We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great cabins. Ours was spotless clean, and so nice and toasty warm when we arrived on a cold October evening. The fireplace was going and it was a very cozy, comfy cottage. We will definitely return. I would recommend bringing food (we brought sushi from Banff to eat for dinner), as options are limited out there and prices rather high (we paid almost $3 for a bottle of pop). Very friendly service!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaperJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Johnston Canyon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was lovely returning to Johnston canyon and seeing how well they maintained the cabins. The decor was great and the cabins cleaned well. Nice touch with the diner. Would like to see the train run though, guess it was in
restoration mode.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karritelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our most recent vacation to Banff NP included a one night stay at the Johnston Canyon Resort. I booked the Pilot Bungalow via the web which included a complementary bottle of wine and breakfast. Upon arrival, the young attendant was at a loss. She had to find the key to our cabin. I asked about the wine & breakfast and she said that was not included. I walked away but then decided to ask her to look these options up on the website. She then remembered the inclusions. When we arrived at the cabin, the bed was made haphazardly. After pulling down the bed covers, the sheets appeared to be clean but torn at the corners. The rest of the cabin appeared to be clean except for the worn couch. I felt comfortable enough to stay for the night. We took a late afternoon walk to the upper falls and found the area to be littered throughout. It was such a disappointment. The following morning we had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant. It's hard to give such a beautiful place a poor rating but upper management needs to step in. Seasonal help needs help. Sadly enough, I will not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjj444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked online & didn't have any issues. We came for a retreat & to hike to the Ink Pots. We had a duplex unit near the tennis court.You can hear the river, it was great. Every unit had either chairs or a bench swing to enjoy the surrounding nature. There was also a BBQ space that you could use.

There were webs in some of the corners but with these being older cabins in the middle of the forest I think if you cleaned the webs in the morning some would be back by check-in. The Better Crocker coffee pot was a joke, we had to run water through twice to get water hot enough for tea. The provided coffee was ok though. If you can, bring your own mugs. We found the ones provided were small (maybe 8oz/250 mL)

The bed was ok, we've had worse. The mini fridge was useful but we did not feel like renting VHS to play on the small TV. We came to recharge & get away from the city so not being able to watch tv or surf the net on our laptop wasn't the end of the world. You do get cell service. We had a gas fire place but the thermostat must be off. It never reached the temp indicated & it was a balmy 6•C when we arrived. We didn't get a unit with a tub, I'd highly recommend that if you're going to hike. Our cube shower was clean & I was surprised at the amount of hot water we got. The walls between units were pretty thin, we could hear a lot of what the other guests were doing.

Bridges Restaurant: we had the same server for the 3 meals we had & she was great. I enjoyed everything but my husband was not a fan of the chicken burger (what he didn't like is what made it a great burger for me). We sat by the fire place for breakfast, but the fire was mostly out & ash was floating around. Neither of us brought this up to our server though. The dinner menu changes on the weekend. We very much enjoyed the steak. The Gluten Free chocolate almond torte was delicious.

The Falls: we've been here a couple times before so we knew what to expect. The best time to start is before 9am, after that the tour buses show up & not everyone understands courtesy. It's an easy walk to the lower falls & for a non-hiker it was a bit hilly up to the upper falls. The views along the way make it worth it.

Ink Pots: I was expecting more from these. The views that surround them is what saved this hike. I thought they would have been near the top of mountain for some reason. It's a lot of uphill, with some steep sections followed by a lot of downhills to the Ink Pots. It was an almost 6 hour round trip for us newbie hikers. Everyone we encountered on this bit of the trail was friendly. We saw squirrels, woodpeckers and a grouse. Be prepared for varying temperatures.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a lovely clean cabin and found all the staff very friendly. Our cabin was located towards the back of the resort and saw they were well spaced for privacy and to give a nice sense of nature. We would have liked a hairdryer in our room for the convenience but other than that we had all the amenities that we needed. We saw an awkwardly written review about the resort about filthy?, we inquired about the review and the front desk resort staff said they were not notified of the problem. Seems strange not to notify the
staff if there was a problem. Sounds like sour grapes. The area has lots to offer especially the hike close to resort. There was actually a sighting of a bear of 3 coyotes close to Banff. It would have been nice to see some of them. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I phoned to make a reservation but was only able to access their voice mail. I left a message but no one returned my call. I phoned every hour for six hours before a human answered the phone and I was finally able to reserve a room.
My wife accidently knocked into a lamp shade in the room and the dust that fell from it was unbelievable. The light was on so it was easy to see the imitation snowfall it produced.
While looking for something that fell from the night table we discovered an old coke bottle under the bed which was covered in an enormous amount of dust and hair and fine "snowy" flakes which we assumed were dead skin cells from a myriad of former guests. There was another bottle under the bed and a book but we did not bother to retrieve them. Considering the dust on that bottle one has to wonder when the last time that room had actually been cleaned.
The thermostat in the room did not work so during the night we had to get up and turn off the gas fireplace when it got too hot and then we had to get up again whenever it got too cold.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just spent another quiet, re-charging weekend in one of the cottages at Johnston Canyon Resort. This is a series of cottages, most along the gorge. While they are perhaps a bit dated, the enjoyment of a wood burning fireplace - in a few they are gas - very good beds and rustic furnishing there is no better place to re-charge. We have been there a few times and will go again. There is NO television. The one downer is their restaurant - very poor. OK for breakfast but take the 20 minute drive to Banff for your other meals. Make sure you walk up the canyon.

Room Tip: A cottage on the gorge that is not a duplex.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,074 reviews
12.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
12.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
13.4 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £134 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing