We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Banff”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #23 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Paso Robles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Value for Banff”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent two nights here on our trip through the rockies. The hotel is ideally situated and walking distance to all shops and restaurants. We did not check out the pool and spa or the breakfast (not included) at their partner hotel across the street.

Pros:
- Great location
- Nicely maintained front yard
- Large room
- Clean


Cons:
- Overall, doesn't seem very well up-kept
- Windows did not close completely
- Wifi not complimentary
- No elevator and only one stairwell at one end of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    102
    88
    27
    26
See reviews for
76
103
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We found this to be a good value (for Banff!) motel style place with clean, very adequate rooms and comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location convenient and close to the main street. As it is a few blocks from the railway station, the noise from trains was not an issue.
We enjoyed using the pool facilities in the sister hotel (Banff Park Lodge) across the street. There is an extra charge for wi-fi connnection and also breakfast (taken across the road) is not included in the accommodation price. The breakfast cost is normally CAD 18 per person, but we were given a 'two-for-one' voucher which we did not use as we had breakfast in a cafe in town.
We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Top floor would probably be best so that you are not aware of guests in the room above walking about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelenjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for a last minute getaway to the mountains. It seemed to be the only hotel/motel with availability at such short notice. The room was spacious but very dated. The couch in our 1 queen bed room we didn't touch because it looked extremely dirty and decades old. The washroom mirror had some sort or brown splatter on one side. We were in a ground floor room and didn't hear much as for noise coming from the back alley or the busy street in front of the room. The location is prime though with downtown just minutes away. I would stay here again as a last resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The rooms are clean, but a bit old-fashioned. The hotel is in the middle of the downtown area, there are enough parking lots and the staff is very friendly. The only downside: if you are not on the top floor, you can hear every footstep of the people in the room above yours. After a terrible night, we asked for a room on the top floor, and the staff was very helpful arranging that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YunJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

An affordable stay with friendly service and easily accessible amenities across the street. Parking lot is tight because of bad parking customers and limited lot space. Overall a standard room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

After staying here last year while passing through, I chose the Homestead for my extended five night stay in Banff this year. I was not disappointed. I love the location as it is perfect to walk anywhere within town (and yet easy to return to your room throughout the day if needed). Parking availability is great, and it is an easy drive to locations outside of the townsite. On one night of touring I was concerned the parking lot would be full (which was not the case) but the staff assured me I could park across the street at Banff Park Lodge if needed, which was good to know.

I really enjoy the quaint atmosphere of this hotel (including the outside entrance to the room overlooking the "alley"). I also love that I can use the pool facilities at the Banff Park Lodge, and that they remain open until midnight.

All staff was extremely helpful and kind all the time. The evening shift fellow, Peter, even remembered me from last year and was amazing in helping with any of my inquiries. I even left a note for the cleaning staff one day requesting decaf coffee, and they remembered every day after that to leave some for me!

It should be noted that traffic/bar/train noise is present at night, if you leave the windows open for air (as there is no air conditioning). This was not a problem for me at all, but may be noteworthy if that is something you like to avoid while traveling,

I will choose The Homestead Inn for future stays in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo, or with a partner, try to snag a room with one queen bed. This type of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Migimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Comfortable , large room, perfect shower, good bed.
Staff at the desk very friendly and helpful, after we mention that the cleaning lady forgot to close the door of our room, we got with no discussion a ticket for a free breakfast.in the hotel at the other side off the street.
Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 33 in Banff
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#23 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A Good Nite's Rest
A Good Nite's Rest
#17 of 28 in Banff
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#13 of 28 in Banff
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#5 of 28 in Banff
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 217 Lynx St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located downtown, Free Parking, Access to Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi across the road at The Banff Park Lodge. Pet Friendly, Non-smoking; Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee machine, TV, phone and hairdryer." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing