We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay & dine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Had a very enjoyable two night stay at the Caribou Lodge. The lobby had a welcoming fire that made it lovely and warm. The staff, particularly Jess on reception, were very helpful. The free bus pass was very useful and the in house Keg restaurant was a good place to have a hearty breakfast and delicious evening meal without having to dress up to good outside in -15 C. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,014 - 1,020 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place. Great fireplace in lobby and large hot tub. Staff were very professional and friendly. Walking distance to town plus they give you free passes to ride the bus. Didn't use the spa but it looked nice. They is a keg restaurant attached to it

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jacquieb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have stayed in other Banff Hotels but this one is truly worth an extra mention. We arrived in early January to a very cold day in Banff. That huge welcoming, crackling fireplace in the lobby instantly welcomes you, as does the coffee and tea available at any time. From there we were given our info and went down to the very clean, warm underground parking. Even the lobby in the parkade is well-presented! Our room was wonderful. A comfortable, king-sized bed with fresh clean bedding. The washroom was new, with modern fixtures. We ate at the Keg in-house and had an excellent meal. I also took advantage of their very warm and welcoming spa and had an exquisite massage. First class all the way. We really enjoyed this hotel so much. Everything was perfect and the staff was excellent. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lovely hotel, we stayed here from 28 Dec through to the 4 January 14 and we were not disappointed. We managed to secure a superior room with 2 queen beds as there were four of us (2 adults, 2 children), the beds were very comfortable, warm, cosy and clean. It was warm and quiet of an evening. Downstairs we had access to the Red Spa area which was much appreciated after a solid day boarding. We only had the "room only" option so I am unable to comment on the breakfast. What we did like was the ease of catching the ski shuttle bus to Lake Louise...the Caribou was excellent for this! The staff that helped us were polite, professional and service was so quick ..... Everyone we met seemed to have a smile on their faces.... Oevrall we liked the hotel, loved Banff and will hopefully get back in Dec 14 :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors are not noisy, don't stay near the A/C vents these seemend quite noisy fortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melgee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stay here very often.
Competitive price. Heated indoor parking is huge bonus. Room was excellent and clean. The in house Keg restaurant is very good.
The hot pool and steam sauna are very clean and in good condition..
Location is great. Free bus passes available at front desk..
Overall it's great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I always get the double queen... Suits me well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the Christmas period.

Check inn was swift and the free Roam bus tickets were great. Hotel was very clean and we liked the smell of the log fireplace.

Our room was spacious, but the bathroom décor was in need of a few decorative touch ups. The beds were comfortable, and our room faced the rear street. Extra pillows stashed in the cupboard were an added bonus, and the hotel became nice and quiet after about 10pm which added to our sleep quality.

The hotel is Located about a 15 minute stroll from downtown and the free Roam cut this distance to just 2mins. The Stop is also just outside the hotel with a digital display advising the arrival of the next bus.

The Keg restaurant and Bar were both good but we found the Bar really need to be bigger or better policed by staff to maximise the seating.

We found most evenings that a lot of people were opting for bar meals as the Keg restaurant was full. Even at 7pm all the tables and bar stools were taken by people eating, with no room for those just wanting a drink. We had to stand for over 30 minutes drinking whilst waiting for a seat. I think the bar stools should be used for those just having a drink and the tables allocated for eating.
We counted at least 3 tables which could seat four being used by just one single diner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice hotel. The whole hotel smells like woodsmoke, but I like woodsmoke so no problem there. The breakfast package was a bit sketchy. We went down...not breakfast buffet like the website says..you just get seated and get to order something from part of the menu during the weekdays. Room was nice kinda a weird shape and a long walk from the elevators. We did the spa too and the pool was nice. Nice underground parking.

Room Tip: ask to stay up high if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainMan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £74 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing