We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were glad to see our nice and very clean cabin. It was a long trip and needed some good
rest and peace. The location next to the trail to the waterfalls is very convenient and we had friendly service and attention. The prices were good too. Would like to return someday in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randolf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    105
    48
    38
    16
See reviews for
111
123
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

There were a lot of animals sighted on the Bow Valley which is right next to the Resort which was great. We were pleased with the friendliness of the staff. Our stay was wonderful as they provided lovely hospitality and service. Our cabin was clean and cozy. The checking in procedures were very thorough and complete. The meals in the restaurant were good and had reasonable prices. If you get a chance the dawn is a good time to see some of the wildlife according to our information.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We would have liked to stay a bit longer but had to return back.
The linens are nicely appointed and we found our cabin was clean. It was nice to
have an opportunity to experience scenery without all the crowds and noise. Very peaceful.
If possible we would recommend a cabin a bit bigger. They have a variety of cabins and the one we had was a bit small if you have lots of luggage. The value was very good and the food in the restaurant was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Was like a step back in time. Very nice/clean little cabin that accommodated 5 of us. Cute little diner and gift shop on the property. The waterfalls right next to hotel was amazing, Away from the hustle and bustle of Banff. Quiet location. Lots of great wildlife viewing in the area. If you're expecting posh - this isn't the place for you. If you want comfy, clean and quite with great scenery - this is a place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyZ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had 3 days at this resort in August on our car trip through the Rockies. Had booked the resort after reading favourable reviews and after another resort stay at Jasper had high expectations of our Rockies experience. What a disappointment! The check in staff had little interest in us, as she was too busy talking with a friend who had dropped in. We were hurried out of the reception with little information or any welcoming banter. The cabin was absolutely filthy. I could wipe a napkin across the floor and take off layers of filth. Our feet were all black after only a half hour in the cabin! Very poorly equipped. A stove that you were not allowed to use, certainly affected our dinner options. Minimal implements and crockery. The most disappointing aspect of the cabin's cleanlinesses was that when I found the "housekeeper"to report my concerns, (he was obviously a summer hire earning some extra dollars!) he did not own up to missing our clean....and had little explanation as to the state of cleanliness. The only redeeming fetaure of this resort is the walk to Johnston Canyon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsbels0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Everything was great. We would have liked some wine glasses or tumblers for our cabin. The decor in the cabin is very classic and has a nice ambiance to it. When we arrive the reservation agent was very helpful especially with the weather forecasts. It really helped us plan our days. 

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and splurged on the pilot cabin. The service here was better than the Fairmont! The breakfast was included in the price and the joint is cute, and divey but the people are great and the food was awesome! Our room had a bottle of wine waiting for us, and was very clean. The views are spectacular and you can hear the rushing water from the door. There was ample cut firewood and you are far enough away that you do not see all of the other tourists or hear them walking the canyon trail. It was a little more expensive than it should be for the room but we still had a great time. Parking is free too. :) The bathroom was very large with a claw foot tub, and the living room had a beautiful fireplace ...very cozy and rustic. Tastefully decorated and modernized. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynxbaby_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
12.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
12.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Property: Johnston Canyon Resort
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing