We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found what we were looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After a long drive and searching we finally arrived. It was great having everything we needed at our doorstep. The restaurant and giftshop had a nice variety of items. The prices seemed good too. A worthwhile venture.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

A most pleasant outing in the Banff region. The cabins were very well operated and appeared well maintained. They could use some more information about the area as there is a lot to see. It
Would be nice to have some room service but as the restaurant is very close it was fine. Nice weather and great opportunities to see the sunsets against the mountains too

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We wish we could have stayed longer. Everything is
wonderful. Next to Lake Louise...... Johnston Canyon is
my favorite place on earth. Love the 1940's style cafe. It
really was step in time with retro ideas and good service.
Soft ice cream too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Resort is great and we were pleased with the
  friendliness of the staff.  Our stay was wonderful.
  they provided quick and efficient service. Our
  cabin  was clean and cozy. The checking in procedures were very
  thorough and complete. The meals in the restaurant
  were good and had reasonable prices. The decorations inside
  the cabin was well suited for the area. A nice getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The place is in a lovely location and offers cool surroundings. The trail next to the resort is very
interesting with all the waterfalls and such. It was not too long a hike either which was nice. The cabins have a very classic look and feel which is what we were looking for. Nice furniture too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The resort is splendid and we found the staff very friendly. It was refreshing to see such a lovely
Landscape. The area is scenic and well located. Next time we will bring some more friends! It is a pet friendly place too which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The place treated me like gold. I was having a celebration and it was wonderful. The staff were
Very friendly and helpful. It would be great to have some more time to spend but time was short.
It would have been nice to hike the trail to the top. Great outing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
13.4 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
12.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
839 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,136 reviews
12.9 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
872 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £131 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing