We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for exploring Banff and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #20 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring Banff and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed at Homestead Inn for 3 nights mid May and very happy with the stay.

I have to agree with previous reviewer, Peter was our first impression of the Inn and it was a great start as he gave us advice on where to eat and things to do. The young lady was equally attentive but I can't remember her name.

We got to our room, opened the curtains and deer were nibbling away at the bushes outside the window.

Room was spacious, bright, clean and very comfortable. Only downside was the people in the room above us were stamping about between 2am & 3am, which was more about inconsiderate guests rather than the hotel itself.

Inn is perfectly located for exploring the surrounding area including Lake Louise, and we managed to have a day trip to Calgary from here too via the Trans Canadian Highway 1.

We would definately stay here again if we come back to the area.

Room Tip: Opt for top floor rooms to avoid noise from rooms above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    100
    77
    23
    20
See reviews for
69
94
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at the Homestead in Banff for one night and found our room to be very clean and we really liked the location. Being able to use the pool and steam room at the Banff Park Lodge just across the street was an added bonus.

What we appreciated most of all was how helpful and friendly Peter at the front desk was! He's an excellent representative for the hotel; we would most certainly recommend Homestead to others.
Peter - Thanks for being so nice!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We got a pass to use the pool at the Banff Park Lodge across the street. The room was clean and the staff were great. You get to park at the inn and everything in town is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed at the Homestead on a number of occasions but this March was the first time under the new management (Banff Park Lodge/Bow View Lodge stable). Relieved to say that the Homestead is still one of the best places to stay in Banff, no matter what season. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. All staff front of house and housekeeping are friendly and helpful. It is also so close to Melissa’s Restaurant for breakfast.......you just can't get better than that. The Homestead is good value accommodation and I recommend it, we'll be back....... again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley499522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The front desk staff are awesome. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and you get to use the Banff Park Lodge facilities which is nice. The only downside is the roof/floor/walls are very thin and sometimes you might hear some noise at night. But for the price you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms would be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

i would definately reccomend staying at the homestead inn, location is fantastic with mels being a favourite with there endless supply of popcorn. the staff where friendly and couldnt be more helpful with there suggestions of must see places and welcoming smiles even on the coldest of days. the rooms were very clean. cant wait to visit this winterwonderland again!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon84Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I would throughtly recommend them to any traveller. I stayed in one room with my husband & two children. Yes they are slightly dated but very clean indeed. We used the facilities of the sister hotel & found them to be excellent there was a warm pool & hot jacuzzi as well as free towels. Its central location was so handy,just next door was a resturant which opens at 7am serving breakfasts if needed but the excellent room facilities were all we needed,there is a good size fridge in the room aswell as tea/coffee facilities. I can't wait to back!!

Room Tip: Book in advance as they go very quick! One room will easily sleep four adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing