We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved the surroundings”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our first impressions of the Resort were very good. It was somewhat chilly when we arrived late in the evening and at check-in we found our registration form had already been filled out so all we had to do was verify the info and sign. Then we walked into a heated cabin, especially appreciated by my wife. Our rustic, simple wood cabin suited us perfectly. It was small with a comfortable bed and a 3 piece bathroom. We liked the fact that the cabins were set in a scattering of trees only a short walk from the beginning of Johnston Canyon and from the dining area and gift shop. We were doing hikes in the area so we appreciated having breakfast available starting at 8:00am, a hot shower when we returned and good selection on the menu at the restaurant for dinner. The homemade soup was delicious and the Buffalo burger with brie was tasty. The staff in the restaurant were cheerful and accommodating, it made meals very pleasant. We come to the Rockies often, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    111
    51
    39
    16
See reviews for
115
133
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Happy to leave this review. This location is the best I've seen for customer care. A misplaced item found and being sent back to us. Besides that I am in love with the vintage charm of these beautiful cabins. Nice remote location and private. Will certainly return without a doubt!!! The trail is a must and great to take photos. Also must add the little diner inside by the gift shop is great,

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sunset-sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estevan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in cabin 24, and we couldn't ask for more! Nothing special on view or anything but for the price we got a rustic cabin feel with the amenity of a full bathroom which was perfect. Check in was a breeze and you are literally just steps from the start of Johnson's canyon which is a nice bonus! They do have a gift shop, coffee shop and full restaurant on site which is also a pleasant bonus. The rooms come with plenty of plug ins, gas fireplace, mini fridge and coffee maker! We were basically only here to sleep anyways and sit on te deck nite evening with some local beers! I would recommend staying here as it is peaceful and the price is right. We drive to banff for hiking and suppers as well as lake louise as it is smack dab in the muddle if both (25min drive either way) cabins are pet friendly and there are plenty if trails all over to take all within walking distance! The staff seemed overly friendly anywhere always talking or offering advice when asked. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this little rustic hideaway on the bow valley parkway!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed three nights in a river front cabin. Quite pleased - our cabin was updated, spacious and clean. Setting was lovely. Did not eat in the restaurants so I can't comment on them. Staff in store/restaurant area not overly welcoming (maybe borderline rude), but staff at checkin/checkout were fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom bungalow with kitchen and living room for three nights, which gave us plenty of space to relax, prepare simple home-cooked meals, and enjoy the wood-burning fireplace. The property is conveniently located about halfway between Banff and Lake Louise, so if you are an early riser you can easily be one of the first on any of the nearby hiking trails. Our bungalow was relatively clean, especially for a woodsy cabin, but be prepared for a small spider or two. We weren't forewarned at check-in that there would be a live trap for rodents in the living room, so that was a bit of a surprise, especially when we realized something was in it and scratching to get out! (Within minutes of informing the front desk, staff was there to collect the trap and release the critter into the woods.) The kitchen has very basic pots and pans for stovetop cooking and a good refrigerator/freezer. Cooking utensils are minimal --bring your own if you need anything more than a wooden spoon. Also bring your own salt & pepper, paper towels, facial tissues and hair dryer. The bathroom is spacious, plenty of hot water, the towels were soft and the beds were very comfortable. This was a very good option for us (mom and two young adult daughters), as we wanted to save money on meals but be comfortable after a day spent sightseeing and hiking. Be aware the resort doesn't have internet or television reception. Don't miss the hike up Johnston Canyon to the upper falls -- go all the way up to the ink pots if you're able -- fascinating and beautiful. Fair warning: tour buses, filled with visitors of varying ages and abilities, arrive to hike the narrow catwalk to the falls by about 9:00 a.m. The trail begins right at the resort. We felt good about staying someplace that isn't part of a hotel chain, and one that has such an interesting history. Its simplicity helped us relax, and we smiled to think our experience might not have been all that different than when folks stayed here years and years ago.

Room Tip: Bungalow #1 has an incredible view from the living room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a lovely cabin in the resort we locked our keys our vehicle! They very kindly
Opened it for us! Thank you! It was a relief! The service was great and the
cabin clean! Great option for us! Would like to return soon to see the wildlife
The food was fine too

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Ater reading some negative reviews about the reservation process, I am delighted to report that I have only had prompt service in booking a cabin on the phone with excellent follow up on line communication to chat about my reservation. I anticiciapte a good experince based on my contact with the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAZdravecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,046 reviews
12.6 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
12.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
11.9 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Property: Johnston Canyon Resort
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing