expect, including in room safe, small refrigerator and an iron.

As we were on an organised tour, our guide had set a scavenger hunt around the hotel and it made us explore the many ballrooms, halls and walkways and by talking to staff we learnt some of the history of the Hotel.

Although most of the staff will deny it , this property has a reputation for having several resident ghosts. Take a trip to the eighth floor and try and find room 837. Some of the staff refer to it as the "horror room" and it has been boarded up as a family of five were supposedly murdered in the room and they still haunt it today.

Apart from the ghostly reputation, this hotel was styled on a Scottish Castle and is absolutely magnificent . A real must stay property

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The heritage and folklore of The Fairmont Banff Springs is certainly colorful and enjoyed by many. We can confirm that we have not had murders as such on site, and the room in question is simply two rooms which have become one due to a renovation. There are many other tales however that are still up to the imagination! We hope to see you again soon.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing