We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE! You will get a parking ticket!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEWARE! You will get a parking ticket!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you have luggage, skis, children, are pregnant, senior or basically a family this is not the hotel for you! To put it shortly they don't have enough parking stalls for the resort forcing people to park on the street. When you park on the street you get a parking ticket which we did get! Our family arrived with ONE car. Other units seemed to have 3 or 4 cars. Unfortunately they don't give you an assigned stall so it's "First come, first serve!". That is their only plan for parking. So we had to park on a snow bank down a dark street and WALK all of our gear to the resort AND we got a parking ticket. Will never stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Meagan828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to also address your comments regarding the parking situation. To suggest that the Hidden Ridge is not for someone 'with luggage, skis, children, are pregnant, senior or basically a family' is untrue, reactionary and unfair. Parking has been and will continue to be a topic of discussion at this resort. We do realize that it can lead to frustrations during busy peak periods on the weekends as all our parking is unassigned and we are located at the end of a dead end road. We have looked at alternatives but unfortunately every scenario has its positive and negative aspects. If we re-introduced assigned parking then guest satisfaction, patrolling and enforcement can become a major obstacle. In the past people encroached on parking spots that belonged to other rooms with reckless disregard for the quality of another guest's stay and it lead to many negative experiences between guests. We had a working overflow parking system in effect until the summer.

We have enough parking on property as dictated by the Town of Banff bylaw. Our problems were recently compounded by the town deciding to put up permanent no parking signage on one side of HIdden Ridge Way leading into the resort in an area that was traditionally used for overflow parking. We are not the only hotel or business in Banff to use the town's street infrastructure for overflow parking. I have made many pleas to town council and administration to reconsider this and I will email some of them to you after my response. Saturday, November 24th was the worst day for parking since the no parking signs were installed. We certainly do not support the town's decision to send a municipal law enforcement officer to tag vehicles on Sunday morning. The hotel paid for all of the tickets that were distributed, including yours, which you fail to mention in your review.

I realize that this incident and the manner in which it impacted your stay has created a very negative affect on your experience at the Hidden Ridge resort. This is regrettable from our perspective and one that saddens me. Rest assured the handling of the situation is ongoing, that we do have a plan in place and that we are working towards preventing too many vehicles and road improvements. Unfortunately, the challenges are great, especially when complimentary parking is on offer. Some other hotels place a charge of $30+ for valet parking and/or $20+ self parking (which would mean that you would have to walk a lot further to get to your room that you would here).

For future travelers, parking at the resort is complimentary but is limited to the geographical boundaries of the resort. We recommend carpooling. It is better for the environment. This occurrence was certainly a rare one but can occur on Saturday nights when occupancy is high. We expect to get more news from the Town of Banff as our discussions continue in regards to the no parking signage. We are committed to guest service and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    626
    258
    119
    51
See reviews for
878
648
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I stayed here for a night away. We loved the gorgeous mountain views from the property! The staff were friendly and helpful and provided us a cheap upgrade to a three bedroom loft. The room was nice, spacious, clean, and had a well stocked kitchen. The wood burning fireplace is a nice touch, however room was very warm and so we didn't want to heat it up further. Even with thermostat set at 16 the room remained hot so we needed to sleep with a window open for fresh air.
The downside for us was the noise level and parking situation. Quite a few parties going on into the wee hours which kept us all awake through out the night. Sound proofing is not great and in the morning we could hear people stomping around their rooms and taking showers.
The parking is horrific and don't expect a spot on site if you go out in the evening. We came back from dinner and the whole place was crammed with cars parked all along the sides of the property. We had to park down the road and walk up an icy road to our room. Also with everyone parked along the sides of the circular loop of the property the road becomes an unofficial one way with cars trying to go both ways and having to maneuver around each other. I got stuck multiple times behind trucks blocking the entire road way while people unload or load gear etc... It was very frustrating. If you pay for a room at least one parking spot should be designated to you and if you get a loft I feel two should be designated. I feel the safety of the property is at risk should there be a fire and fire trucks needed to get in there. Especially with wood burning fireplaces and young people partying all night.
Overall we liked the resort but the parking would definetely be a deterrent to us staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ckath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We are frequent visitors to Banff and when our usual haunts did not have rooms that worked for us we decided to try Hidden Ridge. Check in was smooth and the girl dealing with us could not have been nicer. We were offered an upgrade for a fee but being only two of us decided not to take it. Our room was perfect for my son and I with one bedroom and a pull out in the living room. Most importantly a wood burning fireplace with unlimited logs available. This is a must for us when visiting in the winter! Bathrooms are small but still workable if there are only two.

We had a wonderful hot tub one night looking up at the stars and also able to see the town lights. The Roam bus stops right outside the lobby which is very convient if you don't want to drive down the mountain for dinner.

Unfortunately our second night the unit above us had some very unruly guests. Security dealt with it after our complaint and when the guests did not heed the first warning were quick to respond again and had them take the party elsewhere. Upon checkout the same girl who had checked us in brought up the fact she knew we had had some issues and apologized on behalf of the hotel. It is very rare to experience such personal customer service and because of this we are willing to give this hotel another try. The location and views cannot be beat. Also our car was happy to have underground parking! Again superb customer service is what sets this apart from other Banff properties.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MandMMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review and the kind words about our staff. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to deal with the unruly guests who were impacting the quality of your stay. I can reconfirm our commitment to ensure everyone has a pleasurable stay at the resort. I can also reconfirmed the notes we made at your departure on Saturday and that we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a hassle free stay. We'll stick to our word! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Sitting in the outdoor hot tub with a fantastic view of the Rocky Mountains, absolute bliss! Even in the rain the experience was amazing. They also have a sauna. The main reception lounge is very Canadian and cozy. You can also get yourself a hot drink there and sit on one of the sofas. They have a really good DvD collection and it's free of charge which is great. The two storey cabin we were in was lovely. Sleeping on the mezzanine floor upstairs was nice. Lots of logs available for your own log fire. Cabin was very well equipped with iron, ironing board, hairdryers, complimentary smellies etc. The manager was friendly and approachable. Impressed with the underground car park plus there were several barbeques in the communal area in the middle.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MarieCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the comprehensive review. We are very glad you got to experience so many of our great amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Because my husband and I were going to be staying for 6 days, they upgraded us from a 1 BR condo to an enormous 3 BR, 2 bath condo for only $20 more per night. It was nice to have so much space to spread out in; we used one bedroom just to store our luggage. The condo included a full kitchen with a dishwasher, oven and 4-burner stove, microwave, toaster, tea kettle, coffee maker, full size fridge, and an iron with an ironing board. There was everything we needed to cook our own meals, including an enormous gas grill out near the lobby, lit for nighttime grilling and sheltered from rain. The beds were very comfy, and the downstairs shower (which I used) was spacious and clean (the upstairs one was clean as well, but was just a standard-sized tub and shower). A widescreen HD TV was installed in the living area, and in each of the bedrooms. There was a DVD player in the living area, as well as a working fireplace which we never bothered with (didn't get cold enough). The living area opened onto a small balcony. Of course the view was beautiful, but then everywhere you look in Banff is beautiful, so you can hardly go wrong. Free parking, and just 5 minutes drive to downtown Banff. Coin-op laundry machines downstairs from the lobby, 2 washers and 2 dryers. I think they offered valet laundry service as well. There was a swimming pool and hot tub as well, but we didn't use those.

a few cons:
-- the tile floors were not kept very clean; my socks turned black from walking around on them
-- there's a large window across from the loft bedroom that could not be covered; the window looked out onto a road and an RV park. Frequently I would look out and see people walking down the road, and from that distance it would not be difficult to see into our room.
-- WiFi is the only option, so when it went down we had no internet access, and we use internet a lot. Fortunately once we made the front desk aware of the problem, it wasn't too long before it got fixed.
-- the refrigerator door opened the wrong way (away from the kitchen, instead of into it)
-- the coffee packets provided only contained enough coffee for 4 cups, but the coffeemaker was 10 cups
-- the hairdryer was very weak

None of these were very serious strikes against Hidden Ridge; overall we had a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: take the upgrade if it's offered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Scrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful furnished suite, complete with a real fireplace and comfy beds. An amazing view of the mountains from your deck or the loft. Friendly and helpful staff make your staff very enjoyable and relaxing. Great for a weekend escape from the city!!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MandyCole81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anahim Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The suite was clean and inviting. We really loved the fireplace. It is great that there is a shuttle bus that brings you to town because it is quite far if you don't have a car. They must have the nicest outdoor hot tub in town. It faces beautiful mountains and its big. The sauna is nice too. Free wood for the fireplace is a bonus. We were welcomed by deer every morning (I guess people usually feed them from their balconies). The only thing I could complain about were the paper thin walls. You hear everything upstairs and next door.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
2.5 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing