We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Banff”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #15 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good value in Banff”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed one night in transit from Jasper to Calgary. Ideally located in Banff - few minutes walk from Banff Avenue for shopping and eating. Reception very friendly, helpful and efficient. Room spacious and clean with fridge and coffee machine. As building insulated, can get very warm inside. Fan supplied in the room sorted that out. Parking on-site but narrow and can be a tight squeeze. Bonus free wifi. Definitely recommend - good value and comfort in a town that is grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, Manager at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for your review.

We would definitely agree that the Homestead is great value in Banff for what you get in return and we are glad that you were able to take advantage of our special offer for complimentary Wifi.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Regards,

Jim Milley
Operations Manager, Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    100
    79
    23
    20
See reviews for
70
96
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The best thing about this hotel is reception. The rate for Banff hotels is really moderate. But the hotel itself nothing interesting. We spent there just one night. I wouldn't stay there for longer time. The hotel doesn't have elevator. Luckily we didn't have a lot of luggage - our room was on the 3rd floor.
The room itself was ok - not very big, but clean. The sound isolation is not very good - we heard small children crying somewhere nearby.
But the steakhouse nextdoor is very good! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdebfriend12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at this place because when we tried to book an extra night in the hotel where we were staying, we found out that the price was suddenly much higher. This made us decide to have a look at the Homestead Inn, just across the street, where they offered us a room for a very competitive price (although breakfast was not included). We found out here as well that the staff was very friendly, especially a girl from New Zealand and a guy from Poland. So we moved our suitcases from one place to the other and that was it.

This inn is also very central, just a 100 m from Banff downtown, and the area is generally quiet. The only less positive part is that the noise isolation between floors is very poor.We stayed in a room on the ground floor and unfortunately we heard quite a lot of noise from the room above when guests walked, talked or had a shower. So next time it is clear that we will choose a room on the first floor or higher.

That said, our room was very clean, spacious and pleasant. It was as well equipped with a normal TV set, a refrigerator (but no microwave) and a coffee maker. In addition, if you are staying at this place, you can use the facilities they have in the Banff Park Lodge because the owner is the same. Therefore we consider that the Homestead Inn is a great value in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Nice comfortable room. Reception friendly and efficient. Hotel across the road was very noisy until early hours of the morning. Lots of coaches arriving late. Very central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crianlarich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I guess this hotel would be considered good value for the $ in Banff. The room was spacious enough, bed was comfortable, bathrom was clean and the room was acceptably clean. We were in a non-smoking room but there were burn marks in the carpet and bedspread and there was something caked on the bedspread that I had to scrape and wash off. I thought there was free WiFi but when I could not log on I called the desk and was told it was $5.00 - when I passed the desk later that evening the clerk later gave me a WiFi slip and said it was complimentary. No breakfast of any kind but they give you a 2 for 1 coupon to have the buffet breakfast at their affiliate hotel across the street - about $20.00 for 2 people. The location is excellent - very close to everything (a few minutes to walk to restaurants and shopping). I guess that for $100 it was probably a good value and after seeing the price of other hotels in Banff I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontario88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We only stayed here for one night but were very happy. Our room was clean and comfortable and a short walk to the centre of town. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed at Homestead Inn for 3 nights mid May and very happy with the stay.

I have to agree with previous reviewer, Peter was our first impression of the Inn and it was a great start as he gave us advice on where to eat and things to do. The young lady was equally attentive but I can't remember her name.

We got to our room, opened the curtains and deer were nibbling away at the bushes outside the window.

Room was spacious, bright, clean and very comfortable. Only downside was the people in the room above us were stamping about between 2am & 3am, which was more about inconsiderate guests rather than the hotel itself.

Inn is perfectly located for exploring the surrounding area including Lake Louise, and we managed to have a day trip to Calgary from here too via the Trans Canadian Highway 1.

We would definately stay here again if we come back to the area.

Room Tip: Opt for top floor rooms to avoid noise from rooms above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing