We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place in Banff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome Place in Banff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Banff Caribou Lodge. The front desk staff was warm, helpful, welcoming & made for a very hospitable stay. They answered all our questions in detail courteously.

The property is located approximately 0.7km from downtown, but it is a very manageable walk into town (about 15 minutes, even with kids in tow!). It is in a safe setting & nicely maintained. It's nice to have free parking on (under) the property as well. Additionally, as a guest of the hotel, you have free access to Banff's Roam Buses to take you into/around town. The frequency of the buses isn't optimal, but it's a great option, especially during the busy seasons.

Our room (a double w/ 2 queen beds) was comfortable, clean, & spacious. WiFi access is complimentary & reliable. The bathrooms are also clean, spacious & have everything you need. Storage space in the room is also great.

The hot tub area is awesome- kids loved it & it is a great place to relax after a day out & about. It is clean, modern, & soothing.

Overall, this is a great property & hotel & we would definitely stay here again when in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    769
    271
    104
    35
See reviews for
352
994
68
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel lies on the outskirts of the small town of Banff, but there is a complimentary shuttle bus service to the centre for those who are unable or unwilling to walk.
The hotel incorporates a franchise Keg restaurant which serves good steaks.
Our room, with a queen-size bed, was well appointed.
The staff was very friendly. The hotel has a coin-operated laundry. I find it important to have a safe in the room, and this hotel has them.
A good stopover point for tourists visiting the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a quick 2 day early summer break to Banff. I have stayed at several hotels in Banff over the years but this was my first time at the Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa. I was generally pleased. The hotel has a very welcoming and comfortable lobby, where free coffee and papers were available all day. A roaring fire in the fireplace was a nice touch. The front desk staff was very welcoming and check in was very efficient. Our room was on the fourth floor (top floor) but I found it to be quite small and dark, but my roommate called it "cosy". It was a "gabled room" and as such, had a slanted ceiling, which unfortunately I bumped my head on several times. The only natural light was a smallish window, which luckily can be opened to let in some fresh air. There was no AC in the room but there was a portable fan available which allowed for at least some air circulation. Aside from the size of the room, I was VERY pleased with everything else related to it. The bed and pillows were excellent and the room was very well cleaned. The bathroom was very well appointed and the modernistic sculpture of an elk head over the toilet added a bit of whimsy to the surroundings. The flat screen TV worked well and the complimentary WIFI was easily accessible and reliable. I didn't use the fitness room but did use the incredibly beautiful hot tub, one of the most attractive hot tub areas I have seen in comparably priced hotels. Ate our breakfasts at The Keg in the lobby. Ordered from the menu and the food was hot and reasonably priced. The hotel is one of the farthest along Banff Avenue and is at least a 15-20 minute walk to the busy part of the avenue. Parking is a bit limited in Banff so the checkin staff recommended some of their free bus passes to get downtown, but service is not that frequent (as to be expected in a relatively small town). The walk is very pleasant however..but then again, the weather was cooperative. Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel and would seriously consider staying here again. The only thing holding me back from guaranteeing a return visit is the lack of AC. I guess I've become spoiled over the years and I like to sleep in a "coolish" room as opposed to a "warmer" one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albertaguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

First visit to Canada and we were well impressed.The hotel is a little out of town but we easily walked it several times even though the hotel provides a free shuttle service on the roam transit bus.Smashing room with two queen beds which were so comfy you felt like you were asleep on a cloud.Excellent room facilities and roomy bathroom.They were painting the outside but made no difference to us.Late check out request was given to us no problem.Free papers and coffee in foyer.Very attentive front office staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william78Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in May, loved it. Such a warm hotel and the breakfast is good. After a long day on trips the hot pools are amazing to rejuvenate, the log fire in the lobby was beautiful to sit and watch. The hot pools are open to all guests and they also have free wifi & bus passes. Great for all kinds

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lauj1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

No this is not a luxurious hotel but it is welcoming and relaxing with a kind of homely ski lodge vibe - shabby furniture and log fire.
Our room was supposed to be a superior room and it was well equipped but really quite small with a side view. It was very dark - we had the lights on all the time - and I found the colour scheme VERY green! One accent wall would have been quite enough.
We ate dinner in the Keg which was excellent, and the waiter was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was ok though the buffet was a bit limited in the hot dishes and pastries.
The hot tub was excellent - huge and luxurious. Though a bit out of town the free bus passes meant getting about was easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked this lodge for a two night stay at the end of our Rocky Mountaineer Train trip. As part of that trip our luggage was already in our room although we had to queue to collect our key along with a few other travellers from the train. Large log fire was lit as it was still chilly even in May which was a welcoming sight. The room on the 3rd floor was very comfortable with a huge King Size bed. A view to a side road but little or no traffic.. A Jacuzzi style swim pool with spa plus a stem room. Also an easy to use laundry which we made use of for $1 each fro washer and dryer. Room facilities were good with iron, kettle and coffee maker. TV ok and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Underground car park if driving with lots of space. The bar and restaurant are very good with a wide choice on the menu. We had a starter of Crab cakes which are considerably larger than UK versions. This was followed by mains of Sweet and Spicy Salmon and a Filet Mignon that was cooked to perfection for me, delicious. This was accompanied by an excellent Chardonnay. The portions were very large so no room for dessert. This is something to be aware of in North America so be warned not to over order! Breakfast was also very good with a mixture of self service buffet and waiter service for other dishes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandKNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Property: Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing