We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for a great little hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The room was rustic but very nice. We had one slight issue and received immediate assistance. They could not have handled it better. We ate at The Keg our second night. It was better than where we had eaten in town, so we went back again before we left Banff. It is a 1/2 mile walk to the main street area, but the sidewalks are well maintained. The covered parking area was a plus. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoVacation58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    789
    280
    107
    36
See reviews for
364
1,018
72
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice spot in Banff. Not close enough to the nightlife to walk, though. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Avoid a room near the spa, though. The slamming door in the morning is a little irritating. Overall it was a good stay.

Room Tip: ask for something away from the hot tub and spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night (Sept.4 - 7, 2012) stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge. Room was clean. Great food in the Lobby level restaurant, we have breakfast (baffet) and steak dinner, both were great.
On the date we checked out to continue our trip down to Idaho "Coeur d'Alene", almost half way thru, I received a phone call that the housekeeping found big amount of cash left behind, and it was kept at the hotel front desk. (manager-Annie), my niece left behind portion of her daughter's tuition (over USD7,000) at the room. cash, travel checks..etc. After contacted Annie, she was so helpful to send the money by overnight mail to our next stop.
The honesty of the room housekeeping staff certainly will be remembered by my niece for the rest of her life, and she couldn't express enough of her appreciations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for the nice review. I have passed your comments on to the Room Attendant who turned in your wallet and have commended him for his actions. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return sometime for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Our visit did not get off to a great start. Our coach dropped us off just after lunch and the young lady on the reception pointedly informed us that our room would not be ready until 4:00 p.m.. We went for a walk and when we returned at 3:00 p.m. a different receptionist gave us our room key with no hesitation!

Despite this rocky start we found the hotel clean and comfortable with other staff very helpful. Our allocated room was a little dark but well laid out and the bed extremely comfortable.

The Keg restaurant in the hotel served a first class meal with very helpful staff. I have never been offered tasters of different local beers to help make a decision.

Handy for the town with a 15 minute walk. We were also given a complimentary bus pass but as the weather was fine we didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a few times and have always had favourable experiences. The rooms are a fair size, clean and comfortable. It is just a short walk to downtown, but if you're feeling lazy or tired the hotel will provide bus passes at no charge. The hotel staff are always friendly and courteous, and the on-site Keg restaurant is a definite plus! Can't comment on the spa facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotwire.com's secret hotels option. It is a beautiful hotel, not within walking distance to downtown Banff, but that did not bother us. I think it has a four star rating.
The room was tastefully decorated and somewhat tiny for four people. There was a tiny fridge in the room which was helpful to chill some wine, etc. Underground parking was included in the rate.There is a Keg restaurant in the hotel if you don't feel like going out for meals. The staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel was really busy, but well organized.
I will recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: I would choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaLillooet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Clean, comfortable, nice room, good mattress, quiet, walking distance to downtown, and friendly and efficient front desk staff. The bar staff was also friendly and the drinks and desserts were very good. We would definitely stay at the lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing