We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, comfortable and homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable and homely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

No this is not a luxurious hotel but it is welcoming and relaxing with a kind of homely ski lodge vibe - shabby furniture and log fire.
Our room was supposed to be a superior room and it was well equipped but really quite small with a side view. It was very dark - we had the lights on all the time - and I found the colour scheme VERY green! One accent wall would have been quite enough.
We ate dinner in the Keg which was excellent, and the waiter was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was ok though the buffet was a bit limited in the hot dishes and pastries.
The hot tub was excellent - huge and luxurious. Though a bit out of town the free bus passes meant getting about was easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    774
    274
    106
    36
See reviews for
355
1,001
69
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked this lodge for a two night stay at the end of our Rocky Mountaineer Train trip. As part of that trip our luggage was already in our room although we had to queue to collect our key along with a few other travellers from the train. Large log fire was lit as it was still chilly even in May which was a welcoming sight. The room on the 3rd floor was very comfortable with a huge King Size bed. A view to a side road but little or no traffic.. A Jacuzzi style swim pool with spa plus a stem room. Also an easy to use laundry which we made use of for $1 each fro washer and dryer. Room facilities were good with iron, kettle and coffee maker. TV ok and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Underground car park if driving with lots of space. The bar and restaurant are very good with a wide choice on the menu. We had a starter of Crab cakes which are considerably larger than UK versions. This was followed by mains of Sweet and Spicy Salmon and a Filet Mignon that was cooked to perfection for me, delicious. This was accompanied by an excellent Chardonnay. The portions were very large so no room for dessert. This is something to be aware of in North America so be warned not to over order! Breakfast was also very good with a mixture of self service buffet and waiter service for other dishes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandKNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Strange title for a review but my wife raved about how comfortable the beds were! This was a good hotel to stay. From the welcome on arrival, the spacious and well equipped rooms, the free wifi, secure parking and even a free bus pass into the town centre 1km away, this hotel met with all of our needs. Its a busy hotel, a little noisy on occasions but not to the point of being a problem. Would certainly stay again on another visit to Banff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_k_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was the start to a three week vacation and it could not have been better. If you judge a place by its ability to make you feel relaxed then this was a high scorer. The large log fire, comfy if worn lounge making it feel homely and a large bedroom. The food was excellent and buffet breakfast a real treat.
The twenty minute hike from town with such a beautiful back drop of snow peaked mountains was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sure54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bit late in writing this review, hotel was very welcoming and nice log fire in the lobby. We opted for the Superior room was a little on the small side but nice clean bathroom.
Banff town is a short 15/20 minute stroll and a good choice of restaurants.
The hotel spa was quite small perfect for relaxing in, good tip you can use the Fox Suites (virtually next door) spa which was lovely and nice for a change.
We ate in the Keg restaurant which was lovely, not so sure for breakfast though buffet was a bit limited.
Buses for three ski resorts were really efficient although with our lift pass had to pay 20$ round trip each time thought that would be included.
I was pleased with hotel choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minxie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights right at the end of May as part of honeymoon around Canada. Stayed in 4 hotels and unfortunately this was our least favourite. There isnt anything particularly wrong with the hotel, just that it werent up to the standards of other Canada hotels. The reception staff werent that friendly and the room was dark with a disappointing view (shame considering its a beautiful part of the country). But free bus passes, free wifi and free car parking do make a difference and certainly great offers. I found the staff in the Keg resteraunt all very friendly & very helpful and dining in there was brilliant. The pool area was just a very large hot tub and the water was close to boiling it was so hot. The area of Banff was amazing though and well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jontyChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon in March in a corner loft jacuzzi suite. I was very disappointed. The room and furniture were very old and tired; very different to the photos and not luxurious as the reviews for these rooms suggested. The room was very big and the fireplace was nice. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very nice for dinner, although breakfast was not that great. The hotel was about a 20 minute walk to town which was quite far in the Winter. The hotel gave free bus tickets although they came only every 20 minutes. The spa was very nice. This would be a great place to stay if you were looking for somewhere basic, but it was not what we were looking for for a luxurious honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing