We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location for town, there is heated underground parking (at a cost) and the room was nice.
We did have to turn the fridge off as it was making a very annoying noise and the wall was a bit thin, our neighbours left their room before their alarm was set and we were unable to sleep in as it was incessantly going off (we may have been childish and let out a cheer when they finally returned but were slightly annoyed to see when we left the room they had their "do not disturb" sign up on the door!)
The shower was weak and had very little adjustment on it, the door leaked into the toilet space, the spa pool bath was nice but did not make the room as I'd hoped it might.
The bedroom was lovely, the bed was firm and there was a lot of space, it's just the little things like the wardrobe doors not closing properly and the coffee being really bitter and cheap tasting.
The breakfast in the morning, although hosted by a lovely girl was very minimal. I would probably not stay here again

Room Tip: We had one of the Deluxe King rooms, although not too expensive I probably wouldn't upgrade if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Our Deluxe rooms are generally a favorite as they offer a single or double jetted tub, mini fridge and more living space for a nominal upgrade fee. The complimentary breakfast is continental (cold breakfast - cereals, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice) but isn't for everyone. We are centrally located to many other breakfast restaurants in town for those looking for a full hot breakfast. We are sorry to hear you will not stay again, your comments have been passed on to the General Manager for further review. Kind regards, Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Excellent Service, located at a very convenient location…Can't say enough about this place…Its just a fantastic experience staying at Brewster's Mountain Lodge…definitely will be booking again and will spread the word to my friends!!!! Wooohooo!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took time out of your day to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you "and your friends" ;) to Brewster's Mountain Lodge in the future.
Kind regards, Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband I booked this hotel for a weekend stay in January 2014. If you like rustic and lots of wood in the décor this is the place for you. After checking in and being allocated room 104 we headed off to find the room. We walked the whole surface of the main floor and could not find any rooms starting with the number one. Finally we asked the desk clerk how to find it. We actually had to take the elevator to the second floor, walk down a very long corridor until we found a set of stairs going down to take you to rooms 101 - 105. It would have saved a lot of time and energy had the desk clerk indicated where to find the room in the first place. Very annoying. The room in itself was acceptable with a small fridge, coffee maker, kettle and iron and ironing board. The hotel does provide a continental breakfast of toast, cereal, bagels, pastries, yogurt and fruit salad. However, the Bird's Nest where the breakfast is served is again down another flight of considerably steep stairs. Not conducive at all to anyone with mobility issues. Although the hotel boasts a hot tub, it was out of commission while we visited. The location is good, close to most facilities and restaurants.

Room Tip: Unless you like a challenge of lots of stairs, do not take a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hello Halowings, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I deeply apologize that the Front Desk agent did not advise you the location of your room. This is part of their training, especially for our four first floor rooms. I have reconfirmed with them the necessity of this for future. We are always trying to improve so your comments are important to us. While our breakfast room is closer to the first floor rooms there is no other access to the breakfast room from that floor without taking stairs. If we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future I would ask that you please advise at time of booking your mobility issues. Again, thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Read some reviews before we went and a few said how noisy it was?!?! Didn't hear a sound!! Was very peaceful, staff were amazing. Really helped us out with trips, getting a refund when one of them went wrong! Sorting out our transfers. Did everything for us. On Christmas Eve they put on free cheese and wine and one of the owners did a carol sing along and it was a real nice and communal touch. Location is perfect also! Really loved it and when I am back in banff, I hope I am staying at brewster's mountain lodge. :):)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyJ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for letting us be part of such a memorable holiday vacation. Every year we have a Manager's reception in the lobby (Wine & Cheese) and caroling with Cori Brewster around the fireplace and Christmas tree. It's nice to have some quiet family time building lasting memories. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Banff, Alberta.
Kind regards, Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is a 3 star hotel, so expectations were not high. Where it lack in extras and amenities (standard for a 3 star hotel), it exceeded in service. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable out the town and offered multiple suggestions on where to eat and what to do. She was also helpful in loaning an iphone charger when we realized ours was left at home.

Overall cleanliness was fantastic. The hotel was impeccably clean: from the lobby, parking garage, room and breakfast area. Couldn't find anything wrong. Much better than usually experienced in a 3 star hotel. Underground parking is also available at a nominal charge of around $5 per day. Advertised was a free continental breakfast but for some reason it wasn't available one of the days. I suggest calling to ensure that it's available all days of the stay. The continental breakfast, when available, was better than expected! Delicious fresh fruit salad, selection of breads, pastries, bagels and fresh juices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the breakfast if I remember correctly it had to do with the water in the Bird's Nest Breakfast Room and we had to close the breakfast for that day. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Brewster's Mountain Lodge when you are in the area. Kind regards, Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The best thing about brewsters mountain lodge is the location, right in downtown banff, close to shops and restaurants. However, in a small town like banff, where nothing is really very far, location alone is not enough. I booked for 3 nights, which included breakfast and wifi. I made the booking only a few days prior to my stay. Upon check in I was told breakfast would not be available on one of the days because of maintenance in the dining room. Hence I had paid for 3 nights stay and 3 breakfasts, but was not able to have breakfast there on the 3rd morning. when i asked why this wasn't made clear when the booking was made, or if the hotel would reimburse guests for the breakfast that they are not providing, the staff had no real answer or way to deal with the situation. The breakfast, however was very simple, cereal/juice/toast, so not having breakfast there on one morning wasn't a big deal in the end.
The wifi connection in the first night was terrible and very frustrating, it kept dropping out every 5 minutes. Thankfully it was much better on the other 2 days. The walls also appear a bit thin, I could hear the guests in the opposite room going into their room at 2am.
The staff were ok, friendly, but without being overly inviting. The rooms were also ok, cleanish with comfortable beds. The bed sheets however were too small for the bed, so the foot of the bed was exposed without a sheet! This was really strange, surely they should have proper sheets that fit.
Overall the stay was comfortable and reasonable, but for approx $125 (Canadian) per night during low season, the negative factors mentioned above meant there was certainly room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great stay in downtown Banff nearby everything… a lot of shops and restaurants. Excellent staff and breakfast, nice country style and peaceful room despite of fact surrounding by restaurants and live music.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifbonomini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesBML, Manager at Brewster's Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to be able to hear from our guests on all accounts. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Staff & Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#10 of 33 in Banff
2,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewster's Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewster's Mountain Lodge

Address: 208 Caribou Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £66 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewster's Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brewster’s Mountain lodge is located in the heart of Downtown Banff, steps from shopping, dining, and nightlife. This 77-room hotel features complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet included in all of our rates. We offer a sauna, hot tub, and small exercise area for our guests to enjoy after an exciting day of exploring! Handcrafted log furnishings and western décor define the interior of our lodge, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brewster's Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewster`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Brewsters Mountain Hotel
Brewsters Mountain Banff
Brewsters Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing