We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,689)
Filter reviews
7,689 results
Traveller rating
4,961
1,584
607
342
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,961
1,584
607
342
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorbanff springsrundle loungestanley thompson wingthe bow valley grillchop housewillow stream spawaldhaus pubscottish castleiconic hotelbowling alleythe outdoor heated poolbucket listlake louisethe main hotelcanadian rockiesself parking
Filter
Updating list...
4,566 - 4,571 of 7,689 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

AMAZING relaxing environment (try the High Tea!), personable staff, beautiful facilities, grounds and view. Rooms were smallish but beautiful and economically arranged. It's like Hogwarts from Harry Potter!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Anniekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We appreciate your review very much and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed there towards the end of July on our cross Canada tour on our first visit to Banff and the west. While the hotel is stunning and has an old world charm from being built in the 1800's, it can certainly do with a a facelift! The Italian restaurant we dined in was superb and we especially liked the little ice cream shop we found by accident on the terrace, the girl working there had a huge smile on her face and was so friendly. My husband was wearing his LSU shirt and she mentioned how she had been to New Orleans and had friends that lived in the Baton Rouge area where we are from. She was a joy to talk to, I think her name was Liz or Elizabeth, she let us know about the Castle Pantry where she also worked if we wanted an afternoon coffee and we said we would definately check it out.

This is where my review takes a sour turn, as we decided to enjoy an afternoon latte we walked into the pantry which was busy we were appalled about the conversation going on behind the counter. The poor little blond girl and guy who were working we just being berated and spoken too by who I am assuming was the manager in the most horrible fashion, The girl looked like she was going to cry, there was no need for that british woman to be that rude and in front of ppl. If that is how she speaks to all her workers I am surprised you have anyone still working there. If it had been my daughter behind the counter, I would have lost it and dragged her out of there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed Castellos and 13 below ice cream parlour! We appreciate your sharing your observations about the Castle Pantry. We care about this very much and rest assured it will be investigated.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Yes its expensive but worth every dime! I have wanted to go here for 30 years and it exceeded my expectations. Service is world class and excellent food. Lots to do in and around Banff at anytime of year. Room was awesome #517 on Gold floor.....Our view looked like a postcard. Thank you Fairmont for such a great experience. Oh...The bed was so awesome i could have slept for days!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 5th Gold Floor facing tunnel mountain and the bow river!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shrev94412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you so much for your Fairmont Gold floor compliments. We do appreciate it. Did you know you can purchase the Fairmont quality mattresses and linens online via the Fairmont Store.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and loved it all! This was a repeat stay and was for our 20th wedding anniversary.

Very friendly and attentive service/staff from the staff. Bit of a queue at the check in (even in the Presidents Club line). The receptionist on getting our name and checking the computer welcomed us as repeat guests and congratulated us on our wedding anniversary. Nice touch that they omitted at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge where we'd stayed the prior 3 nights.

Good sized room with separate seating area and a free welcome bottle of champagne! The next day after the room had been made up there was a small platter with some chocolate writing and nibbles.

Even though the hotel was busy we always seemed to get a table for drinks/light meals in the Rundle Bar and found the staff there to be very friendly/efficient. They always seemed to have time for a wee chat without slowing down service.

The whole experience was great and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Just remember that this is an old period hotel so don't expect big bathrooms and full modern in-room amenities. Given its status also expect tour groups - but do take the opportunity to do the free in-house guided tour which details the history of the hotel.

Room Tip: Join the Presidents Club (it's free) which gives you free wifi at Fairmont hotels
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellERennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your patronage and happy anniversary! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Paid way too much for historic bldg. It was very beautiful on outside but would not spend that much again! Tiny bathroom on Gold level. Could not stand in and look in mirror. Great service, but No views, average food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review, which we will share with Fairmont Gold. We do apologize that the size of your guestroom did not meet your needs on this stay. We invite you to inquire about other options, as the room product at The Fairmont Banff Springs is diverse and we certainly would love to have you return should your travels bring you to Banff again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews