We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay and Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Banff over the years. This was my first time at Caribou Lodge. It was lovely. The room was extremely comfortable especially the bed with feather bed topper and many pillows, love the clean bathrooms with Rocky Mountain Soap company handmade soap. I never know where to pick in Banff as prices can be high and it is nice to have a fireplace. Though these rooms dont have fireplaces there is a wood fire in the lobby with chairs beside it to sit and relax. The hot pool in the basement is large and it's blue tone lights make a huge difference in creating a relaxing atmosphere.It's too bad there aren't balconies on most (any?) of the rooms, but overall this is a good hotel that is very clean, updated, very nice collection of historic photos on the walls, paintings, and textiles - nice to look at and be in, clean modern rooms - gorgeous aspen themed wall paper on the walls, and one feels in a quality hotel. The staff is helpful and listen to all questions and concerns. There is free parking and wi-fi and the rooms have a smart clock radio with MP3 hook up as well as large flat screen tvs. Views are OK depending where you are and it's a bit of a walk into Banff town but the hotel will give you free bus tickets if you don't want to walk/drive. It is also a bonus having the Keg Steakhouse on the main floor. The lounge is perfect for a relaxed dinner and/or drink. I highly recommend the Prime Rib Sliders and ROBSON ST. HEFEWEIZEN

Room Tip: I was first assigned a room on the Banff Avenue side, views of hotels across. For me it was too nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    781
    277
    107
    36
See reviews for
359
1,011
71
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Not right in the heart of downtown - but a good location. Check in was not a good experience but the room was very nice and the bed great. Room was clean and quiet - too warm - but a small portable fan was available to move the warm air around - no a/c.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This place was very good value for money with an in room hot-tub and a two story suite with two bathrooms for a bargain price compared to some other canadian hotels. It has an underground carpark which must be nice in the Canadian winter and a very nice breakfast with complimentary take away coffee. The in house restaurant is average for dinner. The spa area has a giant hot tub that is very hot with a sauna and a very very small fitness area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fresco_pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our Loft Suite. We hope to see you again in the future should you make your way to the beautiful Rockies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killam, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although the rooms were neat and clean they were so incredibly hot that we had one of the most uncomfortable stays we've ever had at a hotel. We knew the hotel didn't have air conditioning but we figured travelling in October that shouldn't be an issue. We travelled with two other couples and one couple after one night had to change rooms with a balcony just to get fresh air coming through the room to make it tolerable. My sister and her husband along with myself and my husband were not as fortunate. They did give us 20% off our stay but didn't seem to care how our stay was. Frustrating experience, what's the point in staying at a hotel when it's uncomfortable to even sleep at night. I don't know how people can tolerate it in October let alone the summer months. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not pick inside corridor rooms....rooms on the outside with balcony's seem to get better air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We_Love_The_Sun_2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Guest Relations Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We apologise that your stay was uncomfortable, or if we made you feel like there was a lack of customer service. To clarify, we offered to move you straight away to another room of the same type which was cooler, this was declined. We then suggested a move to a balcony room the following night, but this offer was also refused. As to reach our goal of 100% guest satisfaction, we tried to make amends by giving you a discount, which we were hopeful would be acceptable to you. For future travellers or yourself if you come back to Banff, we do have other properties which offer air conditioned Suites, please contact our Reservations Department for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here as part of a Titian rail tour holiday.
Hotel good, rooms clean and large comfortable beds. Staff were helpful and cheerful without being
Intrusive.
Had breakfast in the restaurant which was very good and worth the money.
Enjoyed a evening meal in The Keg, melt in the mouth steak, but was a little pricy.
Didn't use the spa so can't comment on that.
Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly welcoming staff. The burgers in the restaurant are to die for.
Rooms were clean and spacious with big comfortable beds. I would certainly recommend this hotel and look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Good location in Banff Avenue with a 10 min stroll into the main shopping area. Free bus passes provided if you wanted to make use of them. Rooms were spotlessly clean and care was taken to ensure that the bathroom corners were also spotless! The restaurant offered some excellent food for breakfast and dinner although this was a little pricey. However the quality of food was excellent - the steaks were thick, juicy and cooked to the diner's requests. Would certainly stay here again if in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing