We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first Fairmont Gold experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

It's a grand property but with the Gold experience the staff are the greatest asset. They turned a fun little getaway into a great, memorable trip. It was a busy summer weekend yet the impeccable service made us feel like we were the only guests. Our room was tiny (really tiny) but we only slept there; we relaxed in the quiet private lounge with handy refreshments, the reading room or found isolated benches to appreciate the views.
The difficulty we are left with is whether our next trip is back to Banff Springs Gold or try Chateau Lake Louise Gold.

aside to hotel management: the above does not apply to the lady in The Wine Boutique. she was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonesy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for your compliments about Fairmont Gold. We truly appreciate it.
We hope you will return and with The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise only 45 minutes west of Banff, we hope you will enjoy us both!

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,674)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Banff Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,599 - 3,605 of 6,674 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely spa, gorgeous natural surroundings, pricey but memorable. Good food, great service, valet parking a struggle sometimes with delays but friendly staff and willing to please patrons

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rainer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review and for visiting from Calgary. We hope we will see you again.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Castles are pretty much my favorite thing, so a stay here was a must! (Thank you Fairmont Visa Certificate!) The hotel is spectacular, as well as the views. I absolutely loved the ambiance. We stayed in a rotunda room, and it was amazing. The main floor had a nice sitting area, and a huge modern bathroom. Then, there was a spiral staircase to the second floor, where the bed and second bathroom was. I felt like a princess during our stay. :) I also had the best pancakes ever for breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Overall, we had a fantastic time at this hotel. If you have the money to stay here, it's a no brainer.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a spiral staircase, and want a true castle experience, ask for a rotunda room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you so much. We are pleased to know that you loved the castle and felt like royalty! We hope you will return.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Banff room was tiny and hard to get reservations since all people visiting and not staying at hotel were treated as equals
Lake louise fairmont and Jasper fairmont was the same since they let visitors to the property make reservations even though they werent staying there
all 3 fairmont hotels were jammed with tourists not staying at these hotels and it made it quite unpleasant and crowded

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank michaelblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry for your disappointment and we appreciate your frustration. Certainly iconic hotels in the Canadian Rockies are a lure for everyone visiting and we will ensure your feedback does reach each hotel for their future consideration.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were allocated two rooms of supposedly equivalent standard but one was so much better than the other:- one room much smaller, one had a very basic bathroom with shower over, the other a jacuzzi, one had bathrobes, the other none .Maybe sound small things but.......
A very helpful chap on reception (Di) managed to find two comparable rooms after the first night and we were happy with them. Just ensure you are allocated rooms you are expecting.

Outdoor pool area quite small for the size of the hotel with insufficient sun beds; the access through the changing rooms and indoor pool area not ideal.

The Waldhaus patio bar was a delightful place to eat and drink. Had lunch there twice, the Beet Salad and white wine Sangria especially good.

Not so the Rundle Bar. Tables and chairs were very dusty...at least a month's worth! The uniforms of our three servers were stained and in need of dry cleaning, some were quite tatty too. Sparkling wine was flat and the food was cold due to it being brought to a communal serving table and left until the waitress was free to deliver.

Undecided if we would go back or try The Rimrock next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesleyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed and sorry to learn of the shortfalls and we will contact you directly.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at three different Fairmont hotels in the same week -- Banff Spring, Lake Louis, and Jasper. We love the Banff Spring and the LakeLouis Fairmont hotels -- will definitely go back. The Jasper Fairmont was an outlier -- it does NOT meet the Fairmont standards.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julapa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We will ensure your feedback is appropriately shared.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

AMAZING relaxing environment (try the High Tea!), personable staff, beautiful facilities, grounds and view. Rooms were smallish but beautiful and economically arranged. It's like Hogwarts from Harry Potter!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Anniekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about tea at The Fairmont Banff Springs. We appreciate your review very much and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
11.1 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £270 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing