We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family of six (myself, son and 3 grown granddaughters) stayed at Hidden Ridge during our recent visit to Banff. Staff was very helpful, the condo met all of our needs and the view was incredible. We would definitely return if we happen to be visiting Banff again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for the review and we are happy you enjoyed the condo, the staff and the views with your family. We specialize in family stays and we are glad you were not disappointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

No air-conditioning? Please. Unacceptable for a hotel that charges 500 dollars daily/rate. Rooms were hot all night. Not even a fan could help. No restaurant. No room service. No service at the pool. No breakfast. Not even a convenience store on the premises. Nothing. Not my type of hotel. Pool and tub too small for the number of guests. Slow wifi. Won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edu_cavalcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the resort but we appreciate the review nonetheless. We only have air conditioning in our king jacuzzi suites. There is no food and beverage license on site, as such, we have no restaurant or liquor license for service in the hot pool area. Our full kitchens are a substitute for the lack of food and beverage options. The good news is that there are delivery services for dozens of restaurants in the town of Banff and our 'breakfast in your room' package can be ordered directly with us or our reservations team. There is a full service convenience store and liquor store 300m away from the resort. I do not blame you for not wanting to return, your expectations were for amenities that were never present and do not exist here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hidden Ridge is perfectly located just outside of Banff on Tunnel Mountain. We stayed in a two bedroom condo which was perfectly equipped with everything we needed (and more!). Downstairs, there was a bedroom with a double bed, bathroom and kitchen/lounge with a large dining table and balcony. There was a wood burning fireplace which we didn't use, but kindling was easily available at reception. Upstairs, there were two double beds and an ensuite. We liked the freedom of having the kitchen facilities as well as being able to eat out. Although we didn't use them, there were communal bbq facilities around the site too.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we loved sitting in the hot tubs in the evening and looking at the mountains. There was free tea and coffee at reception, which was open 24 hours. The rooms were cleaned everyday and were spacious yet homely. It was the perfect place to start our honeymoon in the Rockies. One of the highlights was sitting on our balcony and seeing elk walk by through the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the great review and we are thrilled you chose to spend your honeymoon with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The one-bedroom "deluxe" condo is below ground level, dark and small. NOT "deluxe." And poor construction: Every sound from the rooms above can be heard - talking, footsteps, toilet, water running. The bedroom window opens at ground level directly to parked cars 2-3 feet away. So the window has to be locked closed & curtain drawn for safety/privacy, but there is no AC so no air in the room. Overall a terrible space. After a great amount of insistence and an extremely uncomfortable conversation with the front desk, we were given a "loft" condo. Don't go with anything else at this resort. If you are staying more than a couple of days, get more space/rooms than you think you need as there is little room for suitcases and extras in these condos.

Room Tip: Insist on the truth and get full details about your room/condo. Many are below ground level. In many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank your for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in the deluxe one bedroom condo with one queen. All one bedroom condos at the resort are on the lower levels. We are happy to provide full details on them. If you feel you were not given full or correct details about your room type, I would like to know about it. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you can spare the time. Was the stay after you moved rooms any better?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed in Banff at the beginning of August for the long weekend in the 2 bdrm with loft plus games room, The condo was great, we had everything we needed and we had direct access to the communal bbq from our condo. Everyone enjoyed their stay, the sofa bed was a bit bumpy but other than that it was all wonderful. It was clean and well stocked with dishes and towels. Only complaint I had was that I booked the room, however my nephew got there first and becaused he had to use his credit card to hold the room, he wasn't able to use his credit card for about 4-5 days due to the hold. I had asked about this before we left and I was told nothing like that would happen, just a deposit of $300 was needed and would be returned at check out. So, of course this was a bit disappointing, make sure you check into this if your situation is the same. Overall a great time and I would only stay there if I went back to Banff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kulwinderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for the review and we are very happy you have a wonderful Banff experience at the resort with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A great family friendly hotel, helpful staff with good amenities. Free DVD rental and ice pops for the children. Free bus pass into town. Nice clean rooms. Lovely small pool area. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family stayed in a 1 bedroom condo with loft for 4 nights in August. The main floor had a bedroom with a queen size bed, a full bathroom, and a living room (with fireplace), small kitchen, and porch/deck. The upstairs loft had two queen size beds and a half bathroom.All three beds were wonderfully comfortable with big piles of comfy pillows. The kitchen, while fairly small and not 'fully stocked' by any means was fine for cooking eggs or spaghetti. Don't expect to bake a cake or cook a fancy, multi-course meal. The porch looked out on a forest with soaring peaks in the background. Everything was clean and well maintained.
The location is on a ridge about 5 minutes outside of town. This was perfect for us. There are extensive, well maintained hiking trails taking off in several directions from the property. This is excellent for a morning run or a few miles of easy evening hiking with great views. Good mountain biking trails, too. There are no restaurants on site and not much in easy walking distance so not the place to stay if you want to walk out your door and be surrounded by shops and restaurants. However, there is a convenient free shuttle bus to the main drag in town.
The staff members are very friendly and helpful. They offer free movie rentals and free frozen treats for kids. There are two fairly large 'hot tubs' that are clean with great mountain views but that can get extremely crowded in the evenings. Free coffee and tea in the lobby. Our condo didn't have laundry facilities but there were washers, driers, and a machine selling detergent downstairs from the lobby. The grounds are nicely manicured and surrounded by spectacular mountains.
There are two good grocery stores 5 minutes away in downtown Banff--a large and busy Safeway on Marten St and a somewhat smaller and perhaps a bit more upscale 'Nester's' across the street from the Whyte Museum (Bear Street). Groceries are very expensive, similar to Hawaii or Switzerland, so not a huge savings over restaurants but there's a convenience factor for families.
There were flatscreen t.v.s in both bedrooms and the living room, although we didn't use them. Wifi was 'free,' reasonably fast and reliable; I've seen better but I've also experienced far worse. We often had 3 computers using the web simultaneously from our condo and didn't bog down.
The condo was reasonably quiet although we were not in the basement which other trip advisor writers have complained of.
Overall, this was an excellent place for a family that likes the outdoors, wants the convenience of being able to eat in, and enjoys having hiking trails rather than shops and restaurants (although they are a quick drive or shuttle ride away).
There's a large campground next-door, but we walked around it several times and it was very quiet and peaceful. If you are up for an hour or so of 'hiking' walk to the Hoodoos!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, I'd try to stay away from the lobby as the hot tubs can be noisy until 10 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the excellent and comprehensive review. We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
992 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £84 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing