We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,688)
Filter reviews
7,688 results
Traveller rating
4,960
1,584
607
342
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,960
1,584
607
342
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorbanff springsrundle loungestanley thompson wingthe bow valley grillchop housewillow stream spawaldhaus pubscottish castleiconic hotelbowling alleythe outdoor heated poolbucket listlake louisethe main hotelcanadian rockiesself parking
Filter
Updating list...
4,561 - 4,566 of 7,688 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Castles are pretty much my favorite thing, so a stay here was a must! (Thank you Fairmont Visa Certificate!) The hotel is spectacular, as well as the views. I absolutely loved the ambiance. We stayed in a rotunda room, and it was amazing. The main floor had a nice sitting area, and a huge modern bathroom. Then, there was a spiral staircase to the second floor, where the bed and second bathroom was. I felt like a princess during our stay. :) I also had the best pancakes ever for breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Overall, we had a fantastic time at this hotel. If you have the money to stay here, it's a no brainer.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a spiral staircase, and want a true castle experience, ask for a rotunda room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much. We are pleased to know that you loved the castle and felt like royalty! We hope you will return.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Banff room was tiny and hard to get reservations since all people visiting and not staying at hotel were treated as equals
Lake louise fairmont and Jasper fairmont was the same since they let visitors to the property make reservations even though they werent staying there
all 3 fairmont hotels were jammed with tourists not staying at these hotels and it made it quite unpleasant and crowded

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank michaelblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry for your disappointment and we appreciate your frustration. Certainly iconic hotels in the Canadian Rockies are a lure for everyone visiting and we will ensure your feedback does reach each hotel for their future consideration.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were allocated two rooms of supposedly equivalent standard but one was so much better than the other:- one room much smaller, one had a very basic bathroom with shower over, the other a jacuzzi, one had bathrobes, the other none .Maybe sound small things but.......
A very helpful chap on reception (Di) managed to find two comparable rooms after the first night and we were happy with them. Just ensure you are allocated rooms you are expecting.

Outdoor pool area quite small for the size of the hotel with insufficient sun beds; the access through the changing rooms and indoor pool area not ideal.

The Waldhaus patio bar was a delightful place to eat and drink. Had lunch there twice, the Beet Salad and white wine Sangria especially good.

Not so the Rundle Bar. Tables and chairs were very dusty...at least a month's worth! The uniforms of our three servers were stained and in need of dry cleaning, some were quite tatty too. Sparkling wine was flat and the food was cold due to it being brought to a communal serving table and left until the waitress was free to deliver.

Undecided if we would go back or try The Rimrock next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed and sorry to learn of the shortfalls and we will contact you directly.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at three different Fairmont hotels in the same week -- Banff Spring, Lake Louis, and Jasper. We love the Banff Spring and the LakeLouis Fairmont hotels -- will definitely go back. The Jasper Fairmont was an outlier -- it does NOT meet the Fairmont standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julapa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We will ensure your feedback is appropriately shared.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

AMAZING relaxing environment (try the High Tea!), personable staff, beautiful facilities, grounds and view. Rooms were smallish but beautiful and economically arranged. It's like Hogwarts from Harry Potter!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Anniekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We appreciate your review very much and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews