We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,146 results
Traveller rating
785
877
326
114
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
877
326
114
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskeg restaurantfree bus passrocky mountaineerlovely hotelsuperior roomunderground parkingfree roamski bussteam roomten minute walklog firereception areawalk into townlarge hot tubbuffet breakfastski lockersthere is no air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,750 - 1,755 of 2,146 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times, and I've never had a bad stay. On my most recent stay, the front stay were great, especially Claire. She was very friendly, easy going, and was wonderful to talk to. Although the rooms at this time were showing their age, the hotel is going under renovations and will make a huge difference. The Keg restaurant is always good, as well as the Spa facilities. About the only thing missing would be a little convenience store either on site or close by, as there's not much around.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karpiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This was our second stay at the Caribou Lodge in Banff. We were not disappointed and from our arrival received excellent service from the staff who were very friendly and were happy to help within any query we had.

The bedrooms are well equipped and although the decor had deteriorated slightly since our last stay (3 years ago) the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment which should be completed by December 2010. The spa remains excellent and is a welcome relief following a days skiing.

The hotel is well located and is approximately a 10 min walk from the centre of banff but the location certainly is a positive when waiting for the ski bus in a morning as the hotel is the 2nd stop and so you are always guaranteed to get on the bus you want.

We would certainly recommend the hotel and Banff in general to anyone who was looking for a very friendly welcome from both staff and locals

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sancaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was our first Ski Holiday in 20 years and my son's first, who is 7. Banff itself is a beautiful town with plenty of places to eat and the Caribou Lodge is only a short 5 to 10 minute walk into the centre. With the hotel you also have free access to the roam buses which also take you into town. The Caribou is ideally situated on the edge of town so nice and quiet. The lodge itself is beautiful inside and out with a really good spa facility, I would recommend upgrading for a small fee once you arrive. All the staff were excellent, very helpful, this is what customer service should be like! The Keg is located in lobby of the Caribou and is ideal for meals especially an amazing buffet breakfast. Out of all the ski hotels we saw during our stay, I am certain we made the best choice. With the company we booked with we had a tri area ski pass. Lake Louise was definitely the most stunning, however, for family skiing, I would recommend Sunshine. We are definitley coming back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

My family and I stayed at the Caribou for 10 days over the Christmas period and had the most fantastic time! If you are visiting Banff do not hesitate to stay here. The big lobby/lounge was beautifully decorated with garlands, lights and red poinsetias. There's a big log fire and lots of comfy sofas. All hotel staff are v. friendly and helpfull. We stayed in a superior room which was 1st class - beautifully decorated, 2 v. comfortable king size beds, big flat screen TV, WiFi etc. The Keg restaurant is v. smart and has good ambience. The food was good and I can recommend the buffet breakfast which was top class. We also found room service from here to be good value and portions of the hearty size. There is a great spa area with large hot pool with jets which was lovely after a day on the slopes. There is also a steam room, gym and payable treatments. We had a dip in the pool most days and it was never too busy. Ski lockers are located in the heated basement car park accessed by a lift. The ski bus stop is right outside the hotel - don't let a bus ride to the slopes put you off, they are actually coaches (nobody stands) and are very well organised. Sunshine is around 20 mins away and Lake Louise approx 40 mins (we didn't visit Norquay). The views from the coach ride are amazing, especially the Lake Louise trip. There is also a local bus service (ROAM) with the stop just 10m from the hotel. The Caribou issued us with complimentary bus passes - handy for getting to the main shops & restaurants which are a 10/15 min walk. There are a reasonable number of shops in Banff - enough to browse whilst on hols, and no shortage of restaurants and pubs. The pubs also serve good food at resonable prices - can recommend St James Gate Irish pub and the Elk and Oarsman. The skiing was fantastic - we are used to groomed European pistes but here there is less grooming which took a little getting used to but is better as it was powder all the way. No ice also. The slopes were very quiet with minimal lift queues. When there was a queue it was v. civilised - no rudeness/barging like in France! Both Lake Louise and Sunshine have a good selection of slopes - both were equally good. We can recommend Trappers bar at Sunshine for good value slopeside food. We did the Johnstone Ice Canyon trip which was a good experience - the frozen waterfalls are quite stunning. We also had a sleigh ride around the frozen Lake Louise on Christmas Day, again recommended.
All in all, this was an unforgettable holiday and one of our best. Thanks to Jim and all the great staff at the Caribou. In short - GO THERE!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumbo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I have visited the Banff Caribou Lodge to dine at the Keg and to meet others in the Lobby. The lobby area is beautiful with a fire and lots of chairs and sofas. Unfortunately the rooms do not meet the same standard.
My husband and I booked a one night stay as treat for our 24th anniversary, requesting a superior room with a jacuzzi tub. At check in at 4:30pm there was some confusion on whether or not the room was ready but we decided to have a drink in the lounge to kill time. Nobody came to let us know that the room was ready, even though they suggested to us to wait. Once in the room, not only did we not get a jacuzzi tub, but possibly the smallest tub I have ever seen.

The bed was very comfortable but all the furniture was dated, worn and very cheap looking. I did like the toiletries provided by Rocky Mountain Soap Company and the room was very clean.

One other complaint is this hotel is incredibly noisy. We could hear other guests in rooms above and everyone that was in the hallways.

This hotel would be great for a family, skiers looking for rooms to accommodate lots of people, but not for a special get away, and definitely not worth the $169 charged.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBCL, General Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2010

I am sorry that your visit to our hotel did not meet expectations. We strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay. This apparently was not your experience, and for that we apologize.

The hotel has two deluxe suites with jacuzzi tubs. The rest of the rooms have standard bath tubs. Not knowing the details of your reservation or the dates of your stay, I am hesitant to comment on the rest of your points, but I would invite you to contact the hotel directly and we would be happy to look into your particular case.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feed back. We find it invaluable in continuing to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews