We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 30 November 2013

What a great place to stay. Quiet, clean, and love the wood burning fireplace. We paid for an upgrade to a Premier Suite, what a treat this was! 3 bedrooms, 3 floors, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. I didn’t even know suites like this existed! More space than we needed, but worth it!
Front desk team were very helpful. Asked for a map of downtown as we wanted to hit a couple of pubs. They said “why don’t you leave your car here, you have FREE bus transportation”!!! Umm, ok! Parking is ample, and free too!

Room Tip: Premier Suite!! All the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyArse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a fantastic resort!!!
While on a little weekend get away me and a couple friends decided to check out the tangle ridge and our expectations were blown away. We stayed in a 3 bedroom loft with a fully furnished kitchen, 2 bathrooms, a real wood fireplace and a balcony overlooking the mountains.
The real treat were the outdoor hot pools with the unparalled backdrop.
Close enough to the town of banff for all your conveniences but just far enough away to enjoy some peace and quiet.
Upon reception we were greeted in a most friendly manner and promptly directed to our room.
I will be returning with my family next time as there is nothing else comparable in the rockies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I'm in Banff usually every other month. Small getaways for business and pleasure. I needed to getaway for work and was looking for a quiet, beautiful place infused with inspiration. Hidden Ridge is truly one of Banff's best. I've stayed at countless resorts and hotels in Banff and can't tell you the last time I enjoyed a stay like I did at the Ridge.

The room was beautiful (I was in the loft, wood burning fireplace which has a spectacular view of the snow crested mountains). Drinking my coffee in the morning with sun shining and soaking in that view was so soul refreshing.

The customer service is, without a doubt, the best I've encountered in Banff. Courteous, professional and goes above and beyond.

The room was immaculate and the extra touches leave with you with the sense that this place has great management and people care about the people staying. The bed was heavenly. I felt refreshed and invigorated leaving despite coming for a "work stay."

I'll be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you have luggage, skis, children, are pregnant, senior or basically a family this is not the hotel for you! To put it shortly they don't have enough parking stalls for the resort forcing people to park on the street. When you park on the street you get a parking ticket which we did get! Our family arrived with ONE car. Other units seemed to have 3 or 4 cars. Unfortunately they don't give you an assigned stall so it's "First come, first serve!". That is their only plan for parking. So we had to park on a snow bank down a dark street and WALK all of our gear to the resort AND we got a parking ticket. Will never stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank Meagan828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to also address your comments regarding the parking situation. To suggest that the Hidden Ridge is not for someone 'with luggage, skis, children, are pregnant, senior or basically a family' is untrue, reactionary and unfair. Parking has been and will continue to be a topic of discussion at this resort. We do realize that it can lead to frustrations during busy peak periods on the weekends as all our parking is unassigned and we are located at the end of a dead end road. We have looked at alternatives but unfortunately every scenario has its positive and negative aspects. If we re-introduced assigned parking then guest satisfaction, patrolling and enforcement can become a major obstacle. In the past people encroached on parking spots that belonged to other rooms with reckless disregard for the quality of another guest's stay and it lead to many negative experiences between guests. We had a working overflow parking system in effect until the summer.

We have enough parking on property as dictated by the Town of Banff bylaw. Our problems were recently compounded by the town deciding to put up permanent no parking signage on one side of HIdden Ridge Way leading into the resort in an area that was traditionally used for overflow parking. We are not the only hotel or business in Banff to use the town's street infrastructure for overflow parking. I have made many pleas to town council and administration to reconsider this and I will email some of them to you after my response. Saturday, November 24th was the worst day for parking since the no parking signs were installed. We certainly do not support the town's decision to send a municipal law enforcement officer to tag vehicles on Sunday morning. The hotel paid for all of the tickets that were distributed, including yours, which you fail to mention in your review.

I realize that this incident and the manner in which it impacted your stay has created a very negative affect on your experience at the Hidden Ridge resort. This is regrettable from our perspective and one that saddens me. Rest assured the handling of the situation is ongoing, that we do have a plan in place and that we are working towards preventing too many vehicles and road improvements. Unfortunately, the challenges are great, especially when complimentary parking is on offer. Some other hotels place a charge of $30+ for valet parking and/or $20+ self parking (which would mean that you would have to walk a lot further to get to your room that you would here).

For future travelers, parking at the resort is complimentary but is limited to the geographical boundaries of the resort. We recommend carpooling. It is better for the environment. This occurrence was certainly a rare one but can occur on Saturday nights when occupancy is high. We expect to get more news from the Town of Banff as our discussions continue in regards to the no parking signage. We are committed to guest service and will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I stayed here for a night away. We loved the gorgeous mountain views from the property! The staff were friendly and helpful and provided us a cheap upgrade to a three bedroom loft. The room was nice, spacious, clean, and had a well stocked kitchen. The wood burning fireplace is a nice touch, however room was very warm and so we didn't want to heat it up further. Even with thermostat set at 16 the room remained hot so we needed to sleep with a window open for fresh air.
The downside for us was the noise level and parking situation. Quite a few parties going on into the wee hours which kept us all awake through out the night. Sound proofing is not great and in the morning we could hear people stomping around their rooms and taking showers.
The parking is horrific and don't expect a spot on site if you go out in the evening. We came back from dinner and the whole place was crammed with cars parked all along the sides of the property. We had to park down the road and walk up an icy road to our room. Also with everyone parked along the sides of the circular loop of the property the road becomes an unofficial one way with cars trying to go both ways and having to maneuver around each other. I got stuck multiple times behind trucks blocking the entire road way while people unload or load gear etc... It was very frustrating. If you pay for a room at least one parking spot should be designated to you and if you get a loft I feel two should be designated. I feel the safety of the property is at risk should there be a fire and fire trucks needed to get in there. Especially with wood burning fireplaces and young people partying all night.
Overall we liked the resort but the parking would definetely be a deterrent to us staying here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ckath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We are frequent visitors to Banff and when our usual haunts did not have rooms that worked for us we decided to try Hidden Ridge. Check in was smooth and the girl dealing with us could not have been nicer. We were offered an upgrade for a fee but being only two of us decided not to take it. Our room was perfect for my son and I with one bedroom and a pull out in the living room. Most importantly a wood burning fireplace with unlimited logs available. This is a must for us when visiting in the winter! Bathrooms are small but still workable if there are only two.

We had a wonderful hot tub one night looking up at the stars and also able to see the town lights. The Roam bus stops right outside the lobby which is very convient if you don't want to drive down the mountain for dinner.

Unfortunately our second night the unit above us had some very unruly guests. Security dealt with it after our complaint and when the guests did not heed the first warning were quick to respond again and had them take the party elsewhere. Upon checkout the same girl who had checked us in brought up the fact she knew we had had some issues and apologized on behalf of the hotel. It is very rare to experience such personal customer service and because of this we are willing to give this hotel another try. The location and views cannot be beat. Also our car was happy to have underground parking! Again superb customer service is what sets this apart from other Banff properties.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank MandMMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review and the kind words about our staff. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to deal with the unruly guests who were impacting the quality of your stay. I can reconfirm our commitment to ensure everyone has a pleasurable stay at the resort. I can also reconfirmed the notes we made at your departure on Saturday and that we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a hassle free stay. We'll stick to our word! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Sitting in the outdoor hot tub with a fantastic view of the Rocky Mountains, absolute bliss! Even in the rain the experience was amazing. They also have a sauna. The main reception lounge is very Canadian and cozy. You can also get yourself a hot drink there and sit on one of the sofas. They have a really good DvD collection and it's free of charge which is great. The two storey cabin we were in was lovely. Sleeping on the mezzanine floor upstairs was nice. Lots of logs available for your own log fire. Cabin was very well equipped with iron, ironing board, hairdryers, complimentary smellies etc. The manager was friendly and approachable. Impressed with the underground car park plus there were several barbeques in the communal area in the middle.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank MarieCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for the comprehensive review. We are very glad you got to experience so many of our great amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £82 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing