We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely & inviting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights during snowfall and loved it. We stayed toasty warm even though it was freezing out and were treated to a great spread for breakfast every morning as part of the booking. The hosts are great and have a genuine interest in travellers alike which led to great conversations. Facilities are great with all day coffee and fully equipped kitchen to cook your own dinners etc and it is right in town so everything is closeby. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My mom and I stayed in this B&B for one night and it was great! We didn't want to stay in one of these typical North American motels which are like all the same nor in an expensive hotel, so we chose this place. Our room was small but cute, perfect for one night and the lady at the counter was very friendly and helpful. The beds were cozy as well and we also enjoyed the breakfast a lot.And it's awesome it's so close to downtown Banff. It's also a nice place to talk to other travellers, we would go there again, that's for sure. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a great stay here. Friendly hosts and really helpful with recommendations. Great breakfast. Kitchen available for guest to use. Room was small but Brilliant for the price.

Very close to the Main Street. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezza82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was lucky to stay at the Blue Mountain Lodge for 3 nights at the end of October. Emma and Pascal were great hosts and made sure that I had plenty of information about Banff, what to do, places to see, restaurants to check out and more. The breakfasts are very generous, with fresh croissants, cereal, toast and more - you will not go hungry here! On my last morning, we were also lucky enough to have some deer visit and we could watch them in the garden as we ate our breakfast. This is a lovely old style inn in the heart of Banff, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff work hard to make sure that you are happy and enjoying your stay - so if you need something extra just ask and they will do what they can to make you comfortable. Once again, thanks for the great stay and I will be back!

Room Tip: The separate entry room is great, very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Don't be fooled by the external appearance of the building, it's actually quite spacious on the inside. It's well decorated with historical photos and artifacts that make it a very welcoming and cozy environment. One thing I noticed is how clean it was! Not a single dustball was to be seen (and I really value cleanliness so I liked that).

We checked in at around 4:30pm and they had two freshly-baked cookies left, like it was meant for us!

Our room (#5) had a double bed and a single though we only used the double. We had a nice view of the mountain and it is away from the busy Banff Avenue which made for a good night's rest. The shower was hot, just the way you'd want it on a cold winter day. The floors in our room were laminate wood - fairly new or just very well-kept. The bed is also very comfortable and they keep the temperature of the building at a nice warm level.

Breakfast is COMPLIMENTARY! And it was delicious! Fresh baked croissants and muffins! Great coffee, variety of yogurts, juices, cereals, oatmeals, teas, etc. Fruit and hard-boiled eggs were also served. My boyfriend and I stuffed our faces to prepare for another busy day of travelling and nature-sight-seeing.

It's within walking distance to Banff Avenue, about 5 minutes and very accessible by car. Lots of parking spaces around.

Don't really have complaints. Everyone's expectations are different. My boyfriend and I have never been one to be picky about our accomodations since the main thing you do is sleep there. We've never really needed anything fancy. In fact, we prefer cozy and home-style accomodations more than extravagantly decorated hotels. So if you're like us? You'll love this place!

Room Tip: We had room #5 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly owner, Pascal,greeted us on arrival and even had our room ready for us even though we were extremely early! After a 12 hour overnight bus journey, we were delighted to have access to our bedroom! We stayed in a room with a queen size bed and single bed, the rooms were very cosy with TV and WiFi! Pascal spent time with us explaining and drawing out the local hikes for us! An employee named Em was very helpful to us too and had a lovely breakfast spread ready for us the next morning! Home made cookies and kitchen access with tea, coffee and hot chocolate made our stay in the lodge feel like a home from home! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThisUsernameWasFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The girls who work there are nice, but the place itself does not accord with the writeup. Our room is tiny and one could barely fit into the shower stall - we are quite small girls to begin with! Would not stay there again for th

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilacTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
847 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Lodge

Address: 327 Caribou Street | Corner of Caribou and Muskrat, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £50 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountain Lodge has been a hotel or Bed and Breakfast since 1908. Our heritage home features 10 rooms with ensuite bathrooms.Please keep in mind that we have slightly smaller rooms than newer structures. We are also very excited to report that Select Canada acknowledged our accomplishments by giving us a three-star rating in 2009. Type in the word bmlvip in our Blue Mountain Lodge booking engine to take advantage of an instant discount. Looking forward to meeting you in Banff! Pascal and Louise, Innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing