We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay for people with pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johnston Canyon Resort
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay for people with pets”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have a lovely stay at this resort. The location is wonderful. It's great to beat the crowds for the hike.
Only issues are it's a tad far from banff itself and that the cabin had no AC so the cabin was extremely hot and uncomfortable at night.
Great staff! Very friendly.
Also great place when you have a pet.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Breanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    106
    48
    38
    16
See reviews for
111
124
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed one night at Johnston Canyon and loved our cabin. It was very spacious and very quiet. It is located right at the trailhead for the Johnston Canyon hike and the inkpots. We would love to stay again sometime as it was a tranquil place. We recommend hiking early in the morning to avoid the crowds to Upper Falls in the canyon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed over one night so we could walk to the water falls and ink pots. Located right at the trail head. The overall stay in the cabin was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The carpet was well worn. Our cabin was in a quiet area. The resort is located past Banff and before Lake Louise. An easy drive from Calgary int Airport. There was a pot belly stove that came on automatically when the room cooled during the night. There was a small refrigerator. Shower was good and hot. Had a small old fashioned tv which we did not use. No wi fi. If u plan to do the entire hike to the ink pots leave early to avoid the crowds. We met the crowds on the way down. Loved the solitude and quiet on the way up.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet cabin. The entire complex is set back, but we did not spend much time walking around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our stay at the JC Resort "made" our first trip to Canada. The cabins were clean, "rustic" in appearance but with comfortable beds and furnishings. A hot cup of coffee in the morning listening to the rushing water, evening stroll up the falls, dinner and wine on the restaurant deck, and even a grazing elk on the grounds. Nice kitchenette, comfortable porch chairs to sit and read or people watch on the trail directly below us, and feeling sorry for everyone we saw who weren't staying where we were. Close to both Banff and Lake Louise -if your idea of vacationing is resort town souvenir shopping or spa amenities, this may not be the place for you. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Best cabins look like 10,11,12. Right on the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Johnston Canyon Resort worth the stay. So cute wee cabin in the wilderness and the location to be able to do the Johnston Canyon Walk worth every dollar you pay for your accommodation. We arrived in the afternoon and then leisurely did the Johnston Canyon Walk and returned to have a beautiful meal at the on site restaurant on their outdoor balcony. Our bed was very average and I think they need to upgrade their pillows but overall the location and cabins are well worth the visit. Don't forget to get up early or go for an evening drive in the area to see the bears and other wildlife

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights July 2009 for a honeymoon have returned to visit the restaurant and scenery alone twice.. The rustic cabins create a very nice romantic ambience... Food at the on-site restaurant is very good you must try the blueberry pancakes they are out of this world... The area around the falls and walking through the mountain is just fantastic... if I have the opportunity to visit that area of Canada again I will definitely stay there

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bemerry05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at one of the Johnston Canyon Resort cabins for 5 days and used it as our base to explore the Banff area. The resort was very nice and the staff we very helpful. The cabin was clean and we had no complaints. There are only two downsides to the place. First, it is a major tourist attraction which means a fair number o people... however, that disadvantage was actually an advantage since we could get into the canyon early (which is the best viewing time for the upper falls) or late when the crowds have left. The second is that most of the cabins are actually duplexes... our other half was occupied only 2 of our 5 nights... but the walls are a bit thin. For the price, this was an excellent choice and worked great for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 14A which was one of the cabins away from the Restaurant and Canyon and gave a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
13.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
12.8 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
12.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnston Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnston Canyon Resort

Property: Johnston Canyon Resort
Address: Box 875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Johnston Canyon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff cabin and cottage/chalet rentals between Banff and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Johnston Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnston Canyon Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing